Orange July Giveaway #1: The Song of Achilles

The Song of AchillesGIVEAWAY CLOSED!

Up for grabs: The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

Orange Connection: Winner, 2012

Your activity: In the comments below, tell us what you plan to read for Orange July. Remember, you only need to read one book, but I bet many of you have multiple books lined up!

Reminders: Orange July giveaways are open to all Orange July participants (you must be signed up through this Mr. Linky page), is open to anyone around the world, and you can win more than one giveaway. You’re welcome to participate in any giveaway activities without being entered into the drawing; just let me know in your comments. Giveaway closes at 9pm Eastern. Have fun!

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ally@ Snow Feathers
    Jul 01, 2012 @ 19:54:40

    I am planning on reading Bel Canto for the challenge. I hope I will enjoy it. For me, it is just this book this month since I will be away on holiday 🙂

    Reply

  2. The Ramblings of a Demented Mind
    Jul 01, 2012 @ 19:56:25

    I started reading Bel Canto in the morning. Still on chapter 3, but I already know it’s going to be one of my favourite reads of all time.

    Reply

  3. Heather Holt
    Jul 01, 2012 @ 20:48:13

    First up for me will be Half of a Yellow Sun by Adichie which I have been meaning to read for Orange January/July for at least a year now! Then I’ve got a whole pile of others to choose from: The Siege by Helen Dunmore, Gilead by Marilynne Robinson, The Road Home by Rose Tremain…

    Happy not to be entered in this giveaway as I’ve already read and loved The Song of Achilles 🙂

    Reply

  4. Hannah Mulholland Waugh
    Jul 01, 2012 @ 21:09:31

    I’ve just started reading the hunger games and already I can’t put it down!

    Reply

  5. Donna Allenbaugh
    Jul 01, 2012 @ 21:23:29

    I cheated just a bit and started reading The Sealed Letter by Emma Donoghue last night (June 30th). Since I mainly read out of my library’s selection of books, I haven’t quite decided what else to read. Thanks for this great site! Donna

    Reply

  6. Beth Parks Aronson
    Jul 01, 2012 @ 21:34:08

    Ok, you are making me commit. Alias Grace, Home, and Inheritance of Loss. Should be fun!

    Reply

  7. Dee Ingram
    Jul 01, 2012 @ 21:59:53

    Well, I’ve just finished Scottsboro which you kindly sent me after the last giveaways so that’s my first!

    Next up will probably be The Passion of Alice by Stephanie Grant , Poppy Shakespeare by Clare Allan or White Woman on a Green Bicycle by Monique Roffey. Am also considering The Septembers of Shiraz, Small Wars and The Blue Book.

    Reply

  8. Barbara Atkins Carlucci
    Jul 01, 2012 @ 22:28:57

    I feel like Beth, having to commit! My list constantly evolves, growing day by day. I would like to mention a couple of books I do plan on though…The Sealed Letter by Emma Donoghue and The Forgotten Waltz by Anne Enright.

    Reply

  9. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jul 01, 2012 @ 22:49:36

    I’ve already read The Song of Achilles, and loved it, so you don’t have to enter me in the contest. I am currently reading Home by Marilynne Robinson and am planning on reading There But For The by Ali Smith and Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.

    Reply

  10. Amy
    Jul 01, 2012 @ 23:47:52

    Thewre are several orange prize books I hope to read, want to read. We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver or The Night Watch by Sarah Waters are my top picks. A Gate at the Stairs by Lorrie Moore and Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie are also on my list.

    Thank you for this first giveaway. The reviews I’ve read about The Song of Achilles are fantastic!

    Reply

  11. Vasilly
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 00:16:01

    I have a ton of books on my shelves for Orange July: A Mercy, The Pink Hotel, We Need to Talk about Kevin, The Namesake, The Mistress of Spices, Fingersmith, The Wilderness, Annabel, The Secret Lives of Baba Segi’s Wives, and Hotel World. 😀

    Reply

  12. janegs
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 00:51:10

    I really want to read Song of Achilles, but Year of Wonder is also on the list, so it’s a toss up.

    Reply

  13. Helen
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 00:53:12

    Not really sure just yet, possibly Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood or The Colour by Rose Tremain. Thanks for the opportunity to take part in your Orange July giveaways again, Jill.

    Reply

  14. Jane
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 02:49:40

    I’m definitely reading Sofer’s The Septembers of Shiraz (almost done in fact) and Gail Jones’s Dreams of Speaking. If I get inspired I may go on to Zadie Smith’s On Beauty or Marilynne Robinson’s Gilead.

    Reply

  15. Peggy
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 03:21:37

    I plan to read *Half of a Yellow Sun* by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie too, but if I have time after that, I’ll be excited to choose something from my pile of Oranges. Please don’t enter me for *Achilles*, since I have already read my copy and enjoyed it once. Somebody is in for a treat!

    Reply

  16. pburt
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 03:53:51

    I plan on rereading Fugitive Pieces by Anne Michaels. I have been scared to because I loved it so much the first time but this challenge gives me incentive. I also want to read History of Love by Kraus and Home by Robinson.

    Reply

  17. Patricia Lesku
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 04:36:34

    I’m planning on reading Gillian Slovo’s Ice Road.

    Reply

  18. Phoebe
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 07:48:54

    I am very happy to be able to read an Orang Prize that I have wanted to read for a very long time…”The Voluptuous Delights of Peanut Butter and Jam,” which was purchased and brought back to me as a gift from London! Also on the nightstand and slated will be “Case Histories.”

    Reply

  19. Lisa
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 08:36:25

    This month I’ve started Song of Achilles and Wolf Hall. I would like to read more but I will have to see how I go.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

