Orange Prize Giveaway #16: The Summer Without Men

The Summer Without Men by Siri Hustvedt

Giveaway closed. Stay tuned for the winner!

Up for Grabs: The Summer Without Men by Siri Hustvedt

Your activity: Aww, the last day of July! As we bring a close to Orange July 2011, in the comments below, tell us about your experience. How many books did you read? What books did you read? Which one was your favorite? Were there any disappointing reads? However you want to state it, I am curious to read about your Orange July experience!

***

Giveaway ends at 9pm EST. Winner will be chosen randomly from those who comment on this blog only (Facebook comments will not count). I will announce the winner on this blog, so be sure to check back or subscribe (look for black “Sign Me Up!” button on top left).

Open to all participants – no matter where you live or if you’ve won already!

You can still play even if you don’t want the book. Just let me know in your comments to exclude you from the drawing.

Enjoy your Sunday!

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helen
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 18:56:14

    I’ve read two Orange books this July (Bel Canto and Purple Hibiscus) and am part way through a third (The Tenderness of Wolves). I also read two other non-Orange books. Unfortunately my reading time is always curtailed in July due to the cycling . . . Yes, I’m a cycling tragic!! *lol*

    Hard to pick the favourite between those two, but probably “Purple Hibiscus” would win by a nose. I gave them both four stars. And once I’ve finished “The Tenderness of Wolves” who knows?? But that won’t happen in July.

    Reply

  2. Deborah
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 19:22:11

    Orange July has been so much fun! Thanks so much for making it that much more fun with the book giveaways, and your interesting questions that you ask of us.

    I have read two Orange’s this July. First up was Case Histories by Kate Atkinson, which I thoroughly enjoyed!!! That has led to me reading three other books by Kate Atkinson this July – each of which I have loved!!!

    I finally got to a Canada Reads winner , also an Orange , Lullabies For Criminals, by Heather O’Neill. It was a heartbreaking read , but also a 5 star read. My orange reading will not stop because July has ended – I’ve got many more plans for Oranges-A Spell of Winter by Helen Dunmore is waiting for me!

    I suppose Lullabies for Criminals was the best of the two Orange Reads that I read this July. On the other hand, Case Histories led to 3 more wonderful , fun reads!!! 🙂

    Thanks again for the fun!

    Reply

  3. JoV
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 19:34:16

    I read two books. I read A Visit from the Goon Squad which I didn’t like and The Secret Lives of Baba Segi’s Wives was a delightful read. At the end of last May leading up to Orange Announcement though I read most of the Orange Prize Shortlist, Annabel, Room, Great House and the winner Tiger’s Wife. also read When I lived in Modern Times by Linda Grant. I think this year is quite an Orange year for me! Thanks for hosting this.

    Reply

  4. Kim Bal-Al
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 19:41:27

    I wish I’d had more time in July to read! I finished Room in no time flat- very hard to put down and I found it so compelling I just wanted to keep on reading about the characters lives. I was sorry when I got to the end but it ended at an appropriate point.
    I’m still reading Burnt Shadows- enjoying it very much.
    Both books are so different I couldn’t rate one against another. Both are excellent reads. Imagine being an Orange Prize judge and having to choose! Impossible 🙂
    I’ll keep looking at the reviews – It really is my favorite of the prizes.
    There is so much that is fantastic to read I really enjoy having the focus on Oranges in July and January. Thanks – it’s been great fun as always.
    Looking forward to reading everyone else’s comments too 🙂

    Reply

  5. tanabata
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 19:45:19

    I only read one Orange book this month (my plan from the beginning since I knew I’d have a busy month) but I thoroughly enjoyed Room by Emma Donoghue. I’d been meaning to read it for a about a year so I was glad to finally have a gentle nudge/excuse to finally pick it up. Now I wonder why I waited so long!
    Thanks for hosting Orange July! I look forward to participating more next time.

    Reply

  6. Ally
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 20:19:34

    Well, I finished “Grace Williams says it loud” and read “The Night Watch”. I wish I had read more books from the Orange List, but there wasn’t enough time, since I had already begun reading a few others. I loved GW from the start (what an emotional book that is) but the story with “The Night Watch” was different. At first I was not really into it, reading a few pages then moving to a different book, but once I passed the 100 pages, it started to grow on me 🙂 When I finally finished it, I wanted more, so I will look for other Sarah Waters books soon.

    Thanks for the giveaway! From the reviews on Librarything, this looks like a great book 🙂

    Reply

  7. Genny Tunbridge
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 20:43:14

    I read two Orange books this month: Purple Hibiscus, which I liked very much and which was new territory for me – the author and the setting were unfamiliar. The second book was The Outcast, which I’d started and got a couple of chapters into, 2 years ago, but for some reason hadn’t finished. It certainly was not hard to finish once I really got into it – but it’s a painfully tense and sad book about misunderstood grief and loneliness, I don’t know if I’d say I really enjoyed it, but it was well done.

    Thanks for organising this – it’s been fun taking part and trying to answer the questions.

    Reply

  8. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 21:00:15

    I read four Orange books – Beyond Black, Bel Canto, A Visit From the Goon Squad, and just finished Gilead. (still working on the review) Hands down I would say that Gilead is my favorite and once again can’t figure out how it didn’t win let alone make it to the short list. I felt the same way about A Visit From the Goon Squad. SO what I can conclude is that The Pulitzer and The Orange Prize have very different agendas/criteria.

    This was a great event and I already set aside my Orange books to read in Jan 🙂

    Reply

  9. Linda
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 21:18:41

    I’ve finished 3 Orange reads this month—The Giant, O’Brien; Ladder of Years; and Case Histories. Enjoyed them all very much, and discovered a new favorite author in Kate Atkinson. I’m currently reading Paradise, which won’t be finished today, but soon. Morrison is a powerful writer, but she’s not quite grabbing me with this one, and I don’t think it’s going to be one of my favorites. Orange January/July is such a wonderful way to share reading experiences–it focuses my attention in a very nice way, and has led me to a lot of books I might not otherwise have known about. I picked up a copy of The Tiger’s Wife yesterday. I may not be able to save it ’til January—we’ll see!

    Reply

    • mrstreme
      Aug 01, 2011 @ 09:08:56

      Congratulations, Linda! You are today’s winner! =) Please email me your mailing address when you have a moment: jillceleste AT hotmail DOT com

      Reply

  10. Peggy
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 21:19:38

    Lovely, Lovely Orange July!! I read *A Visit from the Goon Squad*, which I loved and *Fingersmith* which I adored. And now I’ve started *Bel Canto* which is pleasing me no end. Thank you, Jill, for organizing this. I enjoyed reading everybody’s posts and, as always, have my eye on several Oranges that had slipped through my nets.
    I’ll read Orange through the year but look forward to January!

    Reply

  11. Layen
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 21:59:57

    I read only one – The Invisible Bridge. Plenty of sad scenes to break my heart, but the story was beautiful.

    Reply

  12. Cat Scott
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 22:12:15

    I read 7 Orange July books, but my goal was to read 10. You can see which ones I read at my website, cinnajoon.wordpress.com, even though I havent written about Andrea Levy’s Small Island yet.

    My favorite was Valerie Martin’s Property, with Ann Patchett’s Bel Canto in a close second. I was most disappointed in Small Island because I’d heard a lot of goods things about the author, and the novel started out with such promise and then fizzled out by the end.

    I didn’t get to Half a Yellow Sun, The Road Home, or The Lacuna, all of which I intend to read (probably for the January Orange Prize challenge).

    This was my first challenge and I loved it. Head over to my blog in August to see how I fare with the Art of the Novella challenge!

    Reply

  13. Barbara Atkins Carlucci
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 23:42:06

    I completed 3 books- Great House, Property and Room.This is my first challenge and I, too, am looking forward to January!
    Thanks again!

    Reply

  14. rainpebble/belva
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 01:48:31

    All very interesting posts. We got to a lot of Orange reads!
    I am nearly finished with my fourteenth Orange listed book: Gilgamesh and am quite liking it.
    The others I have read this month are:
    1. Great House by Nicole Krauss (5 stars)
    2. The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver (4 1/2 stars)
    3. Annabel by Kathleen Winter (4 stars)
    4. The Boy Next Door by Irene Sabatini (4 stars)
    5. The White Woman on the Green Bicycle by Monique Roffey (4 stars)
    6. Black Water Rising by Attica Locke (I think of To Kill a Mockingbird every time I hear this author’s name.) (3 1/2 stars)
    7. A Spell of Winter by Helen Dunmore (5 stars)
    8. One by One in the Darkness by Deirdre Madden (5 stars)
    9. The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna (5 stars+)
    10. The Invention of EVERYTHING ELSE by Samantha Hunt (4 1/2 stars)
    11. The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters (4 1/2 stars)
    12. The Seas by Samantha Hunt (4 1/2 stars)
    13. The Wilderness by Samantha Harvey (3 stars)

    My favorite: A Spell of Winter by Helen Dunmore
    I have loved Orange July and really got my head into these books this month. I am convinced that the judges for the Orange Prize do indeed take their jobs seriously. Mine were all good reads and some of them were wonderful reads, a couple even fascinating. I hope you all had as great a month reading as I did.
    I did most of my reading at night in bed as this is just a very busy month for us. It worked for me. I would go early while the hubby was watching the telly.
    Thanks again Jill for an awesome experience.
    hugs,
    belva

    Reply

  15. Gavin
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 03:29:47

    After reading “The Tiger’s Wife” at the end of June, too early for Orange July, I managed to get to “The Inheritance of Loss” and “The White Woman on the Green Bicycle”. Thanks for organizing this, I look forward to Orange January!

    Reply

  16. Nicki
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 03:55:01

    I’m sorry it’s ending too. I read Small Island and thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Reply

  17. Eva
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 05:03:11

    I read 4: I planned to read at least two more but I got sick this past week and couldn’t really read anything! I’ll just read them in August. 😉 The ones I read: A Spell of Winter, The Little Friend, The Zigzag Way, and White Teeth. With the exception of the Zadie (just not my cup of tea), I loved them all! And I had great fun chatting with so many other participants on LT. This was my first time, but it won’t be my last! Thanks for organising!

    Reply

  18. Bonnie
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 07:01:22

    I read two Oranges in July but maybe I should also count Baba Segi’s Wives which I finished at the end of June? No. Oh well I read The Outcasts and the Memory of Love, which may end up being my book of the year. Just a fabulous read and, IMO should have won the Orange.

    Reply

  19. mrstreme
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 09:09:44

    Thank you, thank you, thank you! You all made Orange July such fun for me too!

    And congrats to Linda for winning today’s giveaway!

    Hugs and kisses to all!
    XOXO

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

