Orange Prize Giveaway #8: Scottsboro

Scottsboro by Ellen Feldman

GIVEAWAY CLOSED

Up for Grabs: Scottsboro by Ellen Feldman

Orange Connection: Short List, 2009

Who’s Eligible to Win?: Anyone participating in Orange January – no matter where you live or if you’ve won a giveaway already this month. You’re also welcome to participate in the activity, even if you don’t want the book. Just let me know in the comments below to not enter your name into the drawing.

Your Activity: Scottsboro is a riveting story set in Alabama. What are some of your favorite stories set in the American South?

Giveaway closes at 9pm Eastern tonight. Thanks for entering and look forward to your responses!

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim Bal-Al
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 20:08:43

    The Help, March and Cold Mountain. Not to mention Gone with the Wind 🙂

    Reply

  2. Pragya
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 20:14:06

    Now that you mention it, I realize I haven’t read any stories from South America. However, I have read a lot of books by Paulo Coelho, who is a Brazilian author. I am glad I would get some good South American recommendations as everyone responds here. 🙂

    Reply

    • Pragya
      Jan 11, 2012 @ 20:16:38

      Okay, forgive me, I got confused between South America and American South. And I completely forgot that I loved ‘ The Help’. 🙂

      Reply

  3. Her Royal Orangeness
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 20:26:09

    A recently-read favorite is “Kindred” by Octavia Butler, set on a plantation in Maryland. in the early 1800s. A powerful story about the horrors of slavery…with a time travel twist.

    A book I loved in my teens is “The Diary of Trilby Frost” by Dianne Glaser. Set in the late 1800s in rural Tennessee,, it’s a poignant coming-of-age story about a girl coping with friendship, love, tragedy, and grief.

    And of course I have to mention a few of the classics – To Kill a Mockingbird, The Heart is a Lonely Hunter, and Their Eyes Were Watching God.

    Reply

  4. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 20:27:42

    To Kill a Mocking bird, The Help, Saving Cee Cee Honeycut. There are so many good books set the south.

    Reply

  5. Dee
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 20:39:02

    To Kill a Mocking Bird

    Reply

  6. Peggy
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 21:23:50

    ANYTHING Faulkner! I also love Eudora Welty’s *Losing Battles* and *To Kill a Mocking Bird*. Another favorite is the extremely funny Ferrol Sams trilogy that begins with *To Run with the Horsemen*.

    Reply

  7. Regina Motarjeme
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 21:56:20

    I also loved To Kill a Mocking Bird and The Help and was also impressed by Cane River..I have never really been in the South and the stories are intriguing.

    Reply

  8. Rhonda Lomazow
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 22:02:38

    Gone With the Wind,the help!!

    Reply

  9. Helen
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 22:21:15

    Another vote for ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’. A couple of others would be ‘A Lesson Before Dying’ by Ernest J. Gaines and ‘Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil’ by John Berendt.

    Reply

  10. wutheringwillow
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 23:24:28

    I just realized how much of an Anglophile I am. Looking at my book shelves I rarely see any American books. And those that are there are almost all set in and around New York!

    I guess Gone with the Wind is the only bona fide south based book I can think of. I have got to read more American books specially those set in the south.

    Reply

  11. Amy
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 23:54:56

    I’m very excited about this giveaway as I have had this book on my wishlist since I read Next to Love last year! Great activity question, too.

    One of the best books I’ve read set in the south and which is, of course, To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. Some other southern fiction I’ve enjoyed: The Member of the Wedding by Carson McCullers; Bastard out of Carolina by Dorothy Allison; Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier; A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy O’Toole; Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt and many of William Faulkners books such as The Sound and the Fury and Light in August.

    Reply

  12. Debra
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 01:37:33

    Wow, hard to narrow it down. I have loved many – but in the interest of space!! here are a couple not yet mentioned:
    The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd
    Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistlestop Cafe by Fannie Flagg
    Prince of Tides by Pat Conroy and also The Water is Wide!

    Reply

  13. Julie
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 02:34:54

    It has to be Gone With The Wind!! I liked Their Eyes Were Watching God but GWTW is the best!

    Reply

  14. Phoebe
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 02:50:41

    So many to choose from…but I believe the first story of the south that I read was of course, Gone with the Wind, and probably still my favorite due to it being the first. I have enjoyed like so many who have commented already, To Kill a Mockingbird and Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil.

    Reply

  15. Patricia
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 02:58:37

    My current favourite is Tayuri Jones’ Silver Sparrow, a family drama about a young girl Dana who is part of her father’s ‘secret’ family. All-time favourite = To Kill a Mockingbird, for sure.

    Reply

  16. Deborah F
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 03:04:50

    The Help comes to mind as a favourite. I’m sure that there are many more, but I confess to being weary today! 🙂

    Reply

  17. Buried In Print
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 04:21:27

    Far and away, Hillary Jordan’s Mudbound is my favourite novel set in the South. Published in 2008, it spins you back in time, so fast and so completely, that it’s a whirlwind of storytelling in the most satisfying sense.

    FWIW, I re-read Gone with the Wind this past summer; I used to count it as one of my favourite novels, but I haven’t read it since I was a teenager, and, wow, was it ever a different reading experience for me this time. So if you haven’t read it since you were a teenager and are just in the habit of loving it, you might, like me, be surprised what you find, although obviously it remains a favourite of many readers, just not this one.

    (Please don’t enter me in this giveaway: thanks, anyway!)

    Reply

  18. raidergirl3
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 04:26:49

    I like the Miss Julia series, set in North Carolina, Looking for Alaska by John Green is ironically set in Alabama, The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen in N Carolina, Mudbound by Hilary Jordan, Quite a Year for Plums by Bailey White, and Charlaine Harris’ Shakespeare series set in Arkansas.

    Plus To Kill a Mockingbird and The Help.

    Reply

  19. rainpebble/belva
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 04:58:53

    Definitely To Kill a Mockingbird, Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe, Gone With the Wind but, and I know this sounds silly, I love the low-country books by Dorothea Benton Frank. They just crack me up and really relax me when I need a book to do that.

    Reply

  20. Bonnie
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 05:05:53

    To Kill a Mockingbird, The Help, Mudbound, and Prince of Tides for me.

    Reply

  21. Pamela Brown
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 06:17:19

    Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe, Confederacy of Dunces, The Help, Prince of Tides, Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil and one I didn’t see mentioned yet – All the King’s Men by Robert Penn Warren, inspired by life of Governor Huey Long.

    Reply

  22. MJ
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 07:13:10

    Hm, a couple I haven’t seen mentioned – Gin Phillips’ “The Well and the Mine,” and”The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks” by Rebecca Skloot.

    Reply

  23. Tania
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 07:28:17

    To Kill a Mockingbird, one of the best books ever!

    Reply

  24. Kim Hannibal Collins
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 08:38:34

    The Help! And of course, GWTW. Argh… i know I’ve read others but they aren’t coming to mind. Long day 🙂

    Reply

  25. mrstreme
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 10:10:20

    Congratulations to Dee for winning today’s giveaway!

    Reply

  26. Jenny
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 09:23:57

    The short stories of Bonnie Jo Campbell, and Karen Russell!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

