Orange Prize Giveaway #6: A Visit from the Goon Squad

A Vist from the Goon Squad by Jennifer EganGiveaway closed. Stay tuned for the winner!

Up for Grabs: A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan

Your activity: Some of us like to languish on our recliners; others may stretch out on our beds; while many immerse ourselves while by the pool. Where do you love to read? What is your favorite reading spot? Tell us in the comments below.

***

Giveaway ends at 9pm EST. Winner will be chosen randomly from those who comment on this blog only (Facebook comments will not count). I will announce the winner on this blog, so be sure to check back or subscribe (look for black “Sign Me Up!” button on top left).

Open to all participants – no matter where you live or if you’ve won already!

You can still play even if you don’t want to be entered into the drawing. Just let me know in your response.

Have a great Monday!

36 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa@ButteryBooks
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 20:12:07

    I love to read while walking. I have a long hallway in my house and I pace back and forth while I read. If I sit down, I am constantly getting up out of the chair to look at what my son built with his legos, to see the picture the other one drew. Plus, I get my daily dose of exercise.

    Reply

  2. Rhonda Lomazow
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 20:12:53

    relaxed in my bed.lomazowr@gmail.com

    Reply

  3. Lisa@ButteryBooks
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 20:14:41

    PS I am currently reading A Visit from the Goon Squad. Great beginning, but it is starting to feel a little disconnected. Hopefully it will come together in the end.

    Reply

  4. Kim Bal-Al
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 20:15:39

    Oh anywhere and everywhere! But really bed is where I read most, it’s the sweetest way to drift off to sleep, with wonderful words weaving in and out of my subconscious. I have been known to read with my eyes shut, as my husband says, and wake up with the book balanced over my nose. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Angela Holden Hunt
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 20:23:27

    I love to read whilst sitting on my comfy sofa. Being disabled, there really aren’t many places for me to get comfortable, but point me towards my sofa, give me my book and I’m happy. I used to love to read while relaxing in the bath until one night when I sneezed and the book flew out of my hands into the water

    Reply

  6. Regina Motarjeme
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 20:27:12

    Anywhere away from my desk (and work), kids or other “to-do’s”. On the couch, at the pool, on the porch, in bed, in the park, at the kitchen table!

    Reply

  7. Misha
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 20:36:59

    I love reading on the bed – it’s the most comfortable spot. Like Kim, I love going off to sleep with the words in my head. Apart from the bed, I like to read on my couch.

    Reply

  8. Helen
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 20:54:24

    During the day I love to be in the sun on our north facing verandah (I live in the southern hemisphere) with the gardens and native birds around me. Otherwise, yep, it’s the comfy recliner! 🙂

    Reply

  9. Prashansa
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 21:03:13

    To tell you the truth, it doesn’t really matter to me where I read as long as I can be comfortable. In winters, it could be in the bed, warm and cosy with a steaming cup of coffee to keep me going (the perfect image of snugness). During monsoon, I love reading by the window in the school library that overlooks the swimming pool, and the wind blowing against my face.

    Reply

  10. Peggy
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 21:19:20

    I am a languisher: favorite place, my sofa with bed running a close second. In fact, though, like the rest of you I’ll read anywhere anytime that I can.
    Don’t enter me for *Goon Squad*, but congratulations to the winner. It’s what I’m reading now, and it’s another good Egan!

    Reply

  11. wutheringwillow
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 23:08:01

    My favourite place to read is definitely my bed. It’s comfortable and cosy. I love winter time or rainy days when I can curl up with a book on it. Nowadays, I love to read while I commute to and fro my workplace. It takes away the monotony of the journey (although today a giant wasp flew into the bus and distracted me!).

    Reply

  12. avisannschild
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 23:38:56

    Hmm, not sure I have a favourite place to read. I’m happy to read in bed or on my couch, but I’m also happy to read while walking down the street, on the subway or bus, in airports, etc.!

    Reply

  13. Ally
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 00:12:14

    My favorite place to read is my (favorite) armchair. It’s so comfy, yet I still don’t fall asleep while reading 🙂

    Reply

  14. Aths
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 01:06:17

    I love to read on my couch! It’s flexi, so I can move arms and cushions around to give me different positions.

    Reply

  15. Beachreader
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 01:07:23

    I like to sit on the patio in the summertime and in the winter lay on th couch in the sunroom.
    You don’t have to enter me in th giveaway – I am reading the book now 🙂

    Reply

  16. Dee
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 01:07:32

    In bed- not necessarily at bedtime!

    Reply

  17. Heather Holt
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 01:10:29

    Definitely in bed, although when the weather is nice we have a bench in our garden where I sit with our cat.

    Reply

  18. belva
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 01:33:27

    My favorite place to read is definitely the bed. My hips turn out for some wacko reason so standing or lying down are much more comfortable to me than sitting. I do, upon occasion, sit in my rocking chair to read. Probably the only place I cannot read is the car.
    ***win, win, win***

    Reply

    • mrstreme
      Jul 12, 2011 @ 09:07:55

      Why Miss Belva – it’s your lucky day! You are the winner! =) Please email me your mailing address at your earliest convenience! jillceleste AT hotmail DOT com

      Reply

  19. Ann-Marie Sjöberg
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 01:59:50

    I read in my bed or in my library or on the sofa with the dog on me.

    Reply

  20. Terri
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 02:29:18

    I have one of those wonderful Lafuma outdoor lounge chairs – the zero gravity kind. It sits under our apple tree in the summer. I love being out there, shaded by the tree, breezes rustling the leaves, reading a good book. Heavenly.

    Reply

  21. Lisa Maxwell Brown
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 02:32:51

    My favorite place to read is in my bed, but I have been known to read just about anywhere.

    Reply

  22. Deborah F
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 02:44:25

    My favourite place to read is at my kitchen table, with the book sitting on the table. It’s a habit I got into a couple of years ago when I fracture dmy wrist and I had no alternative .

    Reply

  23. Vasilly
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 03:07:11

    Don’t enter me in the giveaway. My favorite place to read is at my kitchen table. I know it sounds odd but it’s comfortable and my back is turned from the TV and computer.

    Reply

  24. cscott02
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 03:56:44

    Love reading on my couch when it’s raining with my two kitties. I just finished “When I Lived in Modern Times” by Linda Grant, which you can read about over at Cinnajoon! http://bit.ly/qNfvPa

    I’ve also read ‘Goon Squad’ so I won’t partake in the drawing, but it’s such a good book for whomever gets it!

    Reply

  25. Debra
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 05:11:41

    My favourite place to read is stretched out on the couch (directly under the ceiling fan!) but I also read in bed each night before going to sleep since it helps me unwind from a hectic day.

    Don’t enter me in the draw – I am currently reading this book!

    Reply

  26. Alpa
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 06:22:02

    My favorite place is bed under my duvet but I can read anywhere and everywhere 🙂

    Reply

  27. Nicki
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 06:29:36

    I have to wonder why libraries and bookshops don’t include more “lounging” furniture. Oh yeah – they’d never get rid of us… Bed or sofa for me too 🙂

    Reply

  28. Barbara Atkins Carlucci
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 07:16:20

    My favorite place to read is curled up on my sofa with my pillows all around me and a nice cup of tea for added comfort. Can life get any better?

    Reply

  29. layen
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 07:35:18

    I love to read on the sofa. It used to be blue but my mother had it reupholstered and now it’s a hideous shade of orange, but it’s still my favourite place to read 🙂

    Reply

  30. Megan
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 07:42:16

    I love to read in bed right before I go to sleep and sometimes immediately upon waking up. I do some of my best reading before I so much as peel back the covers in the morning. 🙂

    Reply

  31. Kinna
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 08:08:38

    I love reading in bed. My other favorite place is sitting under a huge mango tree in my mum’s backyard.

    Reply

  32. Nulaanne
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 08:08:45

    I cannot read in bed I would never get to sleep. I love reading on the couch, or in a chair large enough to curl up in. In the winter I open the windows and listen to the rain. In the summer I close all the blinds and make it a cave. Just me comfort and the kittys.

    Reply

  33. Kim Hannibal Collins
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 08:49:54

    Outside, on the lanai… either on the lounge chair if not too hot, or under the overhang with the fan on if it is. There is a pond and then woods behind our house that produces a lot of wild-life sounds. Very serene and peaceful.

    Reply

  34. mrstreme
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 09:08:38

    Like many of you, I love to read in bed. Nothing like my purple duvet, my basset hound and a lovely book to relax.

    Congrats to Belva, who won today’s drawing!

    Reply

  35. Citizenjoyce
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 11:19:01

    In the daytime I read on the couch under a window so there’s lots of light. I’m usually covered by 1 or 2 or 4 dogs. At night, before bed I’m usually reading in my easy chair with only 1 or 2 little dogs beside me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

