Orange Prize Giveaway #10: The House on Mango Street

The House on Mango Street by Sandra CisnerosGiveaway closed. Stay tuned for the winner!

Up for Grabs: The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros

Your activity: The House on Mango Street is one of those “must read” books assigned to many students in high school. What book was your favorite required read from high school or college? Let us know in the comments below!

***

Giveaway ends at 9pm EST. Winner will be chosen randomly from those who comment on this blog only (Facebook comments will not count). I will announce the winner on this blog, so be sure to check back or subscribe (look for black “Sign Me Up!” button on top left).

Open to all participants – no matter where you live or if you’ve won already!

Don’t want the book? Play any way – just let me know in your comments to not enter you into the drawing.

Thanks for participating!

31 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ally
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 19:25:28

    The 9th grade ESL course book has excerpts of this novel in the literature section and the students always seem to like them better than other literary texts. 🙂
    As for myself, I remember I was on the 10th grade when I had my first encounter with “The Catcher in the rye” by J. D. Salinger. It was that fragment about his sister Phoebe and the ducks in New York, and I instantly fell in love with the character and later that month, with the book 🙂
    I would love to win the book! Thanks for another great giveaway!

    Reply

  2. Kim Bal-Al
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 19:29:25

    Gosh, it was sooo long ago, this is a hard question to answer!
    From the ones I can remember, my favorite required read would have been Miles Franklin’s iconic “My Brilliant Career”. About a imaginative, headstrong girl growing up in rural Australia in the 1890s. She eventually chooses not to marry the wealthy young man who has been courting her and decides instead on the uncertainty of chasing her dream to become a writer. Somehow this one captured my imagination. It was over 25 years ago that I read it, perhaps it’s due for a re-read 🙂

    Reply

  3. mrstreme
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 19:32:40

    My favorite “required read” was from college: The Accidental Tourist by Anne Tyler. I thought Macon Leary was such a great character, and the book had many funny but touching moments. I’ve been reading Anne Tyler ever since!

    (Not entered in drawing.)

    Reply

  4. Misha
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 19:41:51

    My favorite required read from school was David Copperfield by Charles Dickens. That is the book which started off my love for Dickens’ books.

    Reply

  5. Prashansa
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 20:11:36

    My favourite required reads from school are To Kill a Mockingbird and Things Fall Apart. Each time I read Mockingbird, the books reveals itself to me in a new way; it is a never-exhausting treasure-trove. I thoroughly enjoyed Achebe’s fierce language and literal translation of Nigerian proverbs. I am looking forward to reading the sequel No Longer at Ease.

    Reply

  6. Layen
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 20:29:58

    The Malaysian Ministry of Education had just introduced a literature component when I was in high school. So there was a short list of one book we were required to read in school – Jungle of Hope by Keris Mas, translated from Malay actually. I have no idea why they chose a translation and not a book originally written in English

    Reply

  7. raidergirl3
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 20:49:29

    In grade nine, the year before we started Shakespeare, we read a great book called Cue for Treason. It was historical fiction, very much like the movie, Shakespeare in Love, but with more of a mystery angle. It was teaching us about life in Shakespeare’s time.

    Also, Animal Farm is a book I enjoyed, only because of all the analysis we did. I appreciated it because we did it in school and learned all the historical parallels.

    I didn’t have to read To Kill a Mockingbird and I always wonder if I would have liked it as much if I *had* to read it.

    (don’t enter me for the book)

    Reply

  8. Regina Motarjeme
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 20:53:44

    Wuthering Heights for sure, I loved it!

    Reply

  9. Rhonda Lomazow
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 20:58:42

    jane eyre loved it!!

    Reply

  10. mimz
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 21:03:36

    Honestly, I hated most assigned reading in high school. They were all so boring. lol But I really enjoyed reading The Picture of Dorian Gray and 1984/Animal Farm.

    Reply

  11. Genny
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 21:04:54

    The Prologue to the Canterbury Tales for me – read in modern English but it Introduced me to Chaucer. As someone already developing q strong interest in all things medieval, I enjoyed this more than all the more ‘modern’ set texts like Dickens or Shakespeare!

    Reply

  12. Debra
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 21:16:48

    Without a doubt my favourite ‘assigned’ reading was To Kill a Mockingbird”. I loved it then and have re-read it at least a dozen times over the years. I’m looking forward to my kids reading it when they reach that stage.

    Reply

    • mrstreme
      Jul 20, 2011 @ 09:09:23

      Congratulations, Debra! You’re today’s lucky winner! =) If this is Debra V., I already have your address from another giveaway. If this is a different Debra, please email me your mailing address at jillceleste AT hotmail DOT com.

      Thanks! =)

      Reply

  13. Jessica
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 22:06:52

    A kestral for a naive, one very dark and depressing book with a tragic ending. Why this is given to school kids I dont know, the films just as bad. But it has always stuck in my head and I am going to re-read it at some point.

    Reply

  14. Dee
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 22:29:59

    Wuthering Heights when I was sixteen. Probably the ideal time to read it!

    Reply

  15. emaestra
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 22:45:39

    I have taught House on Mango Street for the past nine years. I still love this book and I do my best not to dissect it to death because I know that that often kills it for students.

    My favorite book from college was Candide by Voltaire. The humor and the philosophy behind it hit me at just the right point in life. It is still in my top five favorite books ever.

    Reply

  16. Alpa
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 22:48:43

    My favorite read were David Copperfield and Oliver Twist

    Reply

  17. wutheringwillow
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 23:22:43

    My favourite required read from school was The Merchant of Venice. Sort of surprising when I come to think of it.

    Reply

  18. Helen
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 23:39:57

    I’m another with a vote for “To Kill a Mockingbird.” Wonderful book.

    Reply

  19. Deborah F
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 02:36:36

    My favourte reads that were required somewhere along the line – – university – it’s been a while!;) were those by Dickens. David Copperfield and Bleak House.

    Reply

  20. belva/rainpebble
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 04:27:09

    My favorite required reads in High School were:
    Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck (ever my favorite author) and
    Ivanhoe by Sir Walter Raleigh.
    But I think, remembering back, that there weren’t any that I actually didn’t like. These two I loved.

    Reply

  21. JoV
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 04:39:09

    High school? “To Kill a Mockingbird” is my favourite! Count me in.

    Reply

  22. Brenda
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 05:04:45

    Romeo and Juliet in junior high school was one of my favorites, my first Shakespeare.

    Reply

  23. Linda
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 06:17:12

    My favorite required read from high school was Cry, the Beloved Country. I have re-read it twice since, and it is simply beautiful. In college, my favorite was Faulkner’s Absalom, Absalom!, which turned me into the total Faulkner freak that many of you know me to be.

    Reply

  24. Jess Sorensen
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 06:18:12

    Night by Elie Weisel…No one can quite capture the deprivaty of the Holocaust as Elie Weisel.

    Reply

  25. Nicki
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 06:26:31

    Mine were Orwell’s 1984 and Bolt’s A Man For All Seasons. Both gave me plenty to think about. The Orwell I would have read anyway but I never would have picked up the Bolt on my own initiative. I think my positive experience for all my required reads has given me confidence to read outside my favourite subjects and enjoy group reads/challenges.

    Reply

  26. Kathy Dolan
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 06:31:00

    Well it’s not original but my favourite was To Kill a Mockingbird too… but if I had to pick a second, I think I’d go for Arthur Miller’s The Crucible.

    Reply

  27. Eva
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 06:48:50

    I loved The Scarlet Letter! 😀

    Reply

  28. mrstreme
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 09:16:10

    GREAT books listed here! I am especially intrigued by Kim’s selection, My Brilliant Career. I will have to check it out!

    Congrats to Debra for winning today’s giveaway! =)

    Thanks all for participating! ~Jill

    Reply

  29. BuriedInPrint
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 04:15:22

    I just picked up a copy of this one on the weekend, so was pleased to see it had been part of your Orange July celebrations (so I can feel as though the month is still going on in my own little reading room). It’s interesting to read the variety of responses here. I might say the ninth grade’s Where the Red Fern Grows (Rawlings), but if I was trying to be Orange-Appropriate, I would skip ahead to twelfth grade and say Margaret Laurence’s The Stone Angel: she’d win my Orange!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

