Orange January Giveaway #9: Lottery

Lottery by Patricia Wood

GIVEAWAY CLOSED

Up for Grabs: Lottery by Patricia Wood

Orange Connection: Short List, 2008

Who’s Eligible to Win?: Anyone participating in Orange January – no matter where you live or if you’ve won a giveaway already this month. You’re also welcome to participate in the activity, even if you don’t want the book. Just let me know in the comments below to not enter your name into the drawing.

Your Activity: It’s Friday the 13th! But let’s reverse our luck. What book(s) have you been “lucky” enough to find, thanks to the Orange Prize?

Giveaway closes at 9pm Eastern tonight. Have fun!

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Peggy
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 21:22:43

    Oh my goodness! As a Friday 13th baby, daughter of a Friday 13th baby, I have always considered any Friday 13th my lucky day. The Orange Prize has pretty much opened up the world of contemporary women’s fiction to me. I am, however, most grateful to have found Rose Tremain and especially her winning novel, *The Road Home*.

    Reply

  2. Sally from Oz
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 21:35:19

    So many! But recently The Help, Room, Purple Hibiscus, Small Wars, The Voluptuous delights of peanut Butter and Jam to name just a few outstanding books I have been lucky enough to find because of the Orange Awards

    Reply

  3. Tina Valdes
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 21:50:33

    Oooo, I have found several wonderful books because of the Orange Prize and I’m not sure where to begin. So, since I have been ‘lucky’ enough to find more than a few, I’ll just list my recent favorite — Bel Canto!! 🙂

    Reply

  4. nomadreader
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 22:21:24

    I second the ‘so many’ sentiments! From this year’s list: Repeat It Today With Tears by Anne Peale.

    Reply

  5. Regina Motarjeme
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 22:28:25

    An entire world has opened up to me via the Orange Prize and I have a long list and need to catch up with!

    Reply

  6. Helen
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 23:14:48

    Friday 13th is lucky for me too! 🙂
    A couple (from many) of the wonderful Oranges I’ve found are ‘The Memory of Love’ and ‘Case Histories’.

    Reply

  7. Pamela Brown
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 23:49:05

    I just recently became aware of the Orange Prize, so I’m catching up. My first Orange selection is The Idea of Perfection by Kate Grenville, and I’m just getting started on it. But I see from the comments above that I’ve read several other Orange novels without knowing it. All were wonderful, and I’m adding more to my TBR list. You don’t have to include me in the drawing. I already own Lottery – listened to it, read it, recommended it to my book club, and contributed a copy to our book club raffle basket.

    Reply

  8. Martine Frampton
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 23:53:37

    I have loved all the winners but will frequently pick things up just because they say they are long or shortlisted. My favourite random pickup is the Voluptuous Delights of Peanut butter and Jam.

    Reply

  9. Patricia
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 01:19:49

    2011 was a lucky year for me. I got through the whole of the longlist — a first! In that list I felt very luck to have ‘discovered’ Julie Orringer’s The Invisible Bridge, Karen Russell’s Swamplandia!, Roma Tearne’s The Swimmer, and especially, Carol Birch’s Jamrach’s Menagerie. I look forward to the longlist 2012!

    Reply

  10. Pragya
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 04:56:05

    Oh, I have to read so many. The invisible bridge is first on my list.

    Reply

  11. Deborah F
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 06:36:13

    I have found a fabulous new author, Helen Dunmore! The Siege was simply wonderful! From there I have gone on to her second story in a planned triology, The Betrayal. I have found many other wonderful authors – Andrea Levy of Small Island and Long Song, Kate Atkinson’s Case History and her subsequent novels. Lullabies for Little Criminals was a 5 star read for me. I’ve enjoyed so many Oranges and discovered other works by the same Orange authors.

    Reply

  12. rainpebble/belva
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 06:43:31

    Treasured books that I have found via my Vitamin C are:
    A Spell of Winter; my favorite Orange of all,
    When I Lived in Modern Times,
    Great House,
    The Invention of Everything Else,
    Molly Fox’s Birthday,
    The Night Watch,
    The Small Stranger, &
    One by One in Darkness.
    I have read many great books that are Orange winners or listed & I didn’t know at the time but these are the specific ones that I found through reading taking part in Orange January and July.
    Thank you so much Jill & Co.

    Reply

  13. Bonnie
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 07:50:44

    Absolutely, positively the best book I read because of OJ has got to be Kate Grenville’s Idea of Perfection. There were others that were very good, (Small Island and Case Histories jump out at me) and there were many that I read before they were named to the Orange lists (The Tiger’s Wife and the Invisible Bridge come to mind), but the Grenville book was just sooooo good (for me).

    Reply

  14. Tania
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 09:15:28

    A lot of Orange books I probably would have read whether they were Orange or not. But several recent reads I picked up *because* they were Orange, and they were all great! Sadie Jones’ “Small Wars”; Jane Harris’ “The Observations”, and Lauren Liebenberg’s “The Voluptuous Delights of Peanut Butter and Jam”.

    Reply

  15. mrstreme
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 10:13:36

    Congratulations, Sally! She won today’s giveaway!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

