Orange Prize Giveaway #9: State of Wonder

State of Wonder by Ann PatchettGiveaway closed. Stay tuned for the winner!

Up for Grabs: State of Wonder by Ann Patchett

Your activity: Today is my mom’s birthday (Happy Birthday, Mom!), and in celebration of her special day, this question is about inspiration. My mom has always been a bookworm, and she instilled in me a love of reading that I will always be grateful for. Who inspired you to be a bookworm? Whether it be your mom or a beloved teacher, share your inspiration in your comment below.

***

Giveaway ends at 9pm EST. Winner will be chosen randomly from those who comment on this blog only (Facebook comments will not count). I will announce the winner on this blog, so be sure to check back or subscribe (look for black “Sign Me Up!” button on top left).

Open to all participants – no matter where you live or if you’ve won already!

Don’t want the book? Play any way – just let me know in your comments to not enter you into the drawing.

Have a great weekend!

35 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Peggy
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 19:57:12

    Happy Birthday to your dear mother, Jill!
    I was happily born into a family of readers, so my inspiration is genetic, I think. Just in case though, my grandmothers and parents all modeled compulsive reading for me as soon as I was aware enough to pay attention!

    Reply

  2. Angela Holden Hunt
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 20:01:00

    Really circumstances were the inspiration for me to be a bookwortm. I was a carer for both my parents from the age of 10. Obviously I couldn’t have a normal childhood but my saving grace was my local library which was close to my home. At nights I used to do what needed doing for a few hours, and go into my room and lose myself in a book. Just to put myself into the characters place for an hour or so helped keep me sane. And now I myself suffer from the same illness my mother did and my son is now MY carer, I still find myself reading just to make the pain easier to bear by putting myself into a characters position

    Reply

  3. Nicki
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 20:01:58

    My parents too. Books are our common ground. Happy Birthday to your mum!

    Reply

  4. Laura
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 20:09:59

    My mom started me on a life of reading as well. First, she taught me to read before I started school. And when I was growing up, I remember my mom always had a book on the go. When I picture her in those days, it’s always sitting on “her chair” reading. She took me to the library all the time. When I was too old for children’s books but not really an adult yet, she helped me get a library card with a special sticker on it that allowed me to borrow most books from the general fiction section. We still compare notes on books and recommend books to each other.

    Reply

  5. Brenda
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 20:33:00

    It would have to be my Mom. . . Some of my early reads were the Reader’s Digest (edited and compiled) versions of classic books. Happy Birthday to your Mom

    Reply

  6. Prashansa
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 20:33:04

    Ever since I was a wee girl, my mother has accompanied me to the annual book fair held in the city. We would buy dozens of books; on returning home we would sniff them the whole day! Last year, though, I visited the fair on my own – my mother now thinks that I am old enough to go there alone. But I am ever so glad that the most indelible memories of my childhood are the ones where I am buying books with Mummy.

    I hope with all my heart to win State of Wonder. I have wanted to read it ever since I first heard about it. My fingers and toes are crossed! 🙂

    Reply

  7. Deborah F
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 20:35:32

    Both of my parents instilled a love of books in me and my siblings. Both of them loved to read and were eager for me and my sibs to read. My mom read to me from a very young age, and my parents took us to the bookstore when we were very young and encouraged all== me and all 4 of my sibs to pick out a book eacg – and they would pay for it. My mom took us to the library too and encouraged us to use it. As I grew older, my parents would often recommend books to me and loan them to me. I was very fortunate. I’d love to win this book! 😉

    Happy Birthday to your mom.

    Reply

  8. Rhonda Lomazow
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 21:29:29

    i grew up in a family of readers.My mother &i have long conversations about books &each day my brother &i exchange email about what we are reading what book we bought &now my son is a tremendous reader he even joined good reads.Happy birthday to your Mom.Lomazowr@gmail.com

    Reply

  9. Barbara Atkins Carlucci
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 22:18:12

    I honestly don’t remember who inspired my love of reading. I do remember a teacher reading aloud to my 7th grade class. She read The Tell-Tale Heart by Edgar Allen Poe and I still can feel the goosebumps! She inspired me to expand my reading interests. Thank you Mrs. Harris!

    Happy Birthday to your Mom!

    Reply

  10. Helen
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 22:33:28

    Definitely my mother. She was always in the lounge area reading a book in the evenings while we were doing our homework. When we were small she’d take us to the local library once a week. Then as we got older we’d ride our bikes there.

    Reply

  11. wutheringwillow
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 23:26:29

    First of all wishing your mom a very happy birthday!

    Just like you, it was my mom who inspired me to be a bookworm. Even before I could read she would bring books for me and read them to me. Books full of wonderful fairytales Sleeping Beauty, Cinderella, Goldielocks and the Three Bears and of course my favourites, books full of nursery rhymes. My love for the written words grew because of those books. Soon I was reading them to ‘her’ instead of being the other way round.

    Reply

  12. Genny Tunbridge
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 23:58:58

    Happy Birthday from me too to your Mum.

    For me, it was my Dad who inspired my early reading. Both Mum and Dad read a lot, but Dad enjoys sci-fi and fantasy which Mum does not. In the 1970s when I was growing up, and there were a lot of great magical/fantasy books for children being published, Dad would buy them for me for Christmas and birthdays, and would always read them himself also – so we could share our enthusiasm for them. Since I left home, Dad has more or less stopped buying me books for presents, because he says he no longer knows what I like to read, though I try to tell him. But at least the habit of reading constantly and widely was already formed.

    Reply

  13. Regina Motarjeme
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 00:04:20

    I have always been surrounded by readers and always loved every opportunity to escape with a great story!

    Reply

  14. avisannschild
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 00:07:09

    Happy birthday to your mum! One of my favourite childhood memories is going to the library every Friday with my mum and sisters — we then all climbed into my parents’ bed and read side by side. My mum definitely inspired me to become a bookworm! (I grew up in a very small town and eventually read almost all the books in that library, even a few that were definitely NOT age-appropriate!)

    Reply

  15. Dee
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 00:41:44

    I don’t remember my parents actively inspiring me to read but they did have shelves and shelves of books including all my mother’s childhood books which definitely helped!

    Reply

  16. Terri
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 01:05:59

    I’d have to say my mom inspired me to read. She was never without a book in progress and we had many books to choose from at home – though not the classics. She read contemporary lit (in her era, that was very different from contemp lit now!) and encouraged me to read pretty much whatever I wanted, so I was reading some fairly adult books as an adolescent.

    Thanks Mom! And a hearty happy birthday to your mom, Jill.

    I love Ann Patchett and can’t wait to read this book, whether I win it or not.

    Reply

  17. bookspersonally
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 01:09:50

    What fun! my mom is also a big reader, and her mother before her, and my dad would read to us at bedtime- all the classics -Alice in Wonderland, Treasure Island… can’t remember life before reading 😀 Happy Birthday to your mother!

    Reply

  18. Kim Hannibal Collins
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 01:40:36

    My three older sisters inspired me by their slightly meager book collections… but mostly it was the close proximity of the library to my house. I was allowed to ride my bike to it any time I wanted to go… probably starting around 2nd grade. I always wanted to get out of the house, so since that was the one place that I was always allowed to go, I spent many hours there looking at all the books and picking out all different types.

    Reply

  19. misha
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 01:40:48

    My mom inspired me to read. She is a bookworm herself, and as a consequence, I was never without a book. She is the one who introduced me to many of my childhood favorites – Harry Potter, Enid Blyton novels, Little Women etc.

    Wishing your mom a very happy birthday!

    Reply

  20. Kim Hannibal Collins
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 01:41:26

    By the way Happy Birthday to your Mom!

    Reply

  21. Gavin
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 02:04:36

    Happy Birthday to your Mom! My reading mentor was my great aunt Frances. She was a teacher and had me loving books by the age of two and making an effort to read on my own by the age of three. When she died my Mother’s Mother stepped in. She organized the first lending library in her small New England town. I think of these women every time I see a child discover that she can read on her own!

    Reply

  22. AnneDC
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 02:11:37

    I think it had to be my mom, and also my mom’s whole side of the family who were all readers. I remember my mom reading me a bedtime story every night (Black Beauty, Lassie Come Home, The Secret Garden), and I remember her checking out piles of books for me from the library whenever we went on a summer vacation. Later on she started helping me find adult books that I would be interested in, and we still talk about books now.

    Happy birthday to your mom!

    Reply

  23. Vasilly
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 02:39:19

    My parents encouraged my interest in reading. My father taught me to read while my mother bought me books even though we couldn’t afford them. I can never repay my debt to them. 🙂

    Reply

  24. Debra
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 02:53:03

    Although my mother was never much of a reader herself ( with 4 kids I doubt she had much time for it) I definitely remember her reading to us on a regular basis and taking us to the l;ibrary. I think that is where the seeds were planted since my siblings all enjoy reading as well.

    Reply

  25. Kerry
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 03:44:34

    oo, my mum and nan used to read alot, but from an early age I’ve always loved books and even asked only for books one Christmas! now I’m trying to install a love of books to my children (working with my daughter, still trying hard with my boys!!).

    Happy Birthday to your Mum too

    Reply

  26. JenniferR
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 04:35:38

    My parents….we had tons of books around the house and a huge collection of encyclopedias. I could not walk past the books without picking one up, turning to a random page, and read some interesting fact. Now, I just try and control my purchases of books. 🙂

    Reply

  27. Bonnie
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 06:13:43

    Happy Birthday to your Mom, Jill. My Mom was an inspiration for me very early on. Our house was filled with books and we all had our library cards almost as soon as we could walk. I tried to emulate her child-raising habits with my own children and have also created a couple of avid readers 🙂

    Reply

    • mrstreme
      Jul 17, 2011 @ 09:11:35

      Congratulations, Bonnie! You won today’s giveaway! Please email me your mailing address at your earliest convenience: jillceleste AT hotmail DOT com.

      Reply

  28. Sally906
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 06:14:57

    Happy birthday to your mum 🙂

    Strangely enough my mother thinks reading is boring! My love of reading came from my father who use to take me to the library every week from a very young age right up to when I got married.

    My husband is a reader although not as obsessed as me, our oldest daughter is a reader as well. Our youngest daughter always thought reading was a form of punishment but she has a 4 year old son who loves reading and she takes HIM to the library and has now started to read, and enjoy, books too!

    Reply

  29. Kathy
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 07:00:41

    My mother was also the one who started me reading…with her favorites: Little Women, Jane Eyre, and Pride & Prejudice. She gave me the books that she read from as a girl, and I still have them (she passed away in July 2004). She would have LOVED LibraryThing…she kept her own “database” (on cards) of the books and authors she read.

    Reply

  30. Alpa
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 07:28:23

    My dad … He was the one who always bought books for me as soon as I finished one… He made me crazy ad now he is tired of it 😀

    Reply

  31. Kim Bal-Al
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 08:23:02

    First – Happy Birthday mrstreme’s Mum!
    Both my Mum & Dad love reading and talking about their current read, but I think it was my Scottish Granddad, who used to sit me on his knee when I was a wee bairn and recite everything and anything to me- nonsense poems, old Scots tales, Shakespeare. I’d ask him how he knew all these and he’d say “From books, me wee pet, from books!”
    I couldn’t wait to start reading and still can’t wait to get my head into a book all these years later – and now I’m the family library and my Mum looks to me for her next Orange read 🙂

    Reply

  32. pw
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 08:33:58

    my inspiration to read came from my great-grandmother who starting reading to me almost at the first moment after my birth. Her college diploma is hanging in my living room–she graduated in 1897.

    Reply

  33. cscott02
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 08:42:02

    Definitely my parents. They encouraged me to read, even though they often didn’t have time to.

    I just finished reading ‘State of Wonder’ a couple of weeks ago, so I’ll opt out of the giveaway, but it’s a great read! I also finished the fourth book in my challenge, “The Idea of Perfection” by Kate Grenville; read about it here! https://cinnajoon.wordpress.com/2011/07/16/orange-prize-challenge-4-the-idea-of-perfection/

    Reply

  34. mrstreme
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 09:12:11

    Wonderful comments and responses – thank you all for sharing your reading inspirations. Congrats to Bonnie, who is today’s winner!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

