Orange Prize Giveaway #8: Room

Room by Emma DonoghueGiveaway closed. Stay tuned for the winner!

Up for Grabs: Room by Emma Donoghue

Your activity: You’re stranded on a tropical island for five days, and you’re allowed to bring one Orange book. In the comments section below, name which Orange book (nominee or winner)  you would bring!

***

Giveaway ends at 9pm EST. Winner will be chosen randomly from those who comment on this blog only (Facebook comments will not count). I will announce the winner on this blog, so be sure to check back or subscribe (look for black “Sign Me Up!” button on top left).

Open to all participants – no matter where you live or if you’ve won already!

Already have Room? You can still play – just let me know in your comments to not enter you in the drawing.

Happy Friday!

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marjorie
    Jul 15, 2011 @ 19:15:23

    I would bring DOC, it sounds like a really good read.
    I would like to win Room, I have read a lot about this book.

    Reply

    • mrstreme
      Jul 16, 2011 @ 09:11:00

      Well guess what? YOU WON! =)

      Congratulations! Please email me your mailing address at your earliest convenience: jillceleste AT hotmail DOT com.

      Thanks for playing!

      Reply

  2. Her Royal Orangeness
    Jul 15, 2011 @ 19:15:23

    My only 5 Star Orange Read (so far) was “The Time Traveler’s Wife,” so I would probably choose that. There are oodles of 4 Star Orange Reads that I would have to consider, though, like…”The Electric Michelangelo” and “The Blind Assassin” and “The Tenderness of Wolves” and “Crocodile Soup.”

    Reply

  3. Deborah F
    Jul 15, 2011 @ 19:42:01

    I absolutely loved Small Island by Andrea Levy so I suppose that it what I’d bring. That said, there are number of Oranges I have yet to read – so those would be contenders too.

    Please don’t enter me into the draw, as I have already read Room.

    Reply

  4. Alpa
    Jul 15, 2011 @ 20:26:14

    It would be time travellers wife.

    Reply

  5. Rhonda Lomazow
    Jul 15, 2011 @ 20:37:55

    Time travelers wife!!

    Reply

  6. Debra
    Jul 15, 2011 @ 20:44:17

    Only one!! It’s so hard to narrow down, there are so many that I have loved but I am going to take Wolf Hall by Hillary Mantel with me. I became intrigued with Henry VIII’s court from reading The Other Boleyn Girl and Wolf Hall provided a new and different perspective to that era. It had me thinking about it long after I had finished the book.

    Reply

  7. Peggy
    Jul 15, 2011 @ 20:48:23

    ACK! Five days and only one book!?!
    It would have to be a big one, so that lets out *The Road Home*, my favorite. I guess I’d take *Fingersmith* and hope it lasted.

    Reply

  8. Ally
    Jul 15, 2011 @ 20:50:26

    “Room” has been on my wishlist for quite some time now 🙂
    Just one book on a tropical island? Well, that’s a touch choice, but it would have to be one of Jeanette Winterson’s books… I am thinking which one out of those nominated… hmmm… “The Powerbook”, nominated in 2001 🙂

    Reply

  9. Deborah F
    Jul 15, 2011 @ 21:01:38

    I think I’d take a Small Island by Andrea Levy. I just love her books – Long Song too.

    I’m afraid that Kate Atkinson has stolen my heart with Case Histories – so I’d like to take her entire series!

    Don’t enter me into the draw – I’m fortunate to have read Room already!

    Reply

  10. wutheringwillow
    Jul 15, 2011 @ 21:04:14

    Maybe Amy Tan’s books. I read her The Joy Luck Club and liked it a lot. I would like to read more of her books.

    (Note: I don’t wish to read Room. So, please don’t enter me in the draw.)

    Reply

  11. kidzdoc
    Jul 15, 2011 @ 21:18:15

    Even though I’ve already read it, I would bring Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel.

    (I already have Room, so please don’t enter my name in the draw.)

    Reply

  12. Helen
    Jul 15, 2011 @ 21:25:03

    It would need to be a good solid book, and one that I haven’t already read. One with lots of great reviews.

    Probably Wolf Hall or Fingersmith.

    Reply

  13. raidergirl3
    Jul 15, 2011 @ 21:39:17

    My favorite Orange Read, plus it would be inspirational to spending time alone in case I got stuck more than 5 days. The Lizard Cage by Karen Connolly has been one of the best books I’ve read. I’ll probably never reread it because it was big, and this would be the best time to dive in again.

    I’ve already read Room; don’t enter me!

    Reply

  14. SqueakyChu
    Jul 15, 2011 @ 21:42:52

    I’d take Fingersmith since it’s huge, and I haven’t read it yet.

    Reply

  15. Kerry
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 01:44:39

    Hi, I’d take Fingersmith too!!

    (I’ve already read Room, so please don’t enter me into the draw)

    Reply

  16. Genny
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 03:29:35

    I’d bring Room, assuming I’d won it!

    Reply

  17. belva
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 04:10:27

    I would bring Great House because I loved it so much and I know I will read it again one day.
    rainpebble

    Reply

  18. a little tête-à-tête
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 05:53:04

    Ohhh I’d love to read Room…. I’d bring this one!! 🙂

    lisagoneaussie (at) gmail.com

    Reply

  19. Kim Hannibal Collins
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 07:39:24

    The Constant Princess. — but for five days? I wonder if we could bind several of them into one book and make it and Orange Collection #1.

    Reply

  20. Barbara Atkins Carlucci
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 08:18:14

    I’d have to say The Tiger’s Wife…I can’t wait to read it!

    Reply

  21. mrstreme
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 09:12:25

    Congratulations to Marjorie for winning today’s giveaway!

    My pick would be Annabel by Kathleen Winters!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

