BOOK REVIEW: Eveless Eden by Marianne Wiggins

Eveless Eden
By Marianne Wiggins
Completed January 23, 2012

Confession: I read the first 150 pages of this book in earnest. I skimmed the rest of the book. If I missed something in the last two-thirds of this novel, I apologize in advance.

Noah John is a reporter who travels to all ends of the earth to get the story. On location in Cameroon, he meets the love of his life, a fiesty photographer named Lilith. Once united, they become a powerful journalistic duo, covering some of the biggest stories in the late 1980’s.  However, Lilith starts to fall for someone else – a Romanian dignitary with a troublesome past. Noah is broken hearted and flees to New York, where he later learns that the Romanian man was killed – but there’s no word on Lilith’s whereabouts. Noah begins another adventure – looking for Lilith and hoping she didn’t meet the same fate as her Romanian lover.

Doesn’t it sound like an action-adventure flick starring Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt?

I really don’t have anything against globe-trotting journalists who are always near the action – and I certainly don’t have anything against Eveless Eden. Despite being shortlisted for the Orange Prize in 1996, it just wasn’t the book for me. (  )

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. farmlanebooks
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 04:00:33

    When I was 20 my best friend gave me a copy of this book saying it was the best thing she’d ever read. We normally share a taste in books so I expected to love it. I forgot all about it and discovered it in a box a couple of years ago. I tried reading it several times, but never made it to the end. I wonder if it is a book you have to read as a teenager?

    Reply

  2. HRO
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 07:42:48

    Ew, this sounds dreadful. A Brad Pitt film, indeed…lol. I (attempted to) read one of Wiggins other books…..it was so s l o w I couldn’t stand it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

