Orange Prize Giveaway #13: Coventry

Coventry by Helen HumphreysGiveaway closed. Stay tuned for the winner!

Up for Grabs: Coventry by Helen Humphreys

Your activity: Which authors have you discovered through the Orange Prize? Feel free to name more than one! Let us know in the comments below.

***

Giveaway ends at 9pm EST. Winner will be chosen randomly from those who comment on this blog only (Facebook comments will not count). I will announce the winner on this blog, so be sure to check back or subscribe (look for black “Sign Me Up!” button on top left).

Open to all participants – no matter where you live or if you’ve won already!

Feel free to play even if you don’t want to win the book. Just let me know in your comment.

Have a fabulous Monday!

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deborah F
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 19:46:49

    I’ve discovered a number of authors through the Orange Read. This year was the first year that I was aware of the Orange Prize! So embarressed! But I have read quite a few Orange’s now. Favourite Orange authors that I have discovered are Andrea Levy – Small Island and Long Song – and others… as well as Kate Atkinson – Case Histories was long listed for the Orange prize -and I’m now on my 4th Kate Atkinson since discovering her.

    Thanks so much for helping me discover the Oranges!

    Reply

  2. Prashansa
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 19:52:42

    Téa Obreht, Barbara Kingsolver, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Tishani Doshi.

    Reply

  3. Mimi
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 19:53:05

    I discovered a few authors, even thought I’ve heard of them but never read anything by them. One of those authors is Elizabeth Kostova and I’m really glad I decided to start reading her works. She’s quickly becoming one of my favourites.

    Reply

  4. Tania
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 19:57:00

    Ann Patchett – loved “Bel Canto” and have been avidly collecting all her books ever since. (Although most remain unread! When will I find time to read all the books I want to??)

    And also Emma Henderson – I was very impressed with “Grace Williams Says It Loud” and I’m looking forward to further works by her.

    Reply

  5. Kim Bal-Al
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 19:58:04

    To name the outstanding authors that I’ve discovered through the Orange Prize are Andrea Levy, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Rose Tremain, Ann Patchett, Rose Tremain, amongst others. Amongst existing favorites who I had read before I knew about the Orange Prize and once I knew about the Orange Prize I was interested to know that they had been nominees and winners were: Kate Grenville, Barbara Kingsolver, Anne Michaels and E. Annie Proulx.

    Reply

  6. Cat Scott
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 20:01:07

    The biggest one so far is probably Ann Patchett because I read both her winning novel Bel Canto and her newest one State of Wonder, both excellent.

    Reply

  7. Misha
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 20:04:01

    I discovered so many! Tessa Hadley,Nicole Krauss , Sarah Waters, Helen Dunmore, Stella Duffy and Barbara Kingsolver.

    Reply

  8. Helen
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 20:18:32

    Ann Patchett, Anne Michaels and Linda Grant.

    Reply

  9. Layen
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 20:26:12

    I can only recall Sarah Waters and Margaret Atwood right now

    Reply

  10. Ally
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 20:45:22

    First, I discovered Sarah Waters this month 🙂 I would have postponed reading her book The Night Watch”, like I did for the past one year and a half. Before her, I discovered Emma Henderson, whose book is incredible! I have read some writers before knowing they were part of the Orange prize, so i am not sure that counts 🙂
    Thanks for the giveaway!

    Reply

  11. rhonda
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 21:16:38

    ann patchett ,linda grant.Another great giveaway!!

    Reply

  12. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 21:31:18

    I have discovered Ann Patchett, Jennifer Egan, and Marilynne Robinson. Love, Love, Love Marilynne Robinson!!

    Reply

  13. Peggy
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 22:03:08

    Almost everybody: Rose Tremain!!! Jennifer Egan, Marilynne Robinson, Scarlett Thomas, Helen Dunmore – for me the easier question would have been, “What contemporary women writers did you know about before learning about the Orange Prize?”
    (Please leave me out of this drawing. Thanks.)

    Reply

  14. nomadreader
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 22:20:21

    Although the Orange Prize has prompted me to read authors I knew about prior, the memorable ones I had never heard of before their Orange Prize listing: Ellen Feldman, Attica Locke, Rosie Alison, Monique Roffey & Anne Peile.

    Reply

  15. Genny Tunbridge
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 22:42:17

    It is more a case of which authors introduced me to the Orange prize – I’d been reading many winning/nominated authors for some years (Atwood, Kingsolver, Atkinson, Tremain, Patchett, Levy, Proulx among others) without being aware of the Orange prize connection, though I was beginning to notice that some of them were being marketed with ‘Orange prize nominee’ etc on their covers. Only recently have I been paying attention to the prize more, and I think that Chimananda Adichie is the first author I have read because of the prize whom I had not previously heard of.

    Reply

  16. Debra
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 23:09:08

    I became aware of the orange prize because I was already reading Margaret Atwood and Anita Shreve. I think there must have been mention of the prize on the book cover and out of curiosity I looked it up. Once I began following the Orange Prize I discovered many new authors to love, most notably; Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Sarah Waters and Marilynne Robinson.

    Reply

  17. Terri
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 23:13:25

    Wow, lots of authors discovered via Orange Prize: Rose Tremain, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Kate Grenville, Lori Lansens, Helen Dunmore, Andrea Levy, Zadie Smith, Trezza Azzopardi, Gail Jones, Jane Gardam, Nicole Kraus, Lionel Shriver.Ann Patchett.

    Some of these have become favorites, so I’m very grateful for Oranges! Thanks for the giveaway, Jill.

    Reply

  18. Wendy
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 23:17:06

    Well, probably one of my favorite discoveries so far is Tea Obreht. But I also found Rose Tremain through the Orange Prize and Chimanda Ngozi Adichie…both favorites now. I looked at Terri’s list – and many of these are on my list too. I have rarely been disappointed in the Oranges…

    Reply

  19. wutheringwillow
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 00:28:40

    Tracy Chevalier is an author I discovered through The Orange Prize.

    Reply

  20. nulaanne
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 02:04:51

    There is Zadie Smith, and Manda Scott. I loved Hen’s Teeth by Scott

    Reply

  21. Dee
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 02:07:49

    Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Xiaolu Guo, Jane Harris, M.J Hyland, Samamntha Hunt, Nicole Krauss, Deirdre Madden, Karen Russell, Irene Sabatini and Kamila Shamsie. All authors I have enjoyed reading and heard about through the Orange prize.

    Reply

  22. tanabata
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 02:12:37

    A few of the authors I discovered in years past thanks to the Orange Prize are Ann Patchett, Helen Dunmore, Andrea Levy, Lionel Shriver, Nicole Krauss, Jill Dawson. Some really great reads!

    Reply

  23. rainpebble/belva
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 04:01:19

    Oh my goodness, there have been so many that I am just going to limit it to this month.
    This Orange July I have discovered:
    Nicole Krauss
    Irene Sabatini
    Kathleen Winter
    Attica Locke
    Helen Dunmore
    Monique Roffey
    Deirdre Madden
    Aminatta Forna
    Samantha Hunt and
    Sarah Waters.
    Of the eleven Orange books I have read thus far, the only familiar author I read was Barbara Kingsolver. I love these challenges for that reason among others.
    But what with all of you reading such marvelous sounding books I am sure that I will be trying a lot more of those I am unfamiliar with at this point.
    Good reads all.

    Reply

  24. Athira
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 04:20:22

    Many really, but the one author I love the most and might not have found if not for the Orange Prize is Ann Patchett.

    Reply

  25. Carol Wong
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 04:51:16

    Gee, I just signed up for an e-mail subscription!!!! So Helen Humphreys is the author that I have been introduced to.

    CarolNWong(at)aol(dot)com

    Reply

  26. Melissa Leeman Head
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 05:44:36

    Barbara Kingsolver and Ann Patchett are two that I love. Looking forward to reading more Orange authors and finding more favs!

    Melissa
    meland2lilones@yahoo.com

    Reply

  27. Kim Hannibal Collins
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 07:56:54

    Quite the newbie to Orange Prize…. but my dear friend shared her recommendations… Sarah Waters, Kathryn Stockett (cannot wait for the movie), Emma Donoghue, Lori Lansens and Sarah Waters. And I am proud that I already am familiar with some!

    Reply

  28. mrstreme
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 09:06:17

    Lots of wonderful answers – thanks all for playing. Congrats to Jayme for winning today’s giveaway!

    Reply

  29. BuriedInPrint
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 04:19:10

    Ah, such a beautiful novel. Here’s my favourite quote from it:
    “Maybe reading was just a way to make her feel less alone, to keep her company. When you read something you are stopped, the moment is stayed, you can sometimes be there more fully than you can in your real life.”

    You had so many terrific questions for your July!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

