Orange January Giveaway #20: Untold Story

Untold Story by Monica AliGIVEAWAY CLOSED

Up for Grabs: Untold Story by Monica Ali

Orange Connection: Monica Ali has been nominated for the Orange Prize before with Brick Lane (2004 Long List). We’ll see if Untold Story gets nominated this year!

Who’s Eligible to Win?: Anyone participating in Orange January – no matter where you live or if you’ve won a giveaway already this month. You’re also welcome to participate in the activity, even if you don’t want the book. Just let me know in the comments below to not enter your name into the drawing.

Your Activity: Untold Story is about the late Princess Diana. Who are some of your favorite “royals” depicted in fiction?

Giveaway ends at 9pm Eastern tonight. Have an enjoyable Sunday!

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deborah F
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 20:54:37

    Ohh! I’m quite crazy about the British Royals, in part perhaps because Diana was born the same year as I was – shhh! And I’ve got two sons a bit younger than she does. Princes William and Harry fascinate me, as does the new Duchess of Cambridge, Kate Middleton. I’ve read no end of books on Diana, Kate and William , William and Harry and I have two biographies waiting – one on Prince Phillip and one on the Queen. Truthfully , there is no British Royal who does not catch my interest….

    I’d love to win today’s giveaway!

    Thanks for the chance!

    Reply

  2. Peggy
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 21:08:39

    I’m a long-time reader of historical fiction. Dorothy Dunnett’s *Lymond Chronicles* gives us a look at Mary Stuart as a child with a French royal or two thrown in for good measure. I don’t know that Josephine Tey’s look at Richard in *A Daughter of Time* counts, but I love that. I’ll probably be back as I realize that I’ve left out a great favorite.

    Reply

  3. rhonda
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 21:11:59

    I love. Princess. Diana she was every little girls fairy tale grown up.Just started book about. Queen Elisabeth & Wallis Simpson fascinates me just ordered another Book about her & our own Jackie. Kennedy.love this author.

    Reply

  4. Phoebe
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 21:23:38

    I love historical fiction…especially British. Charles II, Mary Queen of Scotts, Henry the 8th and all of his shenanigans, and Lady Jane Grey, are some figures that I have read quite a bit about.

    Reply

  5. Debra
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 21:39:12

    I would definitely have to say the Tudors since I have read a few of Phillipa Gregory’s books, and of course Wolf Hall. Also Catherine the Great. She was a woman of great intelligence and courage.

    Reply

  6. Jayme@BEachreader
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 21:48:44

    Love reading about the Tudors – Henry VIII, Elizabeth 1 and the House of Stuart.
    I have recently read several books pertaining to the de Medici dynasty which I find very fascinating.

    Reply

  7. Ally
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 21:58:04

    I just bought the new book “That Woman” about Wallis Simpson, but it’s not a fictional book, so I would go with any book that has Napoleon as one of the characters, since he is such an intriguing historical figure… oh, and he appears in my favorite book “The passion” as well 🙂

    Reply

  8. regina
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 22:34:09

    I am Dutch so I love the historic Dutch figures as well as Russian Catherina the Great, amazing woman!

    Reply

  9. Kim Hannibal Collins
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 23:30:25

    Well, I have read a number of books about England’s monarchies throughout its history. I am one who does not have the gift to remember every book/author (but I can tell when I’ve already read a book during the first chapter). I’ve thoroughly enjoyed Phillipa Gregory’s books, and have read a number of books about Henry VIII and his wives. And I just read an interesting book about Richard III.

    Reply

  10. Pragya
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 23:55:25

    I have not read a book about any ‘royals’ but I have always admired Lady Diana. Though I was quite young when she passed away, I remember being awed by her beauty and I wanted a hairstyle like her. 😀

    Reply

  11. rainpebble/belva
    Jan 30, 2012 @ 01:36:59

    Mary Stuart, The Virgin Queen (or Bess), Queen Elizabeth of course, Princess Diana, King Edward, King Richard, Kings Charles I & II, Lucy Walter, King Henry VIII and his many queens, and many more. I have always found King Charles to be most interesting.
    Also the Russian Tzars, Catherine the Great, Princess Ka’iulani of Hawaii. Royalty is always fascinating.

    Reply

  12. Tina Valdes
    Jan 30, 2012 @ 09:13:29

    Favorite thus far is Phillipa Gregory’s portrayal of Anne Bolelyn.

    I’m a huge Princess Di fan, so if I don’t win I will definitely have to put it on my wish list.

    Reply

  13. mrstreme
    Jan 30, 2012 @ 10:08:50

    Congratulations to Deborah F.! She’s our lucky winner!

    Reply

  14. Deborah F
    Jan 30, 2012 @ 11:37:52

    Ohh thanks Jill! I’ve sent you my address. I’m on LT if I mix up your email address. See you there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

