Exciting Orange January News

BessieCan you believe December is right around the corner? As you put together your wish lists for the holidays, I hope you’ll take a moment to think about another seasonal event – Orange January!

As a reminder, Orange January is when you pledge to read at least one book that has won or been nominated for the Orange Prize for Fiction. You can include winners and nominees of the New Author Prize too. Reading one book is your only requirement, but I hope you’ll share your selections and book reviews with others.

This will be our third installment of Orange January, and based on terrific feedback from others, I have decided to make some modifications:

LibraryThing Group

In the past, I would post messages on several LibraryThing books about Orange January/July. Not only was this hard to keep up with, it caused many members to duplicate their posts, as many were members of multiple groups. So, for 2011, I have created a LibraryThing group just for Orange January/July. Please come by anytime before January to set up your little space and say hello.

Prizes

Prizes? Yes, prizes! To thank you all for your participation, I will be offering some prizes throughout Orange January. Most of the prizes are gently used books from Orangey authors, such as Rose Tremain and Sadie Jones, while others are books that I think are wonderful and in the spirit of the Orange Prize. It’s entirely subjective, admittedly, but I hope there’s something in there for everyone.

About every other day on the Orange January/July Facebook page, I will post a question or quick activity for you to do. If you answer the question or complete the activity, you’ll need to comment on the Wall Post. Then, I will hold a random drawing from those who commented for that day’s prize. You’ll always know which book is up for grabs, so if it’s one you’ve read or are not interested in, you can skip the activity.

Prizes will be shipped worldwide. You can win multiple times also.

Please note this is a Facebook contest. I promise I am not trying to exclude non-Facebook users, but I have to make this simple for me (as I juggle my other life commitments). Joining Facebook is fun and easy, and you can always terminate your account once Orange January is over.

And just a reminder:

If you are looking for news about the Orange Prize, women writers or Orange January/July events, please join our Facebook page. Feel free to add your links and post your own messages! (Optional)

If you want to post your review to a centralized place, please post your review to the Orange Prize Project. (Optional)

Questions?

Just let me know! Thanks for participating!

 

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wendy
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 12:22:46

    This is awesome, Jill – thanks for hosting this fun event and giving us all a little more incentive to read Orange books!!

    Reply

  2. Beachreader
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 22:03:08

    Hi Jill,
    Just a quick question. If you are already apart of the Orange Project, Do you have to sign up for Orange January or is this something separate?

    Reply

    • mrstreme
      Nov 28, 2010 @ 23:24:30

      Nope, you don’t have to sign up for Orange January! But if you want to join the LibraryThing group or the Facebook page, we would love to have you.

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Spotlight on the Wordpress.Com Book Bloggers! « Randomize ME
  4. Trackback: November Summary and Plans for December – Farm Lane Books Blog
  5. Jackie (Farm Lane Books)
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 18:05:22

    I’m really hoping that I’ll be able to complete the 2010 Orange long list in January. I have 3 books to go and thought it would be good to use Orange January as an incentive to finally complete this list. I love your plans for the facebook page. I’m not a big facebook user, but I’ll try to be more active in the future. 🙂

    Reply

    • Jill
      Nov 30, 2010 @ 21:59:02

      Jackie, I am so glad you plan on participating on the Facebook page! Can’t wait to see your reviews for your Orange January books. =)

      Reply

  6. BuriedInPrint
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 01:42:21

    I’m looking forward to Orange January. I think I’ve finally recovered from aiming to read the longlist last spring; I’m ready for more Orange-ness. Thanks for hosting all the fun!

    Reply

    • mrstreme
      Dec 06, 2010 @ 01:57:12

      Reading all of the long-listed books is certainly ambitious, but there are so many great books in those lists! Glad you can join us in January! =)

      Reply

  7. Trackback: Sunday Salon: Rain, Rain, Rain, Rain | Page247
  8. Trackback: Orange January | Page247
  9. Vasilly
    Dec 15, 2010 @ 00:38:40

    Jill, count me in for Orange January! I have a few Orange prize nominees and winners on my tbr shelves.

    Reply

  10. Sandra
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 07:24:58

    Count me in again too please. Thank you.

    Reply

  11. Trackback: Sunday Salon – Happy Boxing Day | Page247
  12. Trackback: Orange January Prizes « The Magic Lasso

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

