Orange January Giveaway #3: The Magician’s Assistant

The Magician's Assistant by Ann Patchett

GIVEAWAY CLOSED

 

Up for Grabs: The Magician’s Assistant by Ann Patchett

Orange Connection: Short List, 1998

Who’s Eligible to Win?: Anyone participating in Orange January – no matter where you live or if you’ve won a giveaway already this month. You’re also welcome to participate in the activity, even if you don’t want the book. Just let me know in the comments below to not enter your name into the drawing.

Your Activity: Ann Patchett’s new book, State of Wonder, could be a contender for this year’s Orange Prize. What books do you think will be nominated for the 2012 prize?

Giveaway closes at 9pm Eastern tonight. Can’t wait to see your responses!

31 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wutheringwillow
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 20:26:48

    I don’t know much about this topic but two of my friends have mentioned Blow on a Dead Man’s Embers by Mari Strachan as their favourite. They say that they would love to see it get nominated for the 2012 Orange Prize.

    Reply

  2. Deborah in Canada
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 20:49:38

    Well, I’m no expert, but I know that The Hero’s Walk was either long listed or short listed for the Orange Prize in the past. The author is Anita Rau Badami. She has written a fourth book which really haunted me – “Tell it To the Trees”. It’s the story of family violence in a small town in Canada. It was a powerful tale that helped one understand how an abuser can create another abuser. Really a powerful read.

    Reply

  3. Peggy
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 21:25:37

    I have absolutely no clue this year. I’m to receive a copy of *Arcadia* by Lauren Groff, whose *Monsters of Templeton* was nominated for Orange (I thought, but now I can’t find it), but it hasn’t come. I can say that I sort of hope that Stef Penney’s *The Invisible Ones* is not nominated. (I’d love to discourage the surge toward first person, present tense narration when it’s not spendidly done.) I wait anxiously.
    Jill, please don’t enter my name in today’s drawing.

    Reply

  4. Cait
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 22:01:16

    I agree with Deborah – I’d love to see Badami’s “Tell it to the Trees” nominated. I loved that book. Jane Harris’ “Gillespie and I” was also really good, and I’m looking forward to reading Ali Smith’s “There but for the”, which has been getting amazing reviews.

    Reply

  5. Regina Motarjeme
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 22:07:58

    I have no idea right now…I actually dove back into my book shelves and am re reading Prince of Tides at the moment….I am looking forward to see and read the real contenders!

    Reply

  6. Rhonda Lomazow
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 22:14:57

    Gillespie andi would be a first choice.

    Reply

  7. mimz
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 22:29:55

    I really have no idea. I don’t think I’m up to speed with the topic but I’ve read great things about “Tell it To the Trees” so I agree with the others that it might be nominated.

    Reply

  8. Tina Valdes
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 22:51:41

    I don’t know much of anything about new releases. But the one on my bookshelf I have been waiting to read is “Left Neglected” by Lisa Genova. Her other book “Still Alice” is about a professor’s diagnosis and journey through Alzheimer’s disease. I work with the elderly and it was poignant & haunting to me. I’d love to see Lisa nominated — not sure if she would qualify but very few stories have moved me quite as much as she did.

    Reply

  9. Christa @ Hooked on Books
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 23:03:39

    Great question! It’s really tough to think of which books might be good contenders for the prize. Maybe The Story of a Beautiful Girl by Rachel Simon. Also, I don’t think it’ll actually get nominated, but it would be nice to see Monoceros by Suzertte Mayr,

    Reply

  10. nomadreader
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 23:31:30

    My fingers are crossed for State of Wonder, Next of Love by Ellen Feldman, and The First Husband by Laura Dave.

    Reply

  11. Phoebe
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 23:45:18

    Although I have not read a lot this past year…believe it or not, only 12 books for me in 2011. I love Joan Didion and am looking forward to reading her latest, “Blue Nights,” which has had excellent reviews. So this would be my nomination for an Orange Prize.

    Reply

  12. Wendy
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 01:19:39

    Oh my gosh, I have no idea! Although I do not think State of Wonder will be nominated – it was a little uneven and the ending was horrible. I have There But for The by Ali Smith to read … and I’ve been hearing some great things about that book, and Smith has earned nominations in the past. Arcadia has also been getting some attention. It is too early for me to make predictions! LOL! Of course, if we are looking at 2011 releases, I would put Salvage the Bones right at the top of the list…and The Paperbark Shoe was also amazing.

    Reply

  13. Pragya
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 01:40:06

    I am not too sure, but maybe The Beautiful Indifference by Sarah Hall.

    Reply

  14. rainpebble/belva
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 02:04:39

    From a lot of chatter I am hearing, I think perhaps Next to Love by Emma Feldman who was shortlisted for Scottsboro may be a contender. Also The Sealed Letter by Emma Donoghue who has also been previously shortlisted for Room (also listed for the Booker) might wiggle in there. The others I think may have a chance are There But for The by Ali Smith, What They Do in the Dark by Amanda Coe (which is also a Virago; yea!~!), & The Mistress’s Revenge by Tamar Cohen.
    Good luck to all of the contenders they bring in. I will be excited to see the long list in March/April? (not sure just when they announce)

    Reply

  15. Heather Holt
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 02:33:09

    I haven’t read them yet but I would be overjoyed if Gillespie and I or Blow on a Dead Man’s Embers got nominated because it would give me an excuse to buy them 🙂

    I liked Penney’s new book, The Invisible Ones, and enjoyed the first person, present tense narrative so I would be quite happy if that got nominated (sorry Peggy)

    But like other people have said, I will just be excited to see whatever makes the list!

    Reply

  16. Kinna
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 04:35:30

    My vote goes to Ali Smith’s There but for the and Belinda McKeon’s Solace. Definitely, I think State of Wonder will be on the longlist since most of her books get picked :).

    Reply

  17. Ally
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 04:40:16

    This is a tough question, since we have to be aware of what’s been released the previous year and that might be tricky if you haven’t read those books, right? 🙂 I would have chosen Jeanette Winterson’s latest, but since that’s a memoir, it’s off the list, so I would probably choose what she considered as the best book for 2011, Ali Smith’s “There but for the” although I haven’t read it…
    Thank you for the giveaway! 🙂
    p.s. here’s my review for “Rape: a love story”
    http://snow-feathers.blogspot.com/2012/01/rape-love-story-by-joyce-carol-oates.html

    Reply

  18. Sally from Oz
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 05:42:15

    The story of Beautiful Girl by Rachel Simon should surely be up for nomination. Also The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern is beautifully written and worthy of an award – as to The Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

    Reply

  19. Emma
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 06:07:04

    I’m going with Elen Feldman too. Next to Love was a wonderful book and I was fortunate enough to take part in a live webchat with Elen herself. Have started reading Scotsboro and it promises to be of the same calibre.

    Reply

  20. Michelle @ 1morechapter
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 06:36:43

    I loved Ann’s Bel Canto.

    As for this year’s prize, one of the best books I read in 2011 was Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka.

    Reply

  21. Kim Bal-Al
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 08:04:09

    I also loved Ann’s Bel Canto.

    It’s the National Year of Reading in Australia so I’ve love it if an Australian won.
    Although, I haven’t read these books yet.
    I’m sure there are others but these two I’m interested in.
    Sarah Thornhill by Kate Grenville
    Caleb’s Crossing by Geraldine Brooks

    Reply

  22. MJ
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 08:21:39

    I’m rooting for Tayari Jones’ SILVER SPARROW or Martha Southgate’s THE TASTE OF SALT. Both were very, very good – better than last year’s winner, in my opinion.

    Reply

  23. Tania
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 08:40:37

    I’m with Kim, and I’m going to nominate a couple of Australian works for hopeful inclusion in the longlist!

    Peggy Frew’s “House of Sticks” – a wonderful and honest depiction of early motherhood (really took me back!), with a great creepy plot.
    Favel Parrett’s “Past the Shallows” – angsty dysfunctional family stuff (not my usual genre of choice), but a serious cut above the average.

    Both are first books as well, and I’m looking forward to further writing by both these women.

    Reply

  24. Bonnie
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 08:47:05

    I’d love to see Mari Strachan get nominated. I loved her “The World Hums in B Flat” and am looking forward to her new one. I don’t see “State of Wonder” getting nominated. Once again, implausible ending.

    Reply

  25. Bonnie
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 08:48:52

    I forgot to say not to enter me for this one Jill as I already own it.

    Reply

  26. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 08:55:00

    I don’t have a clue but I liked Once Upon a River by Bonnie Jo Campbell and The Year We Left Home by Jean Thompson both have been National Book Award Finalists. I adore Ali Smith and would love to see her win.

    Reply

  27. Buried In Print
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 09:33:26

    I hope Pauline Holdstock`s Into the Heart of the Country is nominated; what she illuminates about the effect of the Englishmen and their fur-trading activities on the aboriginal women in what-is-now-Western-Canada is a story worth telling and reading.

    Maria Endicott’s The Little Shadows is also a terrific tale of three sisters’ experience of life on the vaudeville stage; had those characters been male it would have been a completely different sort of story indeed.

    I also think Alice Hoffman’s The Dovekeepers is worthy of note, and I’ve just started Maria Duenas’ The Time in Between, so I can’t say for sure about that one, but maybe someone else has read further in it and might know whether it’s Orange-worthy…

    (Please don’t enter me: I’m a big Patchett fan, so I’m all set.)

    Reply

  28. mrstreme
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 10:05:01

    Big congrats to Pragya for winning today’s giveaway!

    Reply

  29. Peggy
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 10:42:25

    (Heather, I’m delighted that you enjoyed *The Innocent Ones*!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

