Orange January Giveaway #4: Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld

Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld

GIVEAWAY CLOSED

Up for Grabs: Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld

Orange Connection: Long List, 2006

Who’s Eligible to Win?: Anyone participating in Orange January – no matter where you live or if you’ve won a giveaway already this month. You’re also welcome to participate in the activity, even if you don’t want the book. Just let me know in the comments below to not enter your name into the drawing.

Your Activity: What book that was assigned to you in high school or college did you enjoy the most? Tell us in the comments below!

Giveaway closes at 9pm Eastern. Thanks for playing!

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ally
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 20:54:41

    It definitely has to be The Catcher in the Rye, by Salinger. I fell in love with the book and the author, and I have read about “Prep”, which seems related to the same struggle and insecurities that Holden has to face.
    Thank you for the giveaway!

    Reply

  2. darklecat
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 21:04:06

    Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy, I loved the heroine’s name (Bathsheba Everdene), and even though its probably not my favourite Hardy novel now (Return of the Native is), I think it led me into reading him when I probably wouldn’t have (or not for many a long year).

    Reply

  3. Phoebe
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 21:17:43

    It would have to be “Brothers Karamazov” that was assigned to me in high school. It still is my all-time favorite book. The chapter where Alyosha battles between good and evil so affected me that my college entrance essay was about a battle between good and evil.

    Reply

  4. mimz
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 21:21:37

    The Picture of Dorian Grey or The Catcher in the Rye. They were one of the few school-assigned books that I actually read and liked. 😀

    Reply

  5. Rhonda Lomazow
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 21:33:01

    Jane Eyre

    Reply

  6. Martine Frampton
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 21:38:29

    I read L’Etranger by Albert Camus for french lit and I liked it because it opened up new ideas that I had not come across before but also partly because it was relatively straightforward language and it was amazing to find that you could actually read a book in a foreign language and enjoy it without having to look up every other word.

    Reply

  7. Peggy
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 21:39:17

    What a great question! I think probably *Moby-Dick* (which I assigned to myself in an independent study) was the most important book for me. As for what I enjoyed most at the time, I guess the award would have to go to *The Noise of Solemn Assemblies: Christian Commitment and the Religious Establishment in America* by Peter Berger, published in 1961 and now long out of print. What a weird child I was!

    Reply

  8. Dee
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 21:44:32

    I studied Wuthering Heights when I was sixteen and loved all that dark passion and moodiness!

    Already have a copy of Prep so no need to include me in draw,Jill 😉

    Reply

  9. Regina Motarjeme
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 22:13:34

    Wuthering Heights for sure! I loved all English litarature (grew up in the Netherlands) and had to read 40 English, 25 German and 25 French books in my senior year.

    Reply

  10. nomadreader
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 22:29:49

    Great question! In terms of pure enjoyment, I have to say Johnny Got His Gun by Dalton Trumbo. I was always a big reader, but I usually resented required reading at school because it took time away from *my* reading. With Johnny Got His Gun, however, I read ahead and could not put the book down.

    Reply

  11. Debra
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 23:01:50

    Its impossible to narrow it down to one so how about my top 3?! Number 1 has to be To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee. I have read and re-read this book at least a dozen times and love it still. Did you know this is the only book Harper Lee ever published? Talk about a one hit wonder!! Numbers 2 and 3 would have to be Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck and Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes. There are several others I really loved (A Seperate Peace) but these are the ones that provoked discussions that I still remember! Will definitely make sure my kids read these!

    Reply

  12. bonniemason
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 23:11:09

    There are numerous novels that come to mind, but the novel I enjoy most with is To Kill A Mockingbird. Required to read this novel as a freshman in high school, a freshman in college, then again in college as as adult. I experienced the story and every character differently each time I read it. It’s on my list again this year!

    Reply

  13. wutheringwillow
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 23:16:58

    I think I enjoyed Shakespeare’s plays the most. I remember reading The Merchant of Venice, Romeo and Juliet, King Lear & Hamlet and enjoying them.

    Reply

  14. Pamela Brown
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 23:27:48

    I agree that it’s impossible to choose just one, but The Great Gatsby, Merchant of Venice, Faulkner’s As I Lay Dying and just about anything by Steinbeck are at the top of my list of memorable and enjoyable novels.

    Reply

  15. rainpebble/belva
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 01:29:24

    The ones that made the most impact on my in my youth were probably The Winter of Our Discontent, Flowers for Algernon, Of Mice and Men, and The House of the Seven Gables.

    Reply

  16. Pragya
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 01:33:52

    Well, not really high school, but I enjoyed ‘The Christmas Carol’ in school. And I made myself read a lot of classics in college. Out of which I adored Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy.

    Pragya
    pragyasharma_100@yahoo.co.in

    Reply

  17. Bonnie Renzi
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 03:22:20

    I guess studying Shakespeare left the biggest impression on me especially Hamlet and Romeo and Juliet in hs. That led me to opt for more Shakespeare in college. No need to enter me in the drawing this time Jill:)

    Reply

  18. Amy
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 04:45:07

    I was an English major in college so there were so many books I enjoyed reading. I’d have to say two of my very favorites were To Kill A Mockingbird and The Great Gatsby.

    Fun question!

    Reply

    • mrstreme
      Jan 06, 2012 @ 10:12:09

      Congratulations, Amy! You’re today’s lucky winner! Please email me your mailing address at your earliest convenience: jillceleste AT hotmail DOT com

      Reply

  19. Erick Ashley
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 05:54:11

    To Kill A Mockingbird or Of Mice And Men

    Reply

  20. Deborah in Canada
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 06:18:08

    Oh no! It’s easier for me to remember the books I disliked… like Lord of the Flies. ,The Great Gatsby …. hmmm. I suppose my favourite books that I read for school would be Anna Karenina and Dickens – A Christmas Carol and The Pickwick Papers.

    Reply

  21. Kim Bal-Al
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 06:26:29

    Highschool seems like along time ago! Especially since my own kids are that age now. The Catcher in the Rye was not my thing and it wasn’t until I was 40 that I read To Kill A Mockingbird. The Great Gatsby was hugely enjoyable, I did read it for pleasure in highschool, it was never assigned to a class I was in.
    From the ones I can remember, I think I liked, or at least got into, the dystopian novels the most, Brave New World and Animal Farm.

    Reply

  22. Emma Johnson
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 07:04:46

    In high school it would have to be Nevil Shute’s A Town like Alice, Jane Eyre or Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca. In college I studied German and Russian and was swept away by Dr Zhivago!

    Reply

  23. Nicola
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 07:08:02

    Well, I loved Lord of the Flies and also Far From The Madding Crowd and 1984. Also enjoyed Shakespeare’s Macbeth and King Lear. The book which has stayed with me the most however is Robert Bolt’s play A Man For All Seasons. I do know of people who have been required to read Black Beauty and Watership Down and I have to say that had I been presented with those books I suspect I may never have made it to be a reader at all 😉

    Reply

  24. Judy Lim
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 07:10:20

    Had to be Jane Eyre. It was probably the only book studied in High School (oh so many years ago!) that wasn’t spoiled by too much dissection and discussion!!

    Reply

  25. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 07:45:44

    I will have to agree with nomadreader about the book Johnny Got His Gun. I completely forgot about that book until I read her comment and the book just came back in vivid memory. That was a great book.

    Reply

  26. mrstreme
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 10:13:08

    Congratulations to Amy from The House of the Seven Tails for winning today’s giveaway!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

