Orange Prize Giveaway #7: Doc

Doc by Mary Doria Russell

Giveaway closed – stay tuned for the winner!

Up for Grabs: Doc by Mary Doria Russell

Your activity: In my opinion, Mary Doria Russell’s books are good enough to be nominated for the Orange Prize, but for whatever reason, her books never end up on the list. What author, who has never been nominated, do you think is worthy of an Orange Prize nomination? Let us know in the comments section below!

***

Giveaway ends at 9pm EST. Winner will be chosen randomly from those who comment on this blog only (Facebook comments will not count). I will announce the winner on this blog, so be sure to check back or subscribe (look for black “Sign Me Up!” button on top left).

Open to all participants – no matter where you live or if you’ve won already!

Feel free to play, even if you don’t want to win the book. Just note that in your response.

Have a great Orangey day!

31 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marjorie
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 19:59:51

    Sounds like a super read, count me in.

    Reply

  2. Peggy
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 20:03:24

    Great question! I would have nominated some of P.D. James’s later Adam Dalgleish mysteries with their careful writing, characterization and plotting.

    Reply

  3. Eva
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 20:08:51

    What a fun prompt! I’m still new to Oranges, so I’m not sure what the ‘feel’ should be, but I loved Diana Abu-Jaber’s Origin. It’s a literary novel with identity/memory issues and a hint of thriller featuring a fascinating female main character and strong setting.

    Reply

  4. Deborah F
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 20:20:13

    I’d say that Lisa See, who has authored a number of wonderful books about China in the past as well as Chinese Immigrants adapting to living in the USA should be nominated for an Orange Prize. One of her books that really stands out to me as wonderful book, deserving of consideration of the Orange Prize is Snow Flower and the Secret Fan. What a heart breaking, well told story of women in 19th Century China. Please do consider reading Lisa See – she ‘s a wonderful author. deeply touching.

    Reply

    • Debra
      Jul 13, 2011 @ 20:45:02

      I agree with you Deborah. I have loved Lisa See’s books because I have loved her female characters who often show great strength in the face of adversity. I also think See does a great job of writing about her character’s relationships, especially with other women – women friends, sisters, mother and daughter. Love her books!

      Reply

  5. cscott02
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 20:20:45

    I really love Kate Morton’s books, especially “The Forgotten Garden.”

    Reply

  6. Rhonda Lomazow
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 20:41:52

    i agree Lisa See her books are beautifully written.Lomazowr@gmail.com

    Reply

  7. Misha
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 20:44:36

    I can think of two – Mary Lawson and Tana French. I love both of them! I also agree the Kate Morton suggestion above.

    Reply

  8. Dee
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 21:10:23

    Lavinia Greenlaw and Jane Feaver are two excellent writers whose books are of Orange quality. I can see how they’ve been missed though as Greenlaw is predominantly a poet – she’s written two novels and Feaver has written just one novel and one inter-connected book of short stories. They also write in a personal style and on quite a small canvas which isn’t very Orange, I suppose!

    I would have expected to see Joyce Carol Oates nominated at some point. Or is she one of those who doesn’t wish to be included like A S Byatt?

    Reply

  9. Debra
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 21:44:08

    I think of Louise Erdrich as being ‘Orange worthy’. I have enjoyed several of her books which often incorporate a touch of mysticism and very full characters.

    Reply

  10. Terri
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 22:12:27

    I agree wholeheartedly with Louise Erdrich, a brilliant writer. I’d also add Gail Tsukiyama, author of The Samurai’s Garden, Women of the Silk and several other wonderful novels, and Julia Alvarez, author of In the Time of the Butterflies.

    Reply

  11. nomadreader
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 22:12:29

    Great question, Jill! (I’m always curious which of these may just never have been submitted by the publisher.) The first two that come to mind: Laura Dave & Pearl Cleage. Now I’m sure I’ll spend all day suddenly thinking of more.

    Reply

  12. Wendy
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 22:24:27

    I agree with Debra – Louise Erdrich is an amazing writer and it is hard to believe she has never been nominated. And like Dee, I wonder why Joyce Carol Oates has never been included. Her stuff tends to be a bit darker, but there is no question she is a very talented writer…and very literary.

    Would LOVE to win this book 🙂

    Reply

  13. raidergirl3
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 22:26:29

    Excellent question! Good thing I’m not working today and could do some research because I knew there were some names that I run across and am surprised they are never nominated. Some have been listed already – Kate Morton, Tana French, Mary Lawson, and Lisa See.
    My ‘add to the list’ names are: Tracey Chevalier and Michelle Moran and Ruth Rendell.

    I don’t need to be entered today.

    Reply

  14. Genny Tunbridge
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 23:19:01

    That’s a difficult question for me to answer. I think most of the contemporary women writers I read and enjoy are already Orange nominees, except perhaps for some of those who write only genre fiction. But I don’t have a clear mental list of who has and has not been nominated because I’ve only recently been paying attention to the prize.

    I presume you mean still living writers, not those who pre-dated the Orange prize. I guess it shows how influential prizes like this are in making nominated/winning authors well known and ensuring their books are reviewed and prominent in bookshops.

    Of the names mentioned already, I’d support Dee’s mention of Jane Feaver, though I’ve only read her one novel I thought that was very good.

    Reply

  15. wutheringwillow
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 00:11:05

    I don’t read enough modern fiction to know the answer to that but all the wonderful suggestions above have given me names of authors mostly unknown to me. I might try some of them sooner or later. So thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  16. Ann-Marie Sjöberg
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 01:07:04

    I love Mary Doria Russell´s novels. The Sparrow is one of the most amazing books I´ve read ever. Why not Pat Barker? or Susan Hill?

    Reply

  17. Heather Holt
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 02:15:22

    Perhaps this shows how much the Orange prize has influenced my reading this year but I don’t think I’ve read many books by contemporary female authors who haven’t had books nominated for the award! (Lots of non-contemporary female authors though – of those I would have to say Winifred Holtby).

    From last year’s reading I would pick The Earth Hums in B Flat by Mari Strachan or Petina Gappah whose book of short stories, An Elegy for Easterly, I read last year.

    Reply

  18. Her Royal Orangeness
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 03:14:54

    I’m not entering the giveaway because I’ve already read the book, but I had to answer this question.

    Clare Morrall, Joanna Scott, Geraldine Brooks, Helen Humphries, Elizabeth Hay, Aimee Bender, Elizabeth Rosner, Jessica Grant, Monique Truong, Ivy Pochoda, Yiyun Lee, Maggie O’Farrell, Anita Brookner. (I think those all qualify and haven’t been included on the Orange lists.)

    And I agree with the previous mentions of Louise Erdrich and Tracy Chevalier.

    Reply

  19. Elaine Pendergrast
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 03:46:11

    Mary Doria Russell would be my one and only pick. I love all her books and wait anxiously for her next one! She deserves way more attention than she gets! 🙂

    Reply

  20. brittneykp
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 03:47:58

    Doc is my favorite novel so far in 2011 – I think its a piece of outstanding literature and should definitely be nominated for an Orange Prize!

    Reply

  21. Kerry T
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 04:06:41

    I agree with Deborah F and Debra, just recently read Snow Flower and the Secret Fan and would like to read more of Lisa See’s novels. too

    Reply

  22. Kerry
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 04:09:05

    I agree with Deborah and Debra, Lisa See should be nominated for an Orange Prize

    Reply

  23. Kerry
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 04:11:40

    opps my comments are messing up, only meant to post the above once!! sorry

    Reply

  24. Megan
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 06:59:49

    I agree with all those who have said Louise Erdrich, but the one that immediately sprang to mind for me was Maggie O’Farrell. Her books seems plenty Orange-y enough for the Orange Prize! She’s one of my favorites, and I’m definitely surprised she hasn’t been listed at least once.

    Reply

  25. Melissa Leeman Head
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 07:13:50

    Lisa See for sure! Love her writing.

    Reply

  26. Nulaanne
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 07:40:30

    I love Lauren Maddison, she has written only a few books and I have all but one.

    Reply

    • mrstreme
      Jul 14, 2011 @ 09:11:08

      Woo hoo! You’re today’s lucky winner, Nulaanne! Please email me your mailing address when you have a second: jillceleste AT hotmail DOT com. Congrats!

      Reply

  27. belva
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 08:29:29

    Alice Hoffman, Lisa See and Sarah Addison Allen (if they have never been nominated……..IDK if they have or not)

    Reply

  28. mrstreme
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 09:11:38

    Such wonderful writers listed in your comments. Thanks to everyone for playing, and congratulations to Nulaanne for winning DOC!

    Reply

  29. Beth Parks Aronson
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 11:34:34

    ARGH. This was a day I somehow missed the contest. Meanwhile, at my mom’s urging, I’ve just started The Sparrow. She would agree that Russell has been wrongly overlooked, and my guess is I will agree with you both…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

