BOOK REVIEW: Horns by Joe Hill

Horns by Joe HillHorns
By Joe Hill
Completed October 25, 2011

Ig Perrish’s life was hell. His girlfriend, Merrin, was raped and murdered, and though Ig was never charged, everyone felt he was guilty. Ig woke up one morning after a night of drinking to discover that he had sprouted horns from his head. And the horns had an interesting effect on people – it made people tell Ig exactly what was on their minds. Through this type of confessional, Ig discovers who killed Merrin and goes on a journey to seek revenge for her death.

Joe Hill has a great writing style – a sense of evoking good and evil in the most common of characters. I enjoyed his first book, Heart-Shaped Box, but for some reason, Horns didn’t appeal to me. The premise was interesting, the writing was solid and the characters were interesting. It just didn’t add up to a good story  – and I can’t put my finger on why. My best guess is that horror isn’t really “my genre.”

If you’re interested in reading Horns, please be sure to check other book reviews and don’t solely rely on this one.  Joe Hill can write (he has good genes), and I think lovers of horror may find Horns a better selection than I did. (  )

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. BermudaOnion
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 02:53:37

    This probably isn’t the book for me either.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

