Orange January Giveaway #13: The Observations

The Observations by Jane HarrisGIVEAWAY CLOSED

Up for Grabs: The Observations by Jane Harris

Orange Connection: 2007, Short List

Who’s Eligible to Win?: Anyone participating in Orange January – no matter where you live or if you’ve won a giveaway already this month. You’re also welcome to participate in the activity, even if you don’t want the book. Just let me know in the comments below to not enter your name into the drawing.

Your Activity: Do you like ghost stories? Tell about your favorite book(s) that feature a ghost (real or imagined).

Giveaway ends at 9pm Eastern tonight. Boo!

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laurel
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 21:18:26

    Beloved! Is she real or not? I’ve read that book so many times and I still can’t figure it out.

    Reply

  2. Linda Snyder Koons
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 21:23:32

    The Other, by Thomas Tryon. Best creepy scary story I’ve ever read.

    Reply

  3. Nicki
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 21:24:45

    I’m not really one for ghost stories but I do like A Christmas Carol. Aside from that I think the only one I’ve read is Susan Hill’s The Woman in Black.

    Reply

  4. regina
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 21:47:21

    Ghost stories would not be my first choice, but I am always up for a challenge and love any kind of historical novel!

    Reply

  5. Pragya
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 22:04:30

    I don’t normally read ghost stories but I did like Wuthering Heights.

    Reply

  6. Peggy
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 22:27:58

    Oh, yes! I love ghost stories! My winner is “The Turn of the Screw”!!
    I don’t need to be in this drawing either, Jill. Good luck, everybody else!

    Reply

  7. Helen
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 22:30:19

    A Christmas Carol and Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book.

    Reply

  8. rl (@rhondareads)
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 22:34:46

    Turn of the screw!!

    Reply

  9. Debra
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 23:42:27

    I love ghost stories! The most recent one I have read would be The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters. It was on the 2010 Orange Prize longlist.

    Reply

  10. nomadreader
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 00:12:02

    I don’t seek out ghost stories or identify them as a genre (sub-genre?) I adore, but I have thoroughly enjoyed several of them. When goes stories go literary, I’m usually up for them!

    Reply

  11. Becky
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 00:14:03

    Ghost stories scare me, but I loved The Little Stranger. This one sounds good too!

    Reply

  12. Muriel (@manicmuriel)
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 00:57:55

    I’m not sure I’ve ever read a ghost story, but I’m willing to give anything a go (as long as all the lights are on)!!!

    Reply

  13. Amy
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 01:38:56

    I don’t seek out ghost stories but I have read A Christmas Carol, Wuthering Heights and Villette had a few scenes with a supposed ghost!

    Reply

  14. Patricia
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 02:36:10

    I will always have a soft spot for Bod Owen’s family in The Graveyard Book.

    Reply

  15. Citizenjoyce
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 02:52:11

    I love Affinity by Sarah Waters. It’s a good depiction of women in Victorian England of various classes and levels of priviledge and oppression.

    Reply

  16. rainpebble/belva
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 03:29:44

    The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters, A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens, Beloved by Toni Morrison & The Ghost and Mrs Muir by R.A. Dick to name a few. I also liked The Other by Thomas Tryon which I read just because the author (& actor) was so damned good looking!~! 😉

    Reply

  17. Kim Bal-Al
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 05:19:54

    The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters is the only one that comes to mind at the moment. I couldn’t put it down.

    Reply

  18. Ally
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 05:40:44

    I cried while reading Beloved, so this is definitely worth mentioning 🙂

    Reply

  19. Pamela Brown
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 06:01:41

    Beloved is a wonderful book, and in The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold the main character isn’t exactly a ghost but is watching over her family and narrating the story after her own murder. Then there’s Lasher by Anne Rice with Uncle Julien haunting members of his family – creepy but fascinating at the same time.

    Reply

  20. Tina Valdes
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 06:56:13

    I love a good ghost story! Actually, anything creepy really 🙂

    I loved “The Lovely Bones” and have a fun mystery series that I like where the sleuth is a ghost. I read a creepy ghost story for an online book club at Halloween called “heart shaped box.”

    My newest ghost story is more along the spirit lines – “The Haunting of Hill House”. Just realized that’s a looong answer to your question 🙂

    Reply

  21. Kim Hannibal Collins
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 07:27:01

    Hmmmm… I love books with witches in them. Cannot think off the top of my head any recent books about ghosts. Looking at other’s comments, I’ve enjoyed “The Lovely Bones” and read “The Haunting of Hill House” during one of my college classes: Gothic Horror. I am taking notes of other books that folks have shared. Thanks!

    Reply

  22. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 07:53:54

    Love ghost stories, but tend to only read them in October. Love The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman and The Restorer by Amanda Stevens.

    Reply

  23. Tania
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 09:01:11

    Ghost stories make me jump, but it’s a rather delicious thrill. I have to say “YES!” to almost everything above, I didn’t realise I’d read so many ghost stories! 🙂

    Susan Hill’s “The Small Hand”, and “The Woman in Black”. Gaiman’s “The Graveyard Book”. “A Christmas Carol”, just read that one! “The Little Stranger” and “Affinity” by Sarah Waters. And, it’s definitely not Orange, but I had to sleep with the lights on for a while after reading “Heart Shaped Box” by Joe Hill.

    And a childhood favourite: “The Ghosts of Motley Hall” by Richard Carpenter (and all the ghosts in Harry Potter!).

    I’ve already read “The Observations” (and it was great!) so please don’t enter me in the draw. Thanks!

    Reply

  24. MJ
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 09:02:28

    I like ghost stories, but I haven’t really read that many. I prefer them while on a dark walk through a haunted old town – like Savannah or St. Augustine.

    Reply

  25. Phoebe
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 09:11:59

    I love ghost stories and one of my recent favorites was “The Tale of Halycon Crane” by Wendy Webb

    Reply

  26. mrstreme
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 10:05:04

    Congratulations to Becky for winning today’s giveaway!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

