Orange January Giveaway #14: The Personal History of Rachel DuPree

The Personal History of Rachel DuPree by Ann Weisgarber

GIVEAWAY CLOSED

Up for Grabs: The Personal History of Rachel DuPree by Ann Weisgarber

Orange Connection: Long List, 2009

Who’s Eligible to Win?: Anyone participating in Orange January – no matter where you live or if you’ve won a giveaway already this month. You’re also welcome to participate in the activity, even if you don’t want the book. Just let me know in the comments below to not enter your name into the drawing.

Your Activity: Tell us about your Orange January experience so far. What books have you read? What books do you still plan on reading?

Giveaway closes at 9pm Eastern tonight. Have a great Friday!

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary McKennell
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 19:16:30

    Working on Amy Tan’s “Bonesetter Daughter” and have introduced two friends to her writing.

    Reply

  2. Helen
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 19:17:56

    Not got far yet, but just beginning Fugitive Pieces now.

    Reply

  3. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 19:22:45

    I read The History of Love which was very good, but have been struggling with The Tiger’s Wife for about a week and a half. I like the book, but can’t seem to read very much of it at one time – the book is just full of despair. I think I’m going to put it aside and start reading A Spell of WInter.

    Reply

  4. Deborah F
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 20:19:22

    My Orange January has been wonderful!! I discovered a new favourite author by reading my short listed Orange ” The Siege” by Helen Dunmore. From there I had to read the sequel by Helen Dunmore, ” The Betrayal.”.

    Now I am nearly finished a wonderful book by Anita Rau Badami, ” The Hero’s Walk”. She is an author I was already familiar with, but the novel is most enjoyable!

    Reply

  5. Deborah F
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 20:20:18

    Oh- and ” Hero’s Walk” is short or longlisted Orange -forgot that bit!:)

    Reply

  6. Ally
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 20:56:26

    I finished “Oates’s “Rape: a love story” and I am halfway into Small Island, but I haven’t managed to read anything this week, due to some incredibly hectic schedule at school… I do hope to finish it this month 🙂

    Reply

  7. Peggy
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 21:14:57

    I had an absolutely marvelous beginning to my Orange January with *Fall on Your Knees*, Ann-Marie MacDonald’s mammoth story of a family living on Cape Breton Island in Nova Scotia. I followed that with Dierdre Madden’s short but beautiful *Molly Fox’s Birthday*. Now I’m reading *The Tiger’s Tale*, and like Jayme, I’m struggling a bit. I will be happy to have read it when I finish, but I’m one for whom it isn’t working very well. I’ll end OJ by reading New Writers nominee Lauren Groff’s new *Arcadia*.

    Reply

  8. Linda Snyder Koons
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 21:33:25

    The only Orange read I’ve completed this month is Beyond Black, by Hilary Mantel. I enjoyed it, but can’t rave about it, and I know it really did not appeal to a couple other participants. I just finished Housekeeping by Marilynne Robinson, which wasn’t an Orange nominee, but really should have been. I loved it, as I have loved both of her other novels, Gilead and Home (which won the Orange prize). Now I’ve started Swamplandia!, which will probably be my only other Orange book this month. As usual, my intentions exceed my capabilities.

    Reply

  9. Tina Valdes
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 22:14:34

    So far this month, I’ve read “Amy and Isabelle”, “Bel Canto”, “The Weight of Water” – via audiobook, and “Prep.” I am currently reading “The Book of Fires.” This has been great fun!! I especially love reading other people’s experiences and thoughts on the Oranges!

    My Orange experience would only be better if I could win one of these dang giveaways 😉 Kidding!!

    Reply

  10. rl (@rhondareads)
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 22:18:28

    I`ve read The Seige ,Bel canto Gilead &home.

    Reply

  11. Phoebe
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 23:45:15

    I had to first read “Unaccustomed Earth” for reading group, which isn’t an Orange. But I am currently reading “The Siege” and still would like to get two more Oranges read in January…have “American Wife,” and “Electric Michaelangelo” on the night stand.

    Reply

  12. Kinna
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 23:50:36

    I finished reading The History of Love yesterday; I really liked the book. Lots of stuff to talk about in my forthcoming review. Now, I’m wondering if I can squeeze another book in before the end of the month, given my other commitments, or whether I should wait till July? Can I wait till July? Decisions, decisions… Yeah, my experience so far has been good.

    Reply

  13. regina
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 00:04:50

    I have read none, it is time I get started!

    Reply

  14. Patricia
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 01:25:47

    I am partway through Amy Tan’s Hundred Secret Senses (1996 shortlist) and am entranced. I should’ve mentioned it as part of the ghost contest the other day. I’m reading it more slowly now that I’m close-ish to the end (the girls are in China) because I don’t want it to finish.

    Reply

  15. Pragya
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 05:04:29

    None as of now but I plan to read American Life by Curtis Sittenfeld.

    Reply

  16. rainpebble/belva
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 05:32:50

    Thus far I have only read 6 but I have taken time out for a couple of group reads as well. The Vitamin C that I have read this Orange January include:
    Larry’s Party by Carol Shields, (4 1/2*); winner 1998,
    A Crime in the Neighborhood by Suzanne Berne, (3 1/2*); winner 1999,
    Property by Valerie, (4*); winner 2003,
    We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver, (5*); winner 2005,
    Bel Canto by Ann Patchett, (4*); winner 2002, and
    Small Island by Andrea Levy, which I am halfway through at the moment and loving it.
    I plan to yet read: The Tiger’s Wife, (my R/L B/C read as well), The Idea of Perfection, The Road Home, (a 2nd attempt), and On Beauty.
    I may not make it but if I can complete them all I will have read all of the Orange Winners. Orange January and Orange July are always wonderful experiences for me.

    Reply

  17. Tania
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 06:08:26

    Only one Orange read, the excellent “Voluptuous Delights of Peanut Butter and Jam”, but I’m hoping to also read Siri Hustvedt’s latest, “The Summer Without Men” and that may be nominated this year! 🙂

    Reply

  18. MJ
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 06:11:19

    The only one I’ve read so far is Swamplandia!, but I picked up Alias Grace from the library today and plan on starting it in the next day or so. It’s been fun so far!

    Is there a place we should be posting our reviews, or is our participation on the honor system?

    Reply

  19. Amy
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 06:25:22

    Right now I’m reading Molly Fox’s Birthday by Deidre Madden and Digging to America by Anne Tyler. I’m hoping to read Sarah Water’s The Night Watch when I finish these two. Maybe Arlington Park and Prep (thank you, Jill!). I’m not sure but there are many Orange books I want to read!

    Reply

  20. raidergirl3
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 06:33:50

    I’ve read 2. The Giant O’Brien by HIlary Mantel, and Black and Blue by Anna Quindlen, both longlisted books from the late 90s. I am in the middle of Tenderness of the Wolves now. I”m noping to squeeze in Old Filth before the end, but that may just be me being very ambitious!

    Reply

  21. mrstreme
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 10:31:25

    Congratulations to Tina for winning today’s giveaway!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

