Orange Prize Giveaway #23: Bring Up The Bodies

GIVEAWAY CLOSED

Bring Up The BodiesUp for grabs: Bring Up The Bodies by Hilary Mantel

Orange Connection: Just published – perhaps a 2013 contender?

Your activity: I predict Bring Up The Bodies will make the Orange Prize Short List next year, if not win the whole thing! Have you read any books this year that you think will get nominated for the 2013 prize? Let us know in the comments below.

Reminders: Orange July giveaways are open to all Orange July participants (you must be signed up through this Mr. Linky page), is open to anyone around the world, and you can win more than one giveaway. You’re welcome to participate in any giveaway activities without being entered into the drawing; just let me know in your comments. Giveaway closes at 9pm Eastern. Have fun!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny Colvin (@readingenvy)
    Jul 31, 2012 @ 20:33:34

    It would be interesting to see “Among Others” by Jo Walton nominated. It is a fantasy novel that has done very well in that arena, and the author is Welsh!

    Reply

  2. The Ramblings of a Demented Mind
    Jul 31, 2012 @ 21:10:20

    I live in Sri Lanka, so it takes a while for new books to reach us. So I’m afraid that I’ve not read any new books that might get nominated next year. :-(

    Reply

  3. Peggy
    Jul 31, 2012 @ 21:25:19

    *BRING UP THE BODIES*!!!! (And this is July’s prize of prizes, but do not enter me in the drawing, please, thanks to LT ER!) I’m hoping that *Arcadia* by Lauren Groff will receive a nomination, and I could see a nomination for *Among Others* on the grounds of pure pleasure.

    Reply

  4. Helen
    Jul 31, 2012 @ 21:51:04

    I’m afraid I haven’t read any this year that would qualify. But nontheless, I would dearly *love* to win “Bring Up The Bodies”. ;-)

    Reply

  5. Valli
    Jul 31, 2012 @ 22:27:45

    I think the grand dame of Crime Fiction Ruth Rendell, deserves not only Orange prize but also Booker for the issues of racism, multi-cultural society, religious issues, migration, mental-illness, isolation, need for security and other modern day issues she regularly deals in her novels. In her latest The Saint Zita Society she deals with the eternal class struggle between the upper class and their ‘servants’ in London along with her usual motifs of financial and emotional security. I would like to see The Saint Zita Society win. Thanks for hosting Orange July, I picked up some really interesting books I wouldn’t otherwise have.

    Reply

  6. Patricia
    Jul 31, 2012 @ 22:50:05

    N-W… ok I haven’t read it yet, but Zadie Smith is AMAZING. And The Innocents by Francesca Segal. I really loved this book — it’s a retelling of Wharton’s The Age of Innocence set in a modern-day Jewish community in London. Beautiful writing.

    Reply

  7. Donna Allenbaugh
    Aug 01, 2012 @ 00:16:51

    I’ve just been reading older Oranges and older books in general so can’t really recommend a book, but would like to be entered in the drawing. Thanks

    Reply

  8. JoV
    Aug 01, 2012 @ 04:22:57

    I’m rubbish in predicting potentials. This year is the last of Orange prize as the sponsor will no longer sponsor the prize next year. It will be interesting to see who sponsors next.

    http://bibliojunkie.wordpress.com/2012/05/23/the-future-is-no-longer-orange-for-fiction-prize/

    I’m in for the draw!

    Reply

  9. Her Royal Orangeness
    Aug 01, 2012 @ 06:03:35

    The Orange judges tend to pick titles I’ve never heard of plus I always get confused about the UK publication dates (which is a criteria for the prize), so I’ve decided I’m terrible at Orange predictions.

    However, I have definitely read some very Orangey books that were published in 2012. The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman. Arcadia by Lauren Groff. Carry the One by Carol Anshaw. The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey. No One Is Here Except All of Us by Ramona Ausubel.

    (Not participating in the giveaway…just answering the question. :) )

    Reply

  10. Judy
    Aug 01, 2012 @ 06:23:41

    I am also a bit vague on eligibility criteria, but I will name a few of my picks for a prize anyway. “The Light Between Oceans” (as mentioned above) was brilliant; “The Lifeboat” by Charlotte Rogan was excellent; “The Snow Child” (again, see above) achieved 5 stars for me; “My Hundred Lovers” by Susan Johnston was very good; and “The Forrests” by Emily Perkins was great too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

