Orange January Giveaway #18: Homestead

Homestead by Rosina Lippi

GIVEAWAY CLOSED

Up for Grabs: Homestead by Rosina Lippi

Orange Connection: Short List, 2001

Who’s Eligible to Win?: Anyone participating in Orange January – no matter where you live or if you’ve won a giveaway already this month. You’re also welcome to participate in the activity, even if you don’t want the book. Just let me know in the comments below to not enter your name into the drawing.

Your Activity: What are some of your favorite short-listed Orange books?

Giveaway ends at 9pm Eastern tonight. Have a fabulous Friday!

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather Holt
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 19:39:28

    I have quite a few favourites from the shortlist:

    Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood
    The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood (the same year as Homestead I think)
    The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver
    Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
    The Observations by Jane Harris
    Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel
    Grace Williams Says it Loud by Emma Henderson

    Reply

  2. Deborah F
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 19:50:35

    I have quite a few from the shortlist;
    The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver
    The Siege by Helen Dunmore
    Lullabies for Little Criminals by Heather O’Neill
    Annabel by Kathleen Winter
    The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna
    Grace Williams Say it Loud by Emma Henderson

    Reply

  3. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 20:46:16

    My favorites so far are:
    Molly Fox’s Birthday by Deidre Madden
    Lottery by Patricia Wood
    The Poisonwwod Bible by Barbara Kingsolver

    Reply

  4. Pragya
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 20:57:23

    Unfortunately I haven’t read a single short-listed books. Pathetic! But I loved The Help from the long list.

    Reply

  5. Dee
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 21:00:00

    My most recent favourite is The Siege by Helen Dunmore which I’ve just finished. Some other favorites are:

    Molly Fox’s Birthday by Deirdre Madden
    Old Filth by Jane Gardam
    The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna
    The Night Watch by Sarah waters

    Reply

  6. Debra
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 21:19:24

    My two favourite short listed books that did not win are Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel and Divine Secrets of the Ya Ya Sisterhood by Rebecca Wells. Last year I also read The White Woman on the Green Bicycle by Monique Roffey which I thoroughly enjoyed.

    Reply

  7. Peggy
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 21:23:51

    I’m surprised to see that I’ve read relatively few shortlist books, but here are my favorites:
    *The Poisonwood Bible*, *Alias Grace*, *Horse Heaven*, *The Memory of Love*, *Wolf Hall*, *The Mammoth Cheese*, *The Outcast*, and *Old Filth*.

    Reply

  8. Phoebe
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 21:37:31

    I actually have read quite a number of short listed Orange Prize books (some quite frankly I have liked better than the winner). In no particular order, my faves are “Wolf Hall,” “The Outcast,” “The History of Love,” “The Blind Assassin,” and “White Teeth.”

    Reply

  9. Laura
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 21:56:07

    My top-rated shortlisted books (both 5-stars) are:
    The Poisonwood Bible
    The Memory of Love

    I also loved (4.5-stars):
    Purple Hibiscus
    Wolf Hall
    The Outcast
    The Siege
    The Colour
    When we Were Bad

    Reply

  10. Patricia
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 22:53:24

    Annabel… Grace Williams Says It Loud… The Poisonwood Bible… White Teeth… Ladder of Years… Arlington Park… The Siege… Hundred Secret Senses… so many!

    Reply

  11. Michelle @ 1morechapter
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 23:16:55

    This sounds like a good book!

    I have 3 favorites from the shortlisted titles that I’ve read:

    Unless by Carol Shields
    The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver
    Purple Hibiscus by Adichie

    Reply

  12. regina
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 23:17:06

    I don’t think I have read any on the short list…I better get started!

    Reply

  13. wutheringwillow
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 23:25:38

    I have not read that many Orange Prize short listed books. From what I know I think I like Amy Tan’s The Hundred Secret Senses the best.

    Reply

  14. Olivia
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 23:54:17

    I have not read any books on the short list. Based on the titles I have seen The Memory of Love sounds like one I’d like to read.

    Reply

  15. Amy
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 00:24:03

    I have a sizeable list of Orange short-listed books I’ve really enjoyed:
    White Teeth by Zadie Smith
    The History of Love by Nicole Krauss
    The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood
    Lottery by Patricia Wood
    Ladder of Years by Anne Tyler
    Room by Emma Donoghue
    Horse Heaven by Jane Smiley
    The Weight of Water by Anita Shteve
    The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver
    Molly Fox’s Birthday by Deidre Madden (finishing it up now!)

    One that I really want to read is The Memory of Love which is on a lot of commenter’s favorites list.
    Great giveaway, Jill…Thank you!

    Reply

  16. Citizenjoyce
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 01:51:22

    Too many to list, so I’ll just name some not named:
    The Magician’s Assistant by Ann Patchett
    Amy and Isabelle by Elizabeth Strout
    Fingersmith by Sarah Waters
    Beyond Black by Hilary Mantel
    Digging to America by Anne Tyler
    A Gate at the Stairs by Lorrie Moore

    Aside from Fingersmith, they all seem to evoke strong feelings of dislike in some. I can never understand why people don’t share my taste 🙂

    Reply

  17. nomadreader
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 01:57:33

    Of recent years: Room, Black Water Rising and White Woman on the Green Bicycle.

    Reply

  18. Rhonda Lomazow
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 02:50:23

    the poisoned wood bible &old filth

    Reply

  19. MJ
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 04:07:15

    The Poisonwood Bible, Alias Grace (which I just read this month!), The Blind Assassin, and Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood are all books I really liked.

    Reply

  20. Tina Valdes
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 04:48:34

    Loved both Divine Secrets of the YaYa Sisterhood and Room. Wonderful reads!

    Reply

  21. Bonnie
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 07:07:51

    The Poisonwood Bible, The Memory of Love, Purple Hibiscus, Fingersmith, Wolf Hall, The Outcast and The Siege to name a few.

    Reply

  22. raidergirl3
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 08:06:45

    Fingersmith by Sarah Waters
    Unless by Carol Shields
    The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver
    Annabel by Kathleen Winter
    Room by Emma Donoghue

    These would be my favorite short-listed books, so far!

    Reply

  23. Helen
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 09:26:25

    A few favourites of mine:
    The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna
    Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
    The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver
    Fingersmith by Sarah Waters

    Reply

  24. mrstreme
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 10:03:21

    Congratulations to Peggy! She won today’s giveaway!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

