Orange January Giveaway #10: Swamplandia!

Swamplandia! by Karen RussellGiveaway closed

Up for Grabs: Swamplandia! by Karen Russell

Orange Connection: Long List, 2011

Who’s Eligible to Win?: Anyone participating in Orange January – no matter where you live or if you’ve won a giveaway already this month. You’re also welcome to participate in the activity, even if you don’t want the book. Just let me know in the comments below to not enter your name into the drawing.

Your Activity: Swamplandia! is set in my home state of Florida. What’s your favorite book(s) set in your home city/state/province/country?

Giveaway ends at 9pm Eastern tonight. Look forward to your responses!

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Phoebe
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 21:08:14

    Yeah, I am first to comment! Love Floridian author, Tim Dorsey’s twistest suspense, murder mysteries. My favorite is “Orange Crush.”

    Reply

  2. raidergirl3
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 21:24:55

    Anne of Green Gables!
    I’m so lucky I live on PEI.

    Reply

  3. Deborah F
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 21:32:59

    Living in Vancouver BC, I am very fortunate to have several writers that I love that write books about Vancouver and BC.

    The Jade Peony and it’s sequel, All That Matter’s both come to mind. They are written by Wayson Choy and take place in Vancouver’s Chinatown during the 1930″s and 40’s. They both tell a lot about the immigrant experience and adapting to Canada and Vancouver.

    Anita Rau Badmi also comes to mind. She has written several books. One is titled Can You Hear the Nightbird Call. It’s the story of immigrant Indians settling into Vancouver in both the 1940’s and also the challenges of coping in Vancouver while the partition of Pakistan and India took place. She has also written an Orange Longlist book – Hero’s Walk, which I’ve yet to read.

    I can think of many more, but those are the first to come to mind.

    Reply

  4. Pragya
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 21:37:45

    I haven’t read many. 😦 But I believe it would be ‘The Namesake’ and ‘Tamas’ amongst the few I have read.

    Ooh, I have got my eyes on Swamplandia for quite some time now.

    Reply

  5. Kim Hannibal Collins
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 21:57:40

    I really enjoyed Ten Beach Road by Wendy Wax. it takes place on St. Pete Beach and involved an old house. Combines a favorite local place where i’ve spend a lot time and one of my favorite things (old houses).

    Reply

  6. Cait
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 21:59:33

    I live in Ontario, not too far from Toronto. I love Michael Ondaatje’s “In the Skin of a Lion”, which is about the building of Toronto, and the stories of immigrants at that time. I also really enjoyed Margaret Atwood’s “Cat’s Eye”, and several of Alice Munro’s short stories collections, which are set in Ontario. Recently, I read Alistair MacLeod’s “No Great Mischief”, and while most of it is set in the Maritimes, the contemporary parts involve the narrator driving to Toronto along back-roads that I have driven most of my life.

    Reply

  7. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 22:01:38

    Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier. Living in Virginia there are tons of fiction and nonfiction books set in my state.

    Reply

  8. Laurel
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 22:22:03

    There are so many great works set in FL, a place near and dear to my heart. Probably least known would be Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings’ autobiography, Cross Creek, about her time living in central FL and the inspiration for The Yearling. I would also offer up Campbell McGrath’s Florida Poems. Accessible and brilliant in capturing Florida’s spirit…

    Reply

  9. Rhonda Lomazow
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 22:40:02

    Jack finney Time &Again.A love story to NY.

    Reply

  10. Peggy
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 23:34:32

    Ummm. North Carolina. I thought *Cold Mountain* was set there, Jayme, but in fact, he goes through both places. My sentimental favorite would be *Look Homeward, Angel*, which I need to read again. And then, I love Margaret Maron’s Deborah Knott mysteries, beginning with *Bootlegger’s Daughter*, set just up the road from me in mythical Colleton County.
    Jill, don’t enter me in the drawing. I received *Swamplandia!* as a Christmas gift. Lucky me!

    Reply

  11. Helen
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 00:14:44

    Great question!

    Being Orange January, Joan London’s ‘Gilgamesh’ springs immediately to mind. The bush property where Edith lived with her mother and sister, and the guest house where she worked, are all set in an area approximately an hour from where I now live.

    Most of Tim Winton’s books are set in the south west of Western Australia. The setting for ‘Cloudstreet’ is in one of the inner western suburbs of Perth very close to where I grew up. And the coastal towns and landscapes in ‘Dirt Music’ and ‘The Turning’ are all places I know reasonably well.

    Reply

  12. Amy
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 00:30:46

    I live in the NYC area, specifically Brookley so there are many good books set here. I love Breakfast at Tiffany’s and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn. A more contemporary favorite is Bonfire of the Vanities, A Home at the End of the World and The History of Love and The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love. I seem to be drawing a blank in regards to other Brooklyn books!

    This is a fantastic giveaway! Thank you!

    Reply

    • Debra
      Jan 15, 2012 @ 02:42:52

      Hi Amy,
      Have you read Brooklyn by Colm Toibin? I highly recommend it. I love him as an author and I particularly enjoyed this book.
      Debra

      Reply

  13. Her Royal Orangeness
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 01:20:48

    I cannot think of any books I’ve read and enjoyed that were set in Ohio. However, Michael Cunningham was born in Ohio and I loved his book “The Hours.” One of these days I need to read Toni Morrison, who is from a city about 20 minutes from where I live.

    (And an interesting factoid: the writer behind the pseudonym Pittacus Lore (author of “I Am Number Four”) is from the town that borders the town where I grew up. I interviewed him for a feature story when I worked at the local paper. A friend of mine even went to high school with him!)

    Reply

  14. Julie
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 02:10:25

    Being an Oxfordshire resident here in England my choice would have to be Lark Rise to Candleford by Flora Thompson.

    It is in part autobiography, part historical documentary and part social commentary.Some may know it as a wonderful TV series which extended the stories within the book but retained the Oxfordshire setting. We have had lunch in the village, named Fringford which celebrates links with the book and even walked around the country lanes of Queenie, Edmund and Laura (Flora) herself!

    Reply

  15. Patricia
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 02:32:18

    I live in North Vancouver and really loved Hey Nostradamus by Douglas Coupland and Zsuzsu Gartner’s short stories, Better Living Through Plastic Explosives.

    Reply

  16. Kinna
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 04:24:09

    I live in Accra, Ghana. My current favorite book set here is Mr. Happy and the Hammer of God. Thanks for the giveaway.

    Reply

  17. regina
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 05:15:32

    I live in Colorado and loved James Michener’s Centennial, but I am Dutch and love Dutch literature, specifically Harry Mulish (Discovery of heaven).

    Reply

  18. Terri
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 05:45:34

    Oh, this book is on my list! I’d have to say The River Why is my favorite Oregon book.

    Reply

  19. Vasilly
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 05:48:40

    I live in Southern California and I think my favorite is probably Literacy and Longing in LA by Jennifer Kaufman. I love it more for the characters than I do for the setting. 😉

    Reply

  20. Debra
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 06:37:26

    The Long Song by Andrea Levy and From Harvey River by Lorna Goodison – both set in Jamaica! I also have to claim Small Island by Andrea Levy (one of my all time favourite books!) since the story starts out in Jamaica.

    Reply

  21. Millie Roglitz
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 07:59:07

    Would love to win Swamplandia

    Reply

  22. rainpebble/belva
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 07:59:52

    Snow Falling on Cedars is probably my favorite book set in my home state of Washington. I love David Guterson’s writting. He writes so descriptively that it is so easy to see and feel like you are in the place he is writing about. Lucky us.

    Reply

  23. Tania
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 09:50:23

    First book that springs to mind that is set in Sydney and a thumping good read is “The Women in Black” by Madeleine St John. It’s set in a large department store one hot sweltering summer in the 1960s. Light, but not frothy.

    Reply

  24. mrstreme
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 11:50:08

    Congratulations to Debra from Jamaica for winning today’s giveaway!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

