The Orange January 2012 Giveaways

Who’s ready to win some books?

It’s now a wonderful tradition to host book giveaways to spruce up Orange January. These books are from my personal collection, and it’s my pleasure to share them with readers from around the world.

Rules and Tips:

1. Giveaways are open to all Orange January 2012 participants.

2. When a book is up for grabs, I will write a blog post about it. In the blog post, you’ll be asked to answer a question or complete a short task. Please comment on the blog if you want to be entered into that day’s drawing. Drawings close at 9pm eastern, unless otherwise noted.

3. Open to all people, no matter where you live. I ship books all over the world, from South Africa to Switzerland!

4. The books I’ve chosen for the giveaways include Orange Prize winners, nominees and books by female authors that I like. It’s entirely subjective.

5. The giveaways are all used books – hardcovers, paperbacks and Advanced Reader Editions.

6. You can win more than one giveaway.

7. Books will be shipped once Orange January concludes so I can bundle up multiple winners’ books.

8. The best way to keep track of what’s up for grabs is to subscribe to my blog. Look for the big black “Sign Me Up” button on the top right-hand side. I will post links to the giveways on our Facebook page too.

Without further adieu….


We have winners:

When I Lived In Modern Times by Linda Grant (2000)
The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver (2010)

And some shortlisters:

The Magician’s Assistant by Ann Patchett (1998)
Homestead by Rosina Lippi (2001)
Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (2004)
The Observations by Jane Harris (2007)
Lottery by Patricia Wood (2008)
Scottsboro by Ellen Feldman (2009)
Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel (2010)
Great House by Nicole Krauss (2011)

And plenty of longlisters too:

Gilgamesh by Joan London (2004)
Case Histories by Kate Atkinson (2005)
Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld (2006)
A Mercy by Toni Morrison (2009)
The Personal History of Rachel DuPree by Ann Weingarber (2009)
Swamplandia! by Karen Russell (2011)
The Secret Lives of Baba Segi’s Wives by Lola Shoneyin (2011)

Finally, other books (maybe a future Orange Prize nominee?):

Abide With Me by Elizabeth Strout
Caleb’s Crossing by Geraldine Brooks
The Last Nude by Ellis Avery
Untold Story by Monica Ali

Sound like fun? I hope so! I’ll host my first giveaway on January 1, 2012. Until then, please join us on our Facebook page, LibraryThing group and Orange Prize Project blog.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: All About Orange January 2012 « The Magic Lasso
  2. Peggy
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 21:21:55

    What a great list, Jill! I’m drooling already.

    Reply

  3. nomadreader
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 23:55:42

    Holy awesome! I’ve read quite a few of those, but I’m already itching to win quite a few too! I’m so excited for Orange January!

    Reply

  4. Ally
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 02:05:29

    What a great list of prizes! I hope I am lucky! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  5. rainpebble/belva
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 08:14:28

    I am so excited for January to arrive. I have all of my Oranges that I plan to read in 2 stacks just to the left of my computer. I am so ready to go. Oh, and of course I hope I win a book also. Even though I read “When I Lived in Modern Times” for Orange July, I read a library copy and would love to win that one. All of them sound wonderful!~!

    Reply

  6. Helen
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 10:43:29

    I’m in! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for running this again, Jill. What a great list of books.

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Looking Forward to 2012 – caribousmom
  8. Trackback: 10 Things You Need To Know About Orange January 2012 « The Magic Lasso
  9. rl (@rhondareads)
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 22:06:24

    What a great idea &giveaway .Please include me.

    Reply

  10. Kim Bal-Al
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 16:43:18

    Really looking forward to this, thanks again Jill!
    I’ve only read 3 on the list and I’d recommend them all.
    The Lacuna
    Wolf Hall
    Purple Hibiscus
    The first two are challenging reads but well worth the effort. The Purple Hibiscus, flowed off the page for me but was perhaps a bit confronting. Great books.
    Definitely something for everyone ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  11. Andi (Estella's Revenge)
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 23:09:51

    I’m in! Time got away from me, but I have some books lined up and ready to go!

    Reply

  12. Emma Johnson
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 05:52:26

    Sounds great fun, books ready to read! Thanks for organising.

    Reply

  13. Eva
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 23:48:27

    I had so much fun last July, I’m definitely in for January! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

