Orange January Giveaway #12: Gilgamesh

Gilgamesh by Joan LondonGIVEAWAY CLOSED

Up for Grabs: Gilgamesh by Joan London

Orange Connection: Long List, 2004

Who’s Eligible to Win?: Anyone participating in Orange January – no matter where you live or if you’ve won a giveaway already this month. You’re also welcome to participate in the activity, even if you don’t want the book. Just let me know in the comments below to not enter your name into the drawing.

Your Activity: Today is my 13th wedding anniversary! Today’s giveaway is a love story of sorts. What’s your favorite love story (stories)?

Giveaway ends at 9pm Eastern tonight. Have a “lovely” day!

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deborah F
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 20:29:29

    Happy Anniversary, Jill! I hope you have a wonderful day! Asking me what my favourite love story is a difficult question -because I rarely read a love story! Gasp! I read a lot books which have love as sideline. I guess I’ll go with Jane Eyre, which I read in my ” salad days”. LOL!

    Reply

  2. nomadreader
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 20:51:13

    Happy anniversary, Jill! Even though it’s far from the most romantic, my favorite love story is American Wife by Curtis Sittenfeld. I think it’s a beautiful portrait of a realistic marriage, and it made me better understand marriage.

    Reply

  3. Debra
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 21:19:48

    Hmmm. I had to think about this one because I don’t seek out love stories but I thought of The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. It’s perhaps not a classic love story but is definitely a story of true love.
    H

    Reply

    • Debra
      Jan 17, 2012 @ 21:21:52

      Ooops, sorry that posted itself before I had a chance to sign off and say “Happy Anniversary Jill!!”

      Reply

  4. Peggy
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 21:21:27

    Happy Anniversary again, Jill! Celebrate!
    My favorite love story would have to be my own, followed by my parents’. Of literary loves I’ll join Deborah with *Jane Eyre* and add that of Elizabeth Bennett and Mr. Darcy as sentimental favorites. Thanks for the tip about *American Wife*, nomadreader.
    Don’t put me in today’s drawing, please. I just scored a lovely copy of *Gilgamesh* from PBS!

    Reply

  5. Tina Valdes
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 21:32:56

    Happy Anniversary Jill (& hubby!!). I hope it is a wonderful one! 🙂

    I love all sorts of love stories — in many different genres. I have to say probably my all time favorite love story is also a tragedy ~ Romeo and Juliet. This was probably my first love affair with love affairs (I discovered Shakespeare in high school and fell head over heels in love with “The Bard”) and may explain why I now favor a happy ending!

    Reply

  6. Pragya
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 21:52:30

    Happy Anniversary!! I love love stories! 😀

    I loved P.S. I love you and The Gift of the Magi is a favorite.

    Reply

  7. darklecat
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 21:55:40

    Happy anniversary!
    I love The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger, as already mentioned by someone else, also Posession by A. S. Byatt – although its been a while since I read it, I know there is a love story within it (or is it 2!), and then there is The Bridge Across Forever by Richard Bach.

    Reply

  8. Kinna
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 22:02:32

    Happy Anniversary, Jill.
    My favorite love stories are in a collection called African Love Stories. I will read my first Austen this year and so perhaps I will add to the list of favorites. Thanks for the giveaway.

    Reply

  9. Laura
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 22:10:25

    My favorite Orangey love story is The Idea of Perfection, with its two older, quirky characters. And I love Jane Austen’s Persuasion too!

    Reply

  10. Martine Frampton
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 22:28:50

    Hi and Happy Anniversary.
    Agree with Laura, have just this minute (quite literally) finished The Idea of Perfection and loved it but have to say my favourite love story is The Bridges of Madison County, confess this is based on the film not the book, which I hope to get around to reading too.

    Reply

  11. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 22:31:03

    Happy Anniversary, Jill.
    This was really a tough question to answer. I would have to say Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte.

    Reply

  12. MJ
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 23:50:10

    Happy Anniversary!

    Wow, this is a tough question. I was looking over a list of books I’ve read recently and realized I don’t read many love stories. If I have to choose, though, I thought Dona Flor and her Two Husbands was very charming.

    Reply

  13. Wendy
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 00:32:53

    Happy Anniversary, Jill! Hmmmmm, love stories – I don’t read a lot of romance, but I guess one of my favorite love stories would be that between Miss Cloris and Miss Helen in Beth Kephart’s book You Are My Only – this story within the story was a sensitive, beautifully told tale of love between two women characters. Although they are secondary characters, they were my favorite characters of the book.

    Reply

  14. Phoebe
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 00:52:17

    Gone with the Wind, second choice would be The Outlander series

    Reply

  15. Bonnie Renzi
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 01:19:37

    Happy anniversary to you and your hubby Jill! I guess mine would be a story of love never to be in Edith Wharton’s The Age of Innocence. I know, kind of a dark choice. I could also go with Persuasion and The Idea of Perfection.

    Reply

  16. Ally
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 02:01:31

    Happy anniversary! 🙂 may you be even happier 🙂
    I love reading about love, but my favorite book/love story has to be “The Passion”, by Jeanette Winterson. I have read it three times and I am overwhelmed every time I do that. Also, I have recently read “The Orange Girl” 🙂 by Gaarder and I was amazed at the beauty of the love story presented in the novel… A must read!

    Reply

  17. Kathryn Wright
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 03:04:32

    Happy 13th Anniversary Jill & hubby!

    I love love stories! I probably have to many favorites to list, but agree with “Gone With the Wind”, The Outlander series, “The Time-Traveller’s Wife”, “The Bridge Across Forever”, “Jane Eyre”, and also “The Notebook”. 🙂

    Would love to be entered in the draw. I’ve been wanting a copy of “Gilgamesh” and have the original Persian “Gilgamesh” to read as well! 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Reply

  18. Patricia
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 04:41:43

    Happy Anniversary! I am going to take this opportunity to be a big cheese ball and say that my favourites are The Notebook and a non-fiction love story called Kingdom of the Film Stars about a British woman living in England having a long-distance love affair with a Jordanian of Bedouin descent. Love it.

    Reply

  19. rainpebble/belva
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 04:50:53

    Happy Anniversary Jill; may you have many more.
    My favorite love story would have to be Dr. Zhivago. Even though a politically driven book it is a beautiful story of love.

    (Please do not enter me in the drawing as I already have and have read Gilgamesh. I hope whoever wins loves it as I did. I believe it was a 4 1/2 * read for me. Thanx)

    Reply

  20. Kim Bal-Al
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 06:15:56

    Happy Anniversary Jill! Hope you have a special day and many more to come.
    I read this recently, one I’d recommend but please don’t enter me.
    “Out of Africa” comes to mind at the moment, something very romantic about the whole book, I’ve been thinking about a re-read of it.

    Reply

  21. Citizenjoyce
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 07:19:49

    I didn’t see this as a love story at all, unless you mean love of life. Like “Out of Africa” it shows a woman who expresses love for humanity and her place in it – that’s a love story worth reading.

    Reply

  22. Kim Hannibal Collins
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 09:55:00

    Diana Gabaldan’s Outlander series. through time travel, Claire finds true love twice. Once in the 1900’s and the other in the 1700’s. And she gets to go back and forth.

    Reply

  23. mrstreme
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 10:04:06

    A hearty congratulations to Laura for winning today’s giveaway!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

