Orange Prize Giveaway #21: The Night Circus

The Night Circus

GIVEAWAY CLOSED

Up for grabs: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Orange Connection: Long List, 2012

Your activity: When I read The Night Circus, I kept thinking how it would make a good movie. Have you ever read a book and hoped it would be adapted to film? What is your favorite book-to-movie adaptation? Tell us in the comments below!

Reminders: Orange July giveaways are open to all Orange July participants (you must be signed up through this Mr. Linky page), is open to anyone around the world, and you can win more than one giveaway. You’re welcome to participate in any giveaway activities without being entered into the drawing; just let me know in your comments. Giveaway closes at 9pm Eastern. Have fun!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ally@ Snow Feathers
    Jul 29, 2012 @ 18:41:08

    I love reading the book, then watching the movie, and two adapted books were The English Patient and The End of the Affair. I always cry when I watch them, and I have read the books several times :) As for books to be adapted, I am hoping The Alchemist will, but the more the years pass by, the more I doubt that would happen…

    Reply

  2. Beth Parks Aronson
    Jul 29, 2012 @ 19:16:40

    Actually, I often dread books being turned to movies, since they often disappoint. However, my absolute favorite is the Sense and Sensibility with Emma Thompson, Alan Rickman, and Hugh Grant. Also, I think they’ve done marvelously with Harry Potter (hmmm, a theme here perhaps–anything with Emma and Alan??) and the Lord of the Rings. I haven’t read The English Patient yet, but I did love the film.

    Reply

  3. The Ramblings of a Demented Mind
    Jul 29, 2012 @ 19:21:23

    Water for Elephants and Devil Wears Prada are two of my favourite book-to-movie adaptions. I’m looking forward to watch Anna Karenina and The Great Gatsby on big screen this year.

    Reply

  4. Valli
    Jul 29, 2012 @ 21:16:06

    I liked the adaptation of Lord of the Rings! I finished Small Island recently. I heard that BBC made a series based on the book. I would love to see it. I look forward to the adaptation of the Hobbit.

    Reply

  5. Patricia
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 01:57:01

    I love love love The English Patient and Water for Elephants — good choices. I think my favourite is Bret Easton Ellis’ The Rules of Attraction.

    Reply

  6. Peggy
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 05:01:28

    My favorites are old series: *The Raj Quartet*, *I, Claudius*, *Pride and Prejudice* (the old one with Elizabeth Garvey and David Rintoul), and *The Poldark Saga*. All of them provide a wonderful if slightly different experience from the books. I’m reading *The Castings Trilogy*, a fantasy by Pamela Freeman, that could be adapted wonderfully to screen.
    Please don’t enter me for this drawing either!

    Reply

  7. Kim
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 10:11:32

    The Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter definitely! I love the TV series of Pride and Prejudice with Colin Firth & Jennifer Ehle – I can watch the whole thing over and over. The Small Island series was very good and The Ladies Number One Detective Agency and Bridget Jones Diary both the books and the films are laugh out loud hilarious. I remember watching “Out of Africa” in an amazing old theater and it left a big impression on me, also love reading the book.
    I’m currently reading The Night Circus and finding it wonderful. I agree totally,it would make a great film. Hope the winner really enjoys this one :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 85 other followers

