Orange January Giveaway #17: Great House

Great House by Nicole KraussGIVEAWAY CLOSED

Up for Grabs: Great House by Nicole Krauss

Orange Connection: Short List, 2011

Who’s Eligible to Win?: Anyone participating in Orange January – no matter where you live or if you’ve won a giveaway already this month. You’re also welcome to participate in the activity, even if you don’t want the book. Just let me know in the comments below to not enter your name into the drawing.

Your Activity: Book light, cup of tea, reading pillow – what types of “reading accessories” are a must for you?

Giveaway ends at 9pm Eastern tonight! Have a terrific day!

33 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Muriel (@manicmuriel)
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 19:31:42

    Cup of tea and a heated wheat pillow!

    Reply

  2. Pragya
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 19:31:42

    A cup of green tea, a comfortable chair/ side of bed, silence. A piece of cake is not a must but works well. 😉

    Reply

  3. Tania
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 19:32:00

    I prefer silence when I read, and to curl up in bed. But I’m also happy on the sofa with a cup of tea and the kids playing around me. (Finally, they can leave me alone for long enough to drink a cup of tea and read a chapter!)

    Sadly, my reading glasses also seem to be a “must have” reading accessory at the moment. Oh well.

    Reply

  4. Julie
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 19:39:00

    My reading glasses, my note book and a favourite book mark 🙂

    Reply

  5. Tina Valdes
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 19:44:30

    I can read anywhere but prefer a comfy spot (recliner, etc.). I have to have my glasses as well. But my favorite reading accessory is my snuggly cuddly cat, Salem. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Phoebe
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 19:54:17

    Depends on the book as to what beverage I have…sometimes Tea for Ruby from the Savannah Tea Room for a book that I want to unwind with…Yerba mate for a thriller. I like to curl up on the coach on the cleopatra section, but also enjoy out on the lanai for some fresh air reading.

    Reply

  7. Deborah F
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 20:06:19

    I’m in the habit of reading at the kitchen table where I have a good book light. I can read pretty much anywhere, but for some reason that is my favourite place. A few oatcakes and a glass of milk make a nice accompaniment , but that must be a treat , or I’d be gaining weight while I read!

    Reply

  8. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 20:12:25

    I read either in the sunroom or on on my hammock with a light blanket and my cat, Molly. Of course in the summertime I’m by the pool or at the beach with my beach umbrella and a cool beverage.

    Reply

  9. Helen
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 20:15:51

    Just a decent bookmark and not too much noise. I don’t like scrappy bits of paper and can’t abide (or understand) it when people turn down the page corners. Ugh!

    Reply

  10. Linda Snyder Koons
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 20:21:55

    For a serious settled-in reading session, My Very Own Chair, a pencil, mini-legal pad of paper, book darts, a glass of iced tea and my dog in my lap.

    Reply

  11. rainpebble/belva
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 20:32:18

    Definitely a beverage of choice, my book & bookmark, a lamp, my tempurpedic pillow and a nice quiet room of my own.

    Reply

  12. Debra
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 20:34:38

    I have a favourite chair in the living room which is usually a nice quiet spot with lots of light coming in through the windows and this is definitely my preferred spot. I especially love it on a Sunday morning with a cup of coffee.

    Reply

  13. darklecat
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 21:00:21

    I read on the train, at my desk at lunchtime, on the couch, or in bed – I think the only reading accessary I need is a book! Though a bookmark helps.

    Reply

  14. Kim Bal-Al
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 21:04:55

    Oh, pretty much anywhere and everywhere, I do like a nice bookmark and a cuppa doesn’t hurt at all. I’ve been reading on the laptop so I’ve set myself up at the kitchen table, light streaming in through the open window, flowers on the table. Very nice 🙂

    Reply

  15. Rhonda Lomazow
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 21:18:15

    My blanket can’t relax without it and s good book.

    Reply

  16. Peggy
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 21:33:16

    I’m with darklecat: what I need is a book. If I have an actual hour or so, my preference is to stretch out on the sofa, but nothing but the book is really necessary.

    Reply

  17. JoV
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 21:54:09

    I just won’t the last time so probably I won’t be selected again, but I do love Great House and wanted to have it on my shelf! 🙂

    My reading accessory is coffee and if I’m done with 1 or 2 cups a day, the next accessory is potato crisps!

    Reply

  18. Nicki
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 21:55:49

    Blanket!

    Reply

  19. regina
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 22:10:24

    I can read anywhere, anytime, but I prefer silence and a comfy spot!

    Reply

  20. followme4ever
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 23:08:20

    Definately book light! And, a cup of tea is always a nice touch — especially on a rainy day:)

    Reply

  21. Pamela Brown
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 23:19:46

    I don’t need anything except someplace comfortable to sit and good light – my living room lounge chair, bed, car. I prefer quiet but don’t need it; I’ve learned over the years to tune out the noise of sports on TV. If I have more than a few minutes to read, a soft drink is good, too.

    Reply

  22. wutheringwillow
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 23:26:11

    I don’t really need anything special when I read. I have been known to read in extreme conditions with very little comfort. Indeed people often joke about my ability to read even in the most uncomfortable situations. The only thing I do need is a place to sit because reading while standing up is not always possible (though I have been known to do that too).

    Reply

  23. Rachel Eichmiller Rooney
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 02:29:36

    I don’t think I have a reading accessory that I “need”, but I do enjoy a quiet house and a cozy blanket. The blanket might actually be a must. I guess some kind of light is a must. I bought a lamp, and I enjoy sitting by it. It seems cozier somehow to sit next to a lamp.

    Reply

  24. Ally
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 03:27:57

    Well, I really need a bookmark I love and that I myself picked from a far away place… Then, I need a good cup of tea, preferably not black tea, since I have to catch up on some sleep, and my sofa, or a place that does not interfere with people gossiping or moving around…
    Thank you for the giveaway 🙂

    Reply

  25. Bonnie
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 03:56:12

    Must have quiet! My favorite spot is our sunroom where, obviously, lots so sun streams in and we have a really comfy rocking chair. That and a book=bliss:)

    Reply

  26. Wendy
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 04:44:32

    Oooh, I’d love to win this one!

    Let’s see – reading materials which I MUST have: a warm fire (in the winter time), a quilt, stickie notes, and my fur children around me!

    Reply

  27. Amy
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 05:39:02

    When I’m reading I have to have a pen and paper nearby and a glass or bottle of water. Other “accessories” depend on where I am doing my reading.

    Reply

  28. Michelle @ 1morechapter
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 05:40:17

    When I’m home I usually read lying on my bed or the couch, so I would say a comfy pillow. I’m able to do without if I’m out and about, though.

    Reply

  29. MJ
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 06:28:19

    No “must have” accessories – a book is all I need! Of course, a cushy sofa, blanket, and a drink of choice are always welcome.

    Reply

  30. Vasilly
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 06:54:29

    A cup of coffee used to be a must. Now, I’ll take having plenty of time instead. 🙂

    Reply

  31. Kim Hannibal Collins
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 08:04:59

    Not too much. Compfy (sp?) pants/shorts are a must so that I can curl up on the couch or pillow chair. A drink (water usually, butif reading in the bath in the evening, maybe a glass of wine). And of course, reading glasses!

    Reply

  32. mrstreme
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 10:04:35

    Congratulations to Pamela Brown for winning today’s giveaway!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

