Orange Prize Giveaway #16: Caleb’s Crossing

Caleb's Crossing by Geraldine BrooksGIVEAWAY CLOSED

Up for Grabs: Caleb’s Crossing by Geraldine Brooks

Orange Connection: None, unless it gets nominated this year!

Who’s Eligible to Win?: Anyone participating in Orange January – no matter where you live or if you’ve won a giveaway already this month. You’re also welcome to participate in the activity, even if you don’t want the book. Just let me know in the comments below to not enter your name into the drawing.

Your Activity: Geraldine Brooks is one of my favorite writers, but she’s never been nominated for the Orange Prize. Who are some of your favorite female writers who have never been nominated (but would be eligible)?

Giveaway ends at 9pm Eastern tonight. Have a great Monday!

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Phoebe
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 19:51:01

    I believe Mary Doria Russell has never been nominated. One of my favorite books is still “The Sparrow.”

    Reply

  2. Kim Bal-Al
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 19:54:07

    I’m really enjoying “Foals Bread” by Gillian Mears, I don’t think she has been nominated and Heather Rose who wrote “The Butterfly Man”, which was a wonderful read.
    I’d love to win this one Geraldine Brooks is a favourite author of mine too!

    Reply

  3. Her Royal Orangeness
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 20:37:12

    This book has been on my radar forever. I adored “Years of Wonders” by Brooks.

    Authors I think deserve an Orange nomination? Oh, so many! Helen Humphreys, Monique Truong, Clare Morrall, Joan Barfoot, Aimee Bender, Elizabeth Hay…

    Reply

  4. Helen
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 20:39:36

    I’d have to agree with Kim regarding Gillian Mears. Love her writing.

    Reply

  5. Deborah F
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 20:53:18

    A couple of writers come to mind – Helen Humphreys , – Afterimage, Coventry, The Re-Invention of Love , as well as Ami McKay, The Birth House and The Virgin Cure.

    Reply

  6. Linda Snyder Koons
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 21:24:09

    I’m very surprised that Louise Erdrich has never been nominated.

    Reply

  7. Peggy
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 21:27:00

    I can’t add anybody new, but Mary Doria Russell and Louise Erdrich certainly spring to mind. I thought that Helen Humphreys had been nominated (I can’t think which book ), but if not, she’s on my list too.

    Reply

  8. Pragya
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 21:29:51

    Alice Koller. I loved “An Unknown woman”.

    Reply

  9. regina
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 22:03:13

    I love Geraldine Brooks, thanks for including her. Other authors that deserve a nomination? I agree with all the names listed above!

    Reply

  10. yosephvera
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 22:51:21

    Ami McKay

    Reply

  11. rainpebble/belva
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 23:50:30

    Alice Hoffman, Tatiana de Rosnay, A.S. Byatt, her sister Margaret Drabble, and I too would love to see Geraldine Brooks on the list one year.

    Reply

  12. Rhonda Lomazow
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 00:01:09

    A.S.Byatt

    Reply

  13. Patricia
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 01:45:48

    Great question! I would definitely say Helen Humphreys and Geraldine Brooks and also Tayari Jones.

    Reply

  14. JoV
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 03:49:02

    Interesting question. Jhumpa Lahiri, many Indian women writers, Kiran Desai, Chinese writer YunYi Li, Isabel Allende now that I think about it there is hardly other nationalities women writers who are long or shortlisted.

    Count me in for the draw. Thanks.

    Reply

  15. Bonnie
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 04:59:50

    Helen Humphreys and Jhumpa Lahiri and Anita Desai, why in the world have they not been nominated??

    Reply

  16. Brenda
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 05:19:01

    Geraldine Brooks would be a good one . . . So many good authors listed above, all deserving an Orange nod.

    Reply

  17. Her Royal Orangeness
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 05:56:02

    Kiran Desai was shortlisted for “The Inheritance of Loss” in 2007. Yunyun LI was shortlisted for the New Writers Award in 2006 for “A Thousand Years of Good Prayers.” And Anita Desai has been longlisted twice, for “The Zigzag Way” in 2005 and for “Fasting, Feasting” in 2000.

    Lots of new names appearing here…I’m off to check them out! 🙂

    Reply

  18. Terri
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 06:12:29

    Louise Erdrich, for sure. Such a phenomenal, under-appreciated writer, imo. Isabel Allende, though she writes in Spanish so I’m not sure she’d qualify – ? Translations? I also love some of Elizabeth Berg’s writing and don’t think she’s ever been nominated.

    I look forward to a new Geraldine Brooks book. She’s wonderful.

    Reply

  19. mrstreme
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 10:07:01

    Congratulations to JoV!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

