Orange Prize Giveaway #7: The Last Nude

The Last Nude by Ellis AveryGIVEAWAY CLOSED

Up for Grabs: The Last Nude by Ellis Avery

Orange Connection: None – though I wonder if it will get nominated this year.

Who’s Eligible to Win?: Anyone participating in Orange January – no matter where you live or if you’ve won a giveaway already this month. You’re also welcome to participate in the activity, even if you don’t want the book. Just let me know in the comments below to not enter your name into the drawing.

Your Activity: The Last Nude is a fictional account of artist, Tamara de Lempicka. Do you have a favorite painter or artist? Tell us about him/her in the comments below (and it’s okay to list more than one!).

Giveaway closes at 9pm Eastern tonight. Thanks for playing!

32 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim Bal-Al
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 19:09:02

    Fred Williams- An Australian abstract landscape painter.

    Reply

  2. Deborah F
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 19:23:33

    I think that my favourite and most familiar to me group of painters are Canada’s ” Group of Seven.” They were a group of artist’s who painted post- modern Canadian Landscapes back in the 1920’s and 1930’s. I had the good fortune to see them at my local Art Gallery some years ago. They are very distinctive and intriguing paintings – at least I think so!;)

    Reply

  3. Nulaanne
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 20:01:10

    M.C.Escher, His attention to detale is wonderful. I love the work called Puddle, and The Three Worlds.

    Reply

  4. Heather Holt
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 20:03:02

    John William Waterhouse – I’ve been in love with his paintings ever since some friends introduced me to the pre-Raphaelites at university.

    Reply

  5. Ally
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 20:07:19

    I am familiar with Lempicka’s work, I have read a book about her work and art, but my favorite painter/artist is Frida Kahlo. She was such an amazing, powerful woman, before being a wonderful artist and, luckily, I had the chance of seeing some of her works, the ones in the Gelman collection, together with Diego Rivera’s. I would love to win this book, thank you for the giveaway! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Linda Snyder Koons
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 20:35:03

    Waterhouse is a favorite of mine–love the detail and the evocation of another world and time…and for a completely different style, Braque, whose work sort of mesmerizes me.

    Reply

  7. szappanbubi
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 20:40:40

    My favorite ones are Gustav Klimt -I love his used techniques with the shiny gold and that everything is super-detailed on his paintings. Love the whole secession style!
    and I’m fond of Alfons Mucha’s pieces- I love his way creating attractive, charming or ingenue always faerie-like (to me:)) women on his works and perfect elaboration,too!

    Reply

  8. Rhonda Lomazow
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 20:54:59

    Frida Kahalo.Her beautiful art &her exciting life .Truly an Independent woman.

    Reply

  9. Debra
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 20:57:32

    My favourite artist without a doubt is Georgia O’Keefe. I love the vibrant colours she uses and the sensuality that exudes from her paintings. Would have loved to have met her!

    Reply

  10. Peggy
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 21:33:10

    What an embarrassing question! I don’t really have a favorite painter. I love an adore a picture here and there of this painter and that, but no one style or painter always speaks to me.
    I did see a print once of deserted Victorian houses by a painter identified as Bill Hill. I’ve never been able to find him online and certainly never able to find that particular picture. (It was in a $200 frame, and they wouldn’t take the print out to sell to me.) In my search I’ve found the evocative paintings of WIlliam Christenberry, an Alabama painter of abandoned buildings which have some of the same feeling as my Bill Hill.

    Reply

  11. Helen
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 21:43:57

    I don’t really have a “favourite” either. But if pushed, I’d say Robert Juniper, who is a Western Australian (still living) artist.

    Reply

  12. Regina Motarjeme
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 21:54:09

    I love Gustav Klimt, his famous picture “the Kiss” is one of my favorites…his use of color, his style, the expression, I love it all!

    Reply

  13. MJ
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 22:02:57

    I enjoy the work of so many artists, including Frieda Kahlo and Georgia O’Keefe. I also am a fan of Judy Chicago, based solely on her one work I’ve seen,The Dinner Party. It’s such a powerful piece.

    Reply

  14. darklecat
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 22:05:40

    My favourite artist is Barbara Hepworth – a sculptress rather than a painter – I’ve visited her old studio and gardens in St Ives, Cornwall, and its wonderful to see where someone lived and worked, and their relationship to the landscape.
    I also really like many of the artists already mentioned above, like Klimt, but also many German expressionists for their boldness and colours; and Aubrey Beardsley for his enchanting (and sometimes risque) illustrations.

    Reply

  15. Martine Frampton
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 23:26:33

    Have quite a varied taste, Antony Gormley’s Angel of the North is one of my favourite pieces of art, but am fascinated by Frieda Kahlo, who happens to be partly the subject of Barbara Kingsolver’s novel The Lacuna, a thoroughly intriguing person.

    Reply

  16. Pragya
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 23:52:11

    I haven’t really thought of it anytime, but I have seen some works by Picasso and Leonardo Da Vinci and liked them.

    P.S. I saw your review of this book and added to my TBR some time back. 🙂

    Pragya

    Reply

  17. nomadreader
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 01:17:40

    I have so many favorite artists! My first favorite though is Henri Matisse. I still recall the first time I saw his paintings in person and began to understand scale.

    Reply

  18. Bonnie
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 02:02:14

    I have many artist whose work I’ve appreciated but I guess Andrew Wyeth would be a consistent favorite. BTW Jill, The Last Nude is included in the Millions list of upcoming books to be excited about in 2012.

    Reply

  19. Phoebe
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 03:13:10

    My favorite artists is definitely Vincent Van Gogh…I think that he influenced my favorite flower choice which just so happens to be sunflowers. Have as wallpaper on my phone and iPad.

    Reply

  20. Patricia
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 03:33:37

    I’m really really keen to read this book! I love fiction about the lives of artists like Tracey Chevalier’s and Susan Vreeland’s. As for my favourite artist, I’m going to have to say Matisse. I love the bold colours and lines and I love the way he used many different media, but all his works have a unifying look. Plus, I never get tired of his collages or his goldfish painting.

    Reply

  21. rainpebble/belva
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 03:37:57

    I still love the work of Grandma Moses. And I like Claude Monet, James Christensen and Cassandra Barney very much plus many of the old masters.

    Reply

  22. Citizenjoyce
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 06:47:29

    I do love Artemisia Gentileschi, particularly Judith Beheadig Holofernes (which I was lucky enough to see at the Uffizi) and Susanna and the Elders. She really understood how to portray women.

    Reply

  23. Her Royal Orangeness
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 07:08:43

    I recently fell in love with a work that is exhibited at at local museum – Switchback by Elizabeth Murray. She carved an enormous piece of wood, and then stretched canvas over that, and then painted it. It’s wonderfully multi-dimensional and abstract and speaks to me in a different way every time I visit it. I would love to go to the MoMa to see a comprehensive exhibit of her work.

    And I adore Kandinsky and Picasso!

    Reply

  24. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 07:47:38

    Love, Love Van Gogh – his art and his writing. I have the novel Sunflowers by Sheramy Bundrick on the top of my summer TBR pile and I’m a fan of Jacob Lawrence.

    Reply

  25. changingfast73
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 08:31:59

    My favorite artist is Salvador Dali! I fell in love with his work sometime in my formative years (high school / college). I love the subjects of his work and the surreal qualities he painted so beautifully…

    Reply

  26. Vasilly
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 08:42:43

    I don’t have a favorite artist but there are a few that I really love like Frida Kahlo and Salvador Dali.

    Reply

  27. Kim Hannibal Collins
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 08:43:37

    I have to agree with changinfast73. I discovered Dali while in college in the midwest, and my dorm and then later apartment had a number of his “poster” prints. i still have them, but my husband and my kids have never embraced Dali’s art.

    Reply

  28. Genny Tunbridge
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 09:45:55

    Turner is one of my favourites – especially when the forms begin to disintegrate into swirls of light and colour.

    Reply

  29. mrstreme
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 10:05:13

    Congratulations to Martine for being today’s giveaway winner!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

