Orange Prize Giveaway #12: Haweswater

Haweswater by Sarah HallGiveaway closed. Stay tuned for the winner!

Up for Grabs: Haweswater by Sarah Hall

Your activity: We’ve been paying attention to women a lot this month (understandably!), so let’s give some love to all those fabulous guy writers out there. In your comments below, list some of your favorite male authors (living or dead).

***

Giveaway ends at 9pm EST. Winner will be chosen randomly from those who comment on this blog only (Facebook comments will not count). I will announce the winner on this blog, so be sure to check back or subscribe (look for black “Sign Me Up!” button on top left).

Open to all participants – no matter where you live or if you’ve won already!

Feel free to play even if you don’t want to win the book. Just let me know in your comment.

Happy Friday!

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mrstreme
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 18:49:15

    Some of my favorites: Chris Bohjalian, Leif Enger, Khaled Hosseini, Cormac McCarthy, Ian McEwan, Philip Roth, Nicholas Sparks and Markus Zusak

    Plus a special shout out to Shel Silverstein, my favorite poet!

    (Not entered in drawing).

    Reply

  2. Deborah F
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 18:59:00

    I’d have to agree with Chris Bohjalian -and I was going to put Khaled Hossenini of The Kite Runner. Another favourite male author of mine is a new Canadian author,
    Drew Hayden Taylor.He is a First Nations man in Canada, who wrote one of my favourite recent books. He tells the tale of life on a First Nations Reserve, touching on so many social challenges , and yet he is able to do so with a wonderful light touch and a fabulous sense of humour.

    Thanks again for the chance to win Haweswater! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Kim Bal-Al
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 19:04:35

    My favorites off the top of my head- Khaled Hosseini, Yann Matel, John Irving (his earlier works), Murray Bail, Richard Flanagan, Bryce Courtenay, Bernard Cornwell and Lloyd Jones

    Reply

  4. Misha
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 19:05:13

    My favorites – Charles Dickens, Ian McEwan, Khaled Hosseini, J.R.R. Tolkien, Wally Lamb, Kazuo Ishiguro and Richard Russo.

    Reply

  5. rhonda
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 21:02:58

    Charles Dickens is my guy.

    Reply

  6. Her Royal Orangeness
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 21:12:29

    Stephen King and Jonathan Carroll. They both have reputations for writing dark creepy books, but what I love about them is their amazing storytelling skill and their ability to deeply probe the psychological aspects of their characters.

    Reply

  7. Ally
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 21:25:36

    I am a huge fan of Paulo Coelho, for his simple yet touching writing. Then, I love Ian McEwan and his Cement Garden or Amsterdam. I could not forget Henry Miller, for his passion without any reserve in the two Tropics, and of course, my newest rediscovery, Haruki Murakami whose books I can’t seem to stop reading 🙂
    Thanks for the great giveaway!

    Reply

  8. Peggy
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 22:19:31

    Charles Dickens for sure! Henry James! Horace! John Donne! Paul Scott and Anthony Powell and P.G. Wodehouse! Contemporaries Richard Powers, Haruki Murakami, China Mieville, and Neal Stephenson. I’ll stop now.

    Reply

  9. nomadreader
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 22:37:50

    Great question! I’m a huge fan of Tom Perrotta and recently adored Jonathan Dee’s most recent novel, The Privileges and want to read more of his work.

    Reply

  10. Layen
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 22:43:00

    Terry Pratchett, Neil Gaiman, Haruki Murakami, Jasper Fforde and Christopher Brookmyre are some of my favourite male authors that I can name right now.

    Reply

  11. wutheringwillow
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 23:01:51

    The name of Charles Dickens comes first to my mind. I started with his A Tale of Two Cities and have loved him ever since. My favourites by him are The Pickwick Papers, Great Expectations, Mrs. Lirriper’s Lodgings and of course, A Tale of Two Cities.

    Then there is Bram Stoker. His only notable work is Dracula but that’s enough to make him one of my favourites.

    I don’t often like almost every single work of any one author. Every writer has at least one or two duds, in my opinion. But Richard Brinsley Sheridan’s plays rarely fail to entertain me.

    Thomas Love Peacock I discovered last year. His writing can be a bit complex and some of it is a bit dated but the dialogues are so witty. His sarcastic remarks about the human nature make me laugh out loud.

    And finally, Douglas Adams’ books with their whacky sense of humour and John le Carré’s spy thrillers also make my day!

    Reply

  12. Terri
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 23:39:51

    I do read books by men! About 40% of my reading is male authors. Favorites: Leif Enger, Khaled Hosseini, David James Duncan, Kazuo Ishiguro, Abraham Verghese, David Mitchell, John Steinbeck, Will Shakespeare. I used to love John Irving until he got weird and so so dark. I have to include Larry McMurtry, though I’ve only read Lonesome Dove, which is one of my all-time favorites. Jack Kornfield for spiritual writing; David Sedaris for humor (though I prefer to listen to him rather than read).

    Fun to see what other male authors people are reading! Thanks Jill.

    Reply

  13. Prashansa
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 23:45:24

    Oscar Wilde for his wit, and the interesting life he lived.

    British historian and writer William Dalrymple. I would hide his book City of Djinns in my science textbook, and read (to deceive Mother; I was miserable at science!). I was 11 and smitten. When I met him last year, I behaved like a dazed fan-girl, and confessed that my heart skipped a beat on seeing him approaching me.

    Reply

  14. mimz
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 00:17:27

    You know, I just realized I’m not as familiar with male authors as I thought. But off the top of my head I’d say Kazuo Ishiguro, Terry Pratchett, Oscar Wilde, Terry Goodkind… and of course, I almost forgot Karl May – my absolute favourite. ❤

    Reply

  15. Cate (bleuroses)
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 00:52:19

    I very rarely read male authors these days, however there are a few perennial favourites. Robertson Davies is the first on that list, then (in no particular order) Richard Brautigan, Henry James, Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, Shakespeare, Abraham Verghese, Bruce Chatwin, Edmund White and Michael Cunningham.

    (Not entered in drawing)

    Reply

  16. Dee
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 00:58:58

    Henry James, Kazuo Ishiguro, Alan Garner, Marcus Sedgwick and (though only just discovered this year) Robertson Davies.

    I mostly read women though!

    Reply

  17. avisannschild
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 01:11:12

    Although about 90% of the books I read are by women, I do have a few favourite male authors: Michael Cunningham, Alexander McCall Smith, Malcolm Gladwell and Robert Charles Wilson… Oh and David Eberhoff maybe — I’m not sure yet because I’ve only read one of his books!

    I’ve never heard of Haweswater by Sarah Hall, but LibraryThing thinks I will love it!

    Reply

  18. rainpebble/belva
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 02:05:12

    John Steinbeck is my main man. I have loved or really liked everything of his barring one silly little ditty. He has been my favorite author since 5th grade when I read his The Winter of my Discontent and that one is still my favorite. I know, I know, rather creepy….right? But he is ‘The Man’.
    Others that I favor are: Wm Faulkner, Ernest Hemingway, Christopher Bohjalian, Charles Dickens, F. Scott Fitzgerald, E.M. Forster, Thomas Hardy, Joseph Roth, Ernest Gaines, Alexander Dumas, Boris Pasternak R.C. Sproul & our own North Westerner David Guterson. There are so many that I do read. Too many to list but these are the ones that come immediately to mind.

    Reply

  19. Ally
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 02:12:42

    Oh, F.S. Fitzgerald! How you I have forgotten about him? 🙂 I have read all his work!

    Reply

  20. tanabata
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 04:36:15

    A few of my favourite male authors are: Haruki Murakami, David Michell, Jasper Fforde, Paul Auster, Jeffrey Eugenides, Cormac McCarthy, and newly discovered this year, David Vann.

    Most of my favourite books of the year so far have been by women authors, but I do love the men too. 🙂

    Reply

  21. Phoebe
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 05:26:50

    Of course, we share our love of Chris Bohjalian, I also adore Chuck Palahniuk, and Wally Lamb.

    Reply

  22. Linda
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 07:18:39

    My all-time favorite author is William Faulkner. I “discovered” him in college, and have been reading and re-reading him ever since. Other male authors near and dear to me are the late Robert B. Parker, James Lee Burke, Robert Penn Warren, P.G. Wodehouse, Tolkien, Twain and Dickens.

    Reply

  23. Barbara Atkins Carlucci
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 08:30:31

    I, too, mostly read books written by women, a few names come to mind…Charles Dickens, Stephen King, John Steinbeck, Oscar Wilde, Edgar Allen Poe and Peter Benchley to name a few.

    Reply

  24. mrstreme
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 09:08:12

    Thanks everyone for your great responses, and congratulations to Phoebe for being today’s winner!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

