Orange Prize Giveaway #15: Afterwards

Afterwards by Rachel Seiffert

Giveaway closed. Stay tuned for the winner!

Up for Grabs: Afterwards by Rachel Seiffert

Your activity: Have you ever read an Orange Prize-nominated book and wonder “How did this book NOT win?!?” In the comments below, let us know which Orange Prize nominee was worthy of the grand prize.

***

Giveaway ends at 9pm EST. Winner will be chosen randomly from those who comment on this blog only (Facebook comments will not count). I will announce the winner on this blog, so be sure to check back or subscribe (look for black “Sign Me Up!” button on top left).

Open to all participants – no matter where you live or if you’ve won already!

You can still play even if you don’t want the book. Just let me know in your comments to exclude you from the drawing.

Thanks for participating!

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Genny Tunbridge
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 19:28:19

    I’d hate to be a judge! Two of my top reads for last year were Orange shortlisted Wolf Hall and Orange winner the Lacuna. I would have loved Wolf Hall to win but it would have meant the Lacuna did not win. At least in this instance the winning choice seemed equally worthy, in my mind.

    Reply

  2. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 19:49:21

    I just finished A Visit From the Goon Squad and loved it. I can’t believe that it never made it to the short list – let alone didn’t win.

    Reply

  3. Misha
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 19:51:09

    The Observations by Jane Harris was nominated in 2007, but it lost to Half of a Yellow Sun. I haven’t read the latter, so I cannot judge. Still, I would have loved The Observations to win.

    Reply

  4. Kim Bal-Al
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 20:06:34

    The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver is one of my favorite books. It was nominated in 1999 when A Crime in the Neighborhood won. I haven’t read the winner so I can only suspect it was amazing to beat The PB. 🙂
    Also, I’m reading Burnt Shadow at the moment at that feels like it should have been winning material.

    Reply

  5. Ally
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 21:04:02

    The Powerbook by Jeanette Winterson! It only made the long list, but in my humble opinion, it would have deserved a better rank. It is so innovative and the story so powerful that it turns into one of those books you can’t really forget. (I am also planning on reading the book that won in 2001, which is The Idea of Perfection, by Kate Grenville, just to see why this one was better 🙂 )

    Reply

  6. Nicki
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 21:18:02

    Three for me: Wolf Hall, The Night Watch and Alias Grace. Just my personal preference 😉

    Reply

  7. raidergirl3
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 21:28:33

    Unless by Carol Shields and Fingersmith by Sarah Waters both made the short list but didn’t win. What??

    There are probably more that I’m surprised didn’t make the short list after being on the long list. But, if I haven’t read all the short list, it’s pretty hard to say anything!

    Reply

  8. Helen
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 21:32:09

    Gilead by Marilynne Robinson (2006). How did this book not win?? It didn’t even make the shortlist! The winner that year was On Beauty by Zadie Smith. I have read both, and Gilead was by far the superior book.

    Reply

  9. rhonda lomazow
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 22:09:44

    wolf hall still amazed it didn`t win,lomazowr@gmail.com

    Reply

  10. Terri
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 22:31:09

    Wolf Hall was amazing, but then so was The Lacuna. I think a tie would have been appropriate that year. I also think Fingersmith was a winner. I’m sure I could list a couple dozen, but those two stand out.

    Reply

    • mrstreme
      Jul 30, 2011 @ 09:04:57

      Congratulations, Terri! You won today’s giveaway! Please email me your mailing address when you have a second: jillceleste AT hotmail DOT com.

      Reply

  11. Wendy
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 22:46:21

    I’ve read two nominated books which I think were worthy of winning the prize: The Colour by Rose Tremain and The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver…both five star, very memorable, beautifully written books!

    Reply

  12. Her Royal Orangeness
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 23:28:58

    Four of my favorite Oranges – The Time Traveler’s Wife, The Electric Michelangelo. Notes on a Scandal, and The Amateur Marriage – were all longlisted in 2004. It definitely makes me curious about the books that were shortlisted in 2004, and the winner for that year. I’m thinking 2004 must have been a great year for the Orange!

    @Kim – I’ve read both Poisonwood and Crime. Poisonwood is most def the better book, imo.

    Reply

  13. Prashansa
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 23:29:57

    Margaret Atwood has been nominated for the prize thrice, yet she never won. So, it would definitely be she.

    Reply

  14. Debra
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 23:33:50

    There are a couple of books that I thought were worthy of the prize but the competition was such that I could not argue against the winner. Last year was a great example. I agree with Helen though about Gilead – definitely worthy of the prize. I would also add The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood and the Divine Secrets of the Ya Ya Sisterhood.

    Reply

  15. wutheringwillow
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 01:47:09

    Notes on a Scandal comes to mind.

    Reply

  16. rainpebble/belva
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 01:53:08

    The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna …………… I cannot grasp that it did not win the Orange Prize.
    I realize that this year’s short list was a powerhouse but out of the 4 I have read, it should have won hand’s down. However, I am thankful that I do not have to judge these wonderful books and it continues to amaze me how many 4 and 5 star reads come out of a month of Orange listed books. They must know what they are doing. But yes, The Memory of Love; a wonderful book in every regard.

    Reply

  17. Deborah
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 03:51:43

    This year I read 4 out of the 6 orange short listed books. I felt certain that The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna would win. I was very surprised when Memory of Love did not win.

    Reply

  18. Peggy
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 06:26:52

    Another vote for *The Memory of Love*! I haven’t read *The Tiger’s Wife*, but it has gotten such mixed reviews that I’m sure that the more polished novel should have won.

    Reply

  19. cscott02
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 08:22:50

    Definitely Margaret Atwood’s “The Blind Assassin!” One of my favs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

