BOOK REVIEW: Adam and Eve by Sena Jeter Naslund

Adam and Eve
By Sena Jeter Naslund
Completed September 27, 2010

I intentionally waited a few days between finishing Adam and Eve and writing this review so that I could be as objective as possible. Indeed, I hoped that waiting a few days would help me appreciate this novel as I had with other books by Sena Jeter Naslund. Despite the distance in time, I am still left with a general feeling of disappointment in Naslund’s newest effort.

Adam and Eve kept my interest, much like watching the aftermath of an accident. I shouldn’t look (or read, in this case), but I kept doing it. Why? I chalk it up to two reasons: (1) A hope that the story would get better; and (2) Wondering if the story could get any weirder. At least the latter came true.

Lucy was the widow of a man who found scientific evidence about alien life forms. She accepts an offer to smuggle ancient and controversial texts out of Egypt to France. Little did she realize that a group called Ingenuity was after her and the texts. Her plane crashes in an Eden-like place already inhabited by a deranged American soldier who conveniently was named Adam. He takes care of Lucy and eventually helps her finish her mission.

Blech. I can’t even make the summary sound tantalizing.

Perhaps Naslund was flexing her creative muscles with this story, but I think she strayed from her talent as a historic storyteller. Leave the religious texts, alien theories and love stories to Dan Brown, Mary Doria Russell and Nicholas Sparks, and go back to what you excel at – writing beautiful historic novels. ( )

This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

