BOOK REVIEW: The Soldier’s Wife by Margaret Leroy

The Soldier's Wife by Margaret LeroyThe Soldier’s Wife
By Margaret Leroy
Completed September 4, 2011

War has come to tiny Guernsey, an island in the English Channel that during World War II was a strategic landing site for the German armed forces.  In Margaret Leroy’s novel, The Soldier’s Wife, Vivienne de la Mare faces indecision: to evacuate the island with her two daughters, or stay there and endure the German occupation. She chose the latter – a fateful decision for her.

As the Germans settle on Guernsey, they live in houses left empty by evacuees, including the house closest to Vivienne’s property. It’s there that she meets Gunther, and as the war progresses, Gunther and Vivienne fall in love and begin a secret affair. For Vivienne, Gunther offers everything her soldiering husband does not – companionship, excitement and intimacy. However, when Vivienne’s daughter starts to help a Belorussian war prisoner, Vivienne sees war’s atrocities, and she begins to question her involvement with Gunther.

The first three-quarters of The Soldier’s Wife moves effortlessly. Margaret Leroy pulls the reader in with tales of love and survival. I was enthralled with how islanders managed some level of co-existence with the Germans, focusing on growing crops and darning socks. I was less interested in Vivienne and Gunther’s love story, which may be why I was unenthused with the story’s ending.

My main quibble with the story, though, is the title. I wonder why it was chosen for this book. In my opinion, Vivienne was not really a soldier’s wife. Certainly, her husband was away at war, but she didn’t identify herself with him. Vivienne was more a soldier’s lover, if anything, though I would have preferred a title that identified Vivienne as her own – a resourceful, caring woman who endured World War II with grace and charity. It’s this woman who is at the center of my recommendation for The Soldier’s Wife – an interesting selection for book clubs and fans of historical fiction. (  )

FTC Disclosure: This book was sent to me by the publisher for review on my blog.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rhapsodyinbooks
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 00:01:34

    Great point about the title! I also thought it provided a good portrait of life under occupation, but the love story is what got me all irritated (with Vivienne)…

    Reply

  2. ReaderWoman
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 00:42:21

    Thanks for the review – I will get the book now – I have been enamored with the history of Guernsey since the book Guernsey Literary Society and Potato Peel Pie Society came out!

    Reply

  3. Amy
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 00:59:52

    I have this book in my book stack and I’m looking forward to reading it because I’m interested in the part of the story about the Germans moving in and how the residents who’ve always been there manage to cope with the Germans. I’m not so interested in any love story but I like good characters, even ones who annoy me! This book sounds worth the effort and I’ll see what I think about it. I’m particularly interested in what I think of the title as it relates to the story, now!
    Thanks for an intriguing and enjoyable review.

    Reply

  4. bermudaonion (Kathy)
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 03:34:37

    I wonder how much input the author had into the title. The book sounds really good to me, even if the title isn’t just right.

    Reply

  5. Marg
    Sep 15, 2011 @ 21:11:33

    It is interesting that you are discussing the title. Here the book came out under the title The Collaborator so I wonder which one fits best. I have the book. I just haven’t read it yet.

    Reply

  6. nicole
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 10:00:06

    I would love some feedback on blogging and your success with it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

