Orange January Giveaway #19: A Mercy

A mercy by Toni MorrisonGIVEAWAY CLOSED

Up for Grabs: A Mercy by Toni Morrison

Orange Connection: Long List, 2009

Who’s Eligible to Win?: Anyone participating in Orange January – no matter where you live or if you’ve won a giveaway already this month. You’re also welcome to participate in the activity, even if you don’t want the book. Just let me know in the comments below to not enter your name into the drawing.

Your Activity: Toni Morrison is one those writers whose writing style intimidates me (in other words, I am afraid I won’t understand what she wrote). Are there any writers whose books intimidate you (or used to intimidate you)?

Giveaway ends at 9pm Eastern tonight. Thanks for participating!

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 20:49:58

    I’m reading *The Tiger’s Wife* right now and it is brillant, but I feel like I’m missing the meaning of alot of the symbolism.
    Marilynne Robinson I think is a very deep writer and you can’t read her stuff quickly. You have to think.
    And then there is Toni Morrison. I must confess – I have checked out one or two of her books from the library, but never read them.

    Reply

  2. Peggy
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 21:14:12

    Pynchon! David Foster Wallace until I read him! Danielewski! With Morrison and Pynchon and DFW, I just read. I figure what I get, I get; what I don’t will still be there waiting if I ever go back, and with Morrison and DFW, I mean to go back.

    Reply

  3. Ally
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 21:23:14

    I found Sarah Waters’ writing quite intimidating and I remember when I first read Morrisson, the book was “Beloved” and I found it hard to read, but at the end I quite admired the powerful story and style.
    Thanks you for the giveaway!

    Reply

  4. Phoebe
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 21:40:23

    I think the fear of not “getting” a writer for me first occurred with Toni Morrison’s “Beloved.” But others writers for different reasons, Ali Smith, because I think I will miss the subtle British nuances and Chuck Palahniuk, because he is so twisted.

    Reply

  5. Deborah F
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 21:40:55

    Haruki Murakami totally intimidates me, as does Tea O’Brecht.

    Reply

  6. Helen
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 21:56:41

    Another mention for Toni Morrison from me. Also Patrick White and Italo Calvino.

    Reply

  7. Lisa
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 22:24:23

    Ayn Rand;s writing intimidates me. Looks like a wonderful book!

    Reply

  8. Pragya
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 23:06:23

    Ayn Rand and Joseph Heller. I have tried reading The Fountainhead but couldn’t. Same goes for Catch 22

    Reply

  9. Amy
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 23:55:42

    There are several authors who writing intimidates me! Tony Morrison and James Joyce are two that come to mind immediately. I’ve read books by both and, with focus (and some outside help with Joyce’s writing!) I can understand what they’ve written. Still, both their writing but intmidates me!

    Proust and Goethe also intimidate. I haven’t tried reading any of their works yet, but I will!
    Great activity!

    Reply

  10. nomadreader
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 00:29:12

    I felt that way for Toni Morrison for years. I think I was too young when I first tried to read her. I find myself most intimidated by the classics, however. Authors such as James Joyce, Dostoevsky and Tolstoy still intimidate me, but I’m working on it!

    Reply

  11. Wendy
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 00:56:33

    Oh, there are far too many writers out there who intimidate me LOL…let’s see:

    Murakami
    James Joyce
    Pynchon

    I love David Mitchell – but his structure felt intimidating to me when I first read it. I’ve read one Toni Morrison which I loved…and I really need to read this one. Thanks for the opportunity to win it!

    Reply

  12. regina
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 02:02:53

    Haruki Murakami intimidated me up front but his magical writing drew me in and I totally got it, brilliant! Frankly I get annoyed with symbolism that does not grab me, like The Life of Pi, awful book…..Toni Morrison though excites me so thanks for including her!

    Reply

  13. rainpebble/belva
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 03:56:05

    Shakespeare definitely intimidates me, as does William Faulkner, though I have read 3 or 4 of his works and loved them, but I always feel as though I am missing something. I think Faulkner calls for 2nd, 3rd, etc, re-reads. And although John Steinbeck has long been my favorite author (from about age 12), and I read him over and over; he continues to intimidate me. But I LOVE him.
    As far as the lady authors go, Margaret Atwood continues to intimidate me.
    And almost all of the greats classic authors do: Homer, Melville, Proust, etc…………..

    Reply

  14. Kim Bal-Al
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 07:50:08

    I just tried to start the latest Miles Franklin winner “That Deadman Dance” by Kim Scott and found the style in that novel a bit intimidating. I’ve had to give it a rest until I’ve got more brain power to devote to it. I suspect some really excellent writers can write on a number of levels from intimidating to accessible. I think Kate Grenville and Peter Carey would both be classed that way. Kate’s “Dark Places” and “Lillian’s Story” are far more intimidating then “The Secret River” and “The Lieutenant”. Peter Carey’s “Oscar and Lucinda” is more intimidating then “The true story of the Kelly Gang”. I also find Shakespeare’s comedies less intimidating then some of the dramas. Although, the writing is always amazing. I’m really interested to read something of Toni Morrison’s now beloved is sitting on the shelf here and The mercy sounds really interesting.

    Reply

  15. MJ
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 08:10:39

    Toni Morrison used to intimidate me, until I listened to A MERCY on audio. It was the perfect way to ease into her writing. My only previous experience had been with BELOVED, back in high school. Now I’m a huge fan. Fortunately, she’s already written enough to keep me busy for awhile.

    Reply

  16. rhonda
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 08:18:42

    Toni morrison ,Doris leasing.

    Reply

  17. mrstreme
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 10:04:51

    Congratulations to Carrie (Nomadreader) for winning today’s giveaway!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

