My Orange July 2011 Reading Wrap-Up

Orange July 2001 Books Read
What a great reading month! I am proud that I finished nine books for Orange July! As you can see from my book pile, I read an eclectic group of Orange Prize winners and nominees. Here’s the summary:

Swamplandia! by Karen Russell (review) – 4.5 stars

Great House by Nicole Krauss (review) – 4 stars

Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (review) – 4 stars

When I Lived in Modern Times by Linda Grant (review) – 3 stars

The Personal History of Rachel DuPree by Ann Weisgarber (review) – 4 stars

Scottsboro by Ellen Feldman (review) – 5 stars

The Magician’s Assistant by Ann Patchett (review) – 5 stars

The Secret Lives of Baba Segi’s Wives by Lola Shoneyin (review) – 3 stars

Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld (review) – 4 stars

And thanks to my LibraryThing friend, Darryl, I have accepted his challenge to read at least one Orange book every month until Orange January – when we do this all again! I hope you’ll join in our Orange madness! =)

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marjorie
    Aug 03, 2011 @ 23:47:03

    It was fun to be a part of the orange giveaway and I am looking forward to the next one.
    Thanks again for my book. Love your site.

    Reply

  2. nomadreader
    Aug 04, 2011 @ 03:46:28

    Impressive reading, Jill! Especially considering all the work you do hosting Orange July. I try to read at least one Orange book a month year-round too. With 20 new titles every year, it’s the only way I may ever catch up!

    Reply

  3. Risa
    Aug 04, 2011 @ 12:52:50

    WoW! That’s an impressive list! I finally managed to read the ONE book I’d kept aside for this Event. Until the very last chapter I had intended to give it a 2/5 rating. But I, at the end, I gave it a 3.

    I hope to do better next time!:D

    Thanks for such a lovely event! Although, I didn’t take part in the give-aways, I enjoyed popping in every now and then to read the updates and reviews.:D

    Reply

  4. Kinna
    Aug 05, 2011 @ 00:22:17

    Well done on both your reading and hosting Orange July. I managed to finish Robinson’s Home and Adichie’s Half of a Yellow Sun. I’m glad that I participated. I will join you for Orange January as well. Hopefully, I will plan better for that since I know about it well in advance. Thanks for the giveaways as well.

    Reply

  5. rainpebble/belva
    Aug 05, 2011 @ 13:50:35

    Wow Jill! I can’t believe that with all of your hosting duties you had time to read nine. I managed 15 but did little else during the month. I loved Orange July this year. It was very different and even inspirational for me. I finally realize what special books are listed for the Orange Prize.
    I too have accepted Darryl’s challenge to read one Orange a month and am already looking forward to Orange January. I have a tentative line up going so I will be ready.
    Thank you for all you did and the give-aways were a big hit. Good reads and a lot of fun besides. It doesn’t get much better than that.

    Reply

  6. kidzdoc
    Aug 14, 2011 @ 19:00:07

    Well done, Jill!

    Reply

  7. BuriedInPrint
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 04:25:04

    What a great selection: I’m glad you had so much fun and found time for so many Orange-reads (and that so many of them were enjoyable for you too).

    Reply

  8. Michelle @ 1morechapter
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 09:47:11

    What a success! I loved Purple Hibiscus, btw.

    I didn’t read any Oranges in July, but I just finished The Idea of Perfection and am moving on to Bel Canto. Guess mine will be in September!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

