Orange Prize Giveaway #5: Mr. Chartwell

Mr. Chartwell by Rebecca HuntGiveaway Closed – Stay tuned for winner!

Up for Grabs: Mr. Chartwell by Rebecca Hunt

Your activity: Mr. Chartwell is a fictional account of Winston Churchill. In the comment section below, let us know what public figure (politician, celebrity, musician, author, etc.) you would like to read a fictional account of. Who fascinates you enough to read a book about him or her?

***

Giveaway ends at 9pm EST. Winner will be chosen randomly from those who comment on this blog only (Facebook comments will not count). I will announce the winner on this blog, so be sure to check back or subscribe (look for black “Sign Me Up!” button on top left).

Open to all participants – no matter where you live or if you’ve won already!

Remember, you can still play even if you don’t want to be entered into the giveaway. Just let me know in your comments to not enter you into the drawing.

Enjoy your Friday!

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Genny
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 19:17:28

    I would love to read a. story about Aung San Suu Kyi – she seems such an amazing person.

    Reply

  2. Linda
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 19:18:29

    I often wonder why there aren’t any fictional accounts of William Faulkner’s life–he was a very interesting character. One of his former girlfriends did write a novel based on their affair, but I don’t think that really counts.

    Reply

  3. mrstreme
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 19:23:02

    I would love to read a fictional account of the Clinton White House (and the road leading up to it) from Hillary’s viewpoint.

    (Not entered in drawing)

    Reply

  4. Beachreader
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 19:43:11

    I would love to read a fictional account of Eleanor Roosevelt.

    Reply

  5. wutheringwillow
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 19:46:51

    I would love to read about the life of Bram Stoker, one of my favourite authors. I would like to know what inspired him to write something like Dracula.

    Reply

  6. Deborah
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 20:04:40

    I’d like to read an account about our Prime Minister’s life. Stephen Harper is our PM in Canada -and I don’t much like him – but – he is so secretive that if I could learn more about him – fictional or not – I’d love to do so.

    Ohhh I’d love to win Mr Chartwell!

    Thanks so much Jill for the chance to do so.

    Reply

  7. Ally
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 20:38:02

    This is a hard question, since I have read a lot of biographies and now it is hard to go from there to a fictional account of people’s lives, but I would love to read more about Plato as a fictional character, since I really enjoyed Peter Akroyd’s Plato Papers, which I highly recommend 🙂

    Reply

  8. Nicki
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 20:38:27

    I’d love to read a fictional account of the relationship between Margaret Thatcher and Ronald Reagan. I’m sure there’s plenty of scope to make it highly amusing. In the meantime Churchill seems like a great subject 🙂

    Reply

  9. rhonda
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 20:45:05

    Hillary clinton.Strong brilliant woman surronded by Bills soap opera life.

    Reply

  10. Helen
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 21:08:56

    Leonard Cohen – we need at least one poet/musician in the list!

    Reply

  11. Peggy
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 21:19:48

    I started to respond with the Mitford sisters, but their biographies already read like fiction! Since it seems O.K. to choose dead personalities, I’d like so much to read a fictional account of the Romantic poets (Keats, Shelley, Byron), that I bought one:Passion by Jude Morgan.

    Reply

  12. raidergirl3
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 21:30:13

    I was worried when Deborah said Stephen Harper, but I like her reasons!

    I can’t think of anyone new, but just wanted to mention how much I enjoyed American Wife, the fictional account of Laura Bush, and also an Orange nominee book. It was a great read.

    Reply

  13. Misha
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 21:39:59

    I would love to read about Sarah Waters, my favorite author. She’s just amazing!

    Reply

  14. Kathy Dolan
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 21:45:23

    I love this question! I think the suggestions above are all inspired, for me though I’m going for Florence Nightingale. I know next to nothing about her, even though I vaguely remember going to the FN museum once many years ago…
    Haven’t heard of Mr Chartwell and am delighted to be introduced to it – will read it even if I don’t win it!

    Reply

  15. cscott02
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 21:52:02

    I’ve always wanted to read fictional accounts about the Bronte sisters. I’m positive they’re out there; I just haven’t read them yet.

    Reply

  16. Christa (Hooked on Books)
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 22:08:15

    I would love to read a fictional account of Che Guevara. I think it would be quite the action-adventure story!

    Reply

  17. Wendy
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 22:35:12

    No need to enter me in the giveaway (I have the book :))

    Hmmmm, there are so many interesting figures in history. I’d love to read a fictional account of Florence Nightingale. I also think Margaret Thatcher would be a great character in a book!

    Reply

  18. belva
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 23:43:23

    Definitely Virginia Woolf. I simply cannot read enough about her.
    rainpebble

    Reply

  19. Bonnie
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 00:52:13

    I’d like to read something based on Eleanor Roosevelt’s life. She was so ahead of her time.

    Reply

  20. Dee
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 02:27:00

    Lots of great ideas here. I love the idea of the Bill Clinton years from Hilary’s perspective.

    I’ll suggest Germaine Greer though I don’t think a fictionalised account would beat her telling it in her own words!

    Reply

  21. Ann-Marie Sjöberg
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 02:52:03

    I don´t enter to win! I already have it.

    I would like to read a novel about Nelson Mandela.

    Reply

  22. Nicki
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 03:26:09

    @Dee – Germaine Greer was the first person I thought of too but then realised I’d prefer an autobiography instead 🙂

    Reply

  23. kerryth
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 04:08:01

    I’d like to read about Mary Seacole, Crimean war nursing heroine, often overlooked, often overlooked, she raised her own money to go there and offer her medical skills to the wounded.

    Reply

  24. Citizenjoyce
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 04:34:44

    I think the story of Stephen Hawking’s life would be fascinating

    Reply

  25. JoV
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 05:53:56

    Enter me in! I would love to read this!

    Reply

  26. Kim Hannibal Collins
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 07:47:49

    First person I thought of was Eleanor Roosevelt,.. Would love that! Then Johnny Depp. Ha! A fictional book about Sylvia Browne could make for an interesting read too in another path.

    Reply

  27. Debra
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 07:54:09

    I agree this is a great question and hard to pick just one, however I am going to say Georgia O’Keefe. She was such an independent, creative woman that I think she would make a great fictional character! It would be fun to read about her inspiration for some of her paintings.

    Reply

  28. mrstreme
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 09:13:38

    Thanks everyone for your creative responses! And special congrats to raidergirl3 (Elizabeth) for winning today’s giveaway!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

