Orange July Giveaway #2: Wench

Wench by Dolen Perkins-ValdezThis giveaway is now closed. Stay tuned for the winner.

Up for Grabs: Wench by Dolen Perkins-Valdez

Your activity: In the comment section below, please tell us the first book you’ll be reading for Orange July and why you selected it.

Giveaway ends at 9pm EST. Winner will be chosen randomly from those who comment on this blog only (Facebook comments will not count). I will announce the winner on this blog, so be sure to check back or subscribe (look for black “Sign Me Up!” button on top left). Finally, you can win multiple giveaways.

Don’t forget – you can still play along even if you don’t want to enter the giveaway. Just note that in your comment.

Happy Saturday!

40 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mrstreme
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 19:17:56

    I have selected Swamplandia! by Karen Russell as my first Orange July read. I have a ton of Orange books to choose from, but I was drawn to Swamplandia! because it’s set in my home state of Florida. It’s rare to find a Florida book that doesn’t involve sex, crime and drugs. I am halfway through Swamplandia! and enjoying it very much!

    Thanks, everyone, for participating! Hope you’re enjoying your books!

    (Not entered in drawing)

    Reply

  2. Laura
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 19:25:32

    My first Orange July read will be The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna. I selected it after a LibraryThing reviewer praised it. And it just so happened that about the same time I had attended a presentation by a lawyer who had worked in Sierra Leone for a year, just after the civil war (the same time period as this novel).

    Reply

  3. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 19:54:25

    My first book is Beyond Black by Hilary Mantel – 2006 short list. I am 1/2 way through it and it is a creepy, little book. If you have read Wolf Hall, Beyond Black is a 180 degree turn. It’s about a medium with a past and all the mean little ghosties that won’t leave her alone.

    Reply

  4. Deborah F
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 19:55:29

    My first read for Orange July is Case Histories by Kate Atkinson. I chose that as my first Orange Read for July because it promises to be a Literary Mystery – and I do love a well told mystery! I’m enjoying it very much!

    Reply

  5. Helen
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 20:28:27

    I’m currently reading Bel Canto by Ann Patchett. I chose this one as I said I was going to read it for Orange January – but somehow real life sort of got in the way at that time. Now I’m there… 🙂

    Reply

  6. Ally
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 20:39:16

    Even if I don’t want to be entered in this give away (keeping my fingers crossed for a few other books I have in mind:) ) after I finish reading “Grace Williams says it loud” this weekend, I am going to start Sarah Waters’ “The Night watch” because to my shame, I haven’t read anything by her and it’s been waiting on the shelf for more than a year…

    Reply

    • mrstreme
      Jul 03, 2011 @ 02:24:10

      Ally, just to clarify, there is no limit to the number of times you can win a book giveaway throughout Orange July. Once, twice, thrice – it doesn’t matter! So, please let me know if you want to be entered into the giveaway. If I don’t hear from you by 9pm EST, I will assume you DO NOT want to enter.

      Thanks bunches!
      Jill =)

      Reply

      • Ally
        Jul 03, 2011 @ 02:37:36

        Hi Jill! Thanks for clarifying that! I don’t want to win a book if I am not sure I am going to read it, so maybe there are people really eager to read it and I don’t want to spoil their chances 🙂 I will keep my fingers crossed for the three or four books on the list that I will surely read if I win them 🙂

  7. Christa @ Hooked on Books
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 20:57:29

    My first Orange July book will be Great House by Nicole Krauss. I have heard so many amazing things about her work but have never read it. I was lucky to recieve a copy of Great House during BEA so I think it’s a sign that I should start familiarizing myself with her writing.

    Reply

  8. Megan
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 21:07:57

    I’m starting out with The Very Thought of You by Rosie Allison from last year’s shortlist because it was sent to me for review. It didn’t take me long to say yes to that pitch when I heard about its Orange shortlist honors. =)

    Reply

  9. cscott02
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 21:18:46

    I’m starting with Larry’s Party by Carol Shields, as it’s the first Orange Prize winner that I haven’t read chronologically. I’m about halfway through right now; I’m a little disappointed as it’s just a massive character study, as if Shields wrote out one of her supporting characters’ backstory and then just decided to make that a book.

    Cat
    cinnajoon.wordpress.com

    Reply

  10. Ann-Marie Sjöberg
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 21:19:04

    This year´s winner, The Tiger´s Wife, and thats why I choose it.

    Reply

  11. Misha
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 21:20:02

    My first Orange July read will be Great House by Nicole Krauss. Not only have I heard great things about the book, but I had also enjoyed the author’s previous book, The History of Love. So I have a lot of expectations from Great House.

    Reply

  12. Linda
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 21:20:07

    I’m reading Ladder of Years by Anne Tyler, and loving it. I already have a copy of Wench (which I didn’t realize was Orange-qualified), so I won’t put my name in this drawing.

    Reply

    • mrstreme
      Jul 03, 2011 @ 02:25:16

      Linda, just to clarify, Wench is not an Orange book. I have thrown some non-Orange books into the giveaways. Just to keep you on your toes! =)

      Reply

  13. Layen
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 21:22:52

    I’m almost halfway through The Invisible Bridge by Julie Orringer. Honestly, I chose the book because that’s the first title on the list of Orange titles that I recognised as one of the books I already own LOL

    Reply

  14. Melissa Leeman Head
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 21:36:01

    I’m going to read The Tiger’s Wife. Just picked it up from the library and looking forward to reading it.

    Melissa
    meland2lilones@yahoo.com

    Reply

  15. wutheringwillow
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 21:56:04

    I am going to be reading Girl With a Peal Earring by Tracy Chevalier.

    I loved reading Susan Vreeland’s Girl in Hyacinth Blue last year. Since then I have been keen on reading more fiction about works of art. That is why I chose Girl With a Peal Earring. Hope to enjoy this one too.

    (Note: I am not entered in drawing)

    Reply

  16. Peggy
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 22:02:01

    I’m reading *A Visit from the Goon Squad* because I’m already a great fan of Jennifer Egan and because an LT friend gave me a duplicate copy. I haven’t read much, but I’m already perfectly happy!

    Reply

  17. Eva
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 22:30:51

    I’m reading White Teeth, because I loved Zadie Smith’s essay collection Changing My Mind and am curious about her fiction. 🙂

    Reply

  18. tanabata
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 22:36:29

    I’m going to read Room by Emma Donoghue. Why? Because I got it at BEA last year and still haven’t read it! And I’ve heard nothing but good things about it so it’s about time.

    Reply

  19. JoV
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 22:40:50

    I got tons to read, White Teeth by Zadie Smith, Small Island by Andrea Levy and many more.. and I’m reading A Visit from the Good Squad now! Cool challenge. I’ll sign-up!

    Reply

  20. Wendy
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 23:16:58

    My first book will be The Tiger’s Wife. I chose it for a couple of reasons: it is this year’s winner, and it sounds like the kind of book that will sweep me away.

    Thanks for the giveaway 🙂

    Reply

  21. Terri
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 23:19:36

    I’ll be reading The White Family by Maggie Gee. It got rave reviews from several people on Library Thing, and I usually agree with their reviews. And the subject of racism interests me.

    Reply

  22. Gavin
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 23:28:08

    I am starting with The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai. It has been on my TBR stack for a while and I figured Orange July was a perfect time to read it. I am not interested in this giveaway but thanks for doing it!

    Reply

  23. Dee
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 00:27:54

    I’ve started reading Book of Fires and am really enjoying it. It was shortlisted for the Orange New Writers Award last year. I am reading it because I found it in a charity shop last month and it’s been calling me ever since.

    Reply

  24. Nulaanne
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 01:20:36

    I do not want to be listed in the give away. I have my eye on another one. For my first book I am going to be reading On Beauty by Zadie Smith. I chose it because reading the book blurb something reminded me of someone I know.

    Reply

    • mrstreme
      Jul 03, 2011 @ 02:27:26

      Hi, Nulaane: Just an FYI that there are no limits to the number of times you can win an Orange July book giveaway. So, if you’re interested in being in today’s drawing, please let me know by 9pm EST. If I don’t hear from you, I will not include you in the drawing. Thanks for participating and have fun!

      Reply

  25. belva
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 02:15:24

    I selected as my first ORANGE JULY read “Great House” because the concept and the way it was written fascinated me. I was not disappointed. A great read!

    Reply

  26. Kathy Dolan
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 05:41:13

    I’ve chosen Scottsboro by Ellen Feldman (although yet to start it). I went to the Orange prize evening at Southbank the year this was shortlisted, and heard each of the six authors read from their books. This one really grabbed me. I’ve been meaning to read it ever since and Orange July is a great excuse to finally do so. Looking forward to it.

    Reply

  27. Debra
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 05:57:21

    I had originally said I was going to start with The Secret Lives of Babi Segi’s Wives but I realized today that my book club has chosen A Visit From the Goon Squad as July’s book so I am starting with that. (not in todays drawing)

    Reply

  28. Aths
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 06:54:18

    I just started reading The Secret Lives of Baba Segi’s Wives. I’ve been wanting to read it since last year, mainly because i’m fascinated with polygamy, it’s set in Nigeria (my first time reading this country) and because it has an awesome cover!

    Reply

  29. nomadreader
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 07:24:34

    Grace Williams Says It Loud because Jackie mailed it to me all the way from England!

    Reply

  30. Barbara Atkins Carlucci
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 08:30:57

    I chose Great House by Nicole Krauss because I was captivated by the idea of exploring ” what we pass on to our children and how do they absorb our dreams and losses?”. And I have not been disappointed!

    Reply

  31. mrstreme
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 09:09:46

    Congratulations to Helen for winning today’s giveaway!

    Reply

  32. Deborah F
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 09:17:30

    Congragulations to Helen! Thanks again for doing all of this, Jill! You are so kind! It’s so interesting to read people’s replies as far as why they chose the book that they are reading!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

