Orange Prize Giveaway #4: The Sealed Letter

The Sealed Letter by Emma DonoghueGIVEAWAY CLOSED!

Up for grabs: The Sealed Letter by Emma Donoghue

Orange Connection: Long List, 2012

Your activity: Written correspondence is a central part of The Sealed Letter. In our age of text messages and Facebook, do you still write letters? Or do you prefer dashing off an email message? Tell us in the comments below!

Reminders: Orange July giveaways are open to all Orange July participants (you must be signed up through this Mr. Linky page), is open to anyone around the world, and you can win more than one giveaway. You’re welcome to participate in any giveaway activities without being entered into the drawing; just let me know in your comments. Giveaway closes at 9pm Eastern. Have fun!

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 19:38:19

    The only “real” letters I seem to write anymore are impersonal, related to household business (Dear Sir or Madam, enclosed are the documents you requested, blah blah blah …). I have some friends who like to send postcards when they go on vacation and it’s so fun to receive them but somehow I never get my act together to send any myself.

    Reply

  2. The Ramblings of a Demented Mind
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 19:47:38

    I did have a pen pal when I was small. She was from Japan. (And I’m from Sri Lanka) So we used to send letters back and forth. But now I don’t write letters at all! I like it when I get stuff delivered by the postman though. Not that I get anything other than bills. But still I think it makes me look important and old! 😀

    Reply

  3. Jenny Colvin (@readingenvy)
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 19:49:43

    I have a friend who I still only write letters with- no email, no phone calls. We’ve done this since 7th grade, so it has been 21 years!

    I would rather have a real letter any day!

    Reply

  4. Rachel
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 19:55:48

    I write letters to one of my cousins who does not currently have internet. Somehow, getting snail mail seems so much more special than getting emails, and I get really excited whenever I find a letter from him in my mailbox. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Ally@ Snow Feathers
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 19:59:47

    I used to write letters until 2001, I guess, then sending emails and texts became more reliable and faster. Speaking of books based on exchanging letters, I read Teru Miyamoto’s Kinshu, and I it is such a gem! Thanks for the giveaway! I would love to read the book!

    Reply

  6. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 20:28:24

    The only person that I wrote letters to was my grandmother and when she passed away the letter writing stopped. I still receive a letter from my aunt, once a year, on my birthday.
    Thanks for the giveaway.

    Reply

  7. BonnieWrites
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 20:34:51

    I just love sending a letter written on unusual stationary — sometimes homemade paper! It’s the personal touch that often makes a difference, but admittedly I don’t do it as often as I’d like.

    Reply

  8. Beth Parks Aronson
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 20:40:29

    Pretty much never. Everyone I know is on email, and it is quicker. I don’t think my mom even writes letters much at this point.

    Reply

  9. Peggy
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 21:21:03

    I do write letters – with my treasured fountain pen – on special occasions to my special people. I don’t text (I’m usually right here in reaching distance of my trusty computer), but I do love the speed of e-mail.
    Please don’t include me in the drawing, Jill.

    Reply

  10. Patricia
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 21:41:22

    I like the idea of letters a lot and was an avid letter writer in my youth (pen pals), but now email is a luxury. I’m mostly a facebooker / texter. Sigh…

    Reply

  11. Paperback Lover
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 21:43:28

    The last year I wrote and recieved letters regularly was in 1998 and I was living la vida loca in Barcelona. And that was also the year I registered for hotmail. After that, lesser letters and more emails. The letters I recieve today are wedding invitations and thank you cards. I write the occasional postcard to my grandmother when on holiday. I write about 20 emails a day.

    Reply

  12. Helen
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 21:57:22

    Most letters I send are business related, but I do occasionally send a note throught the post to a friend on a special occasion or if they are unwell, or as a thank you. I don’t text and am not on facebook, so the bulk of my communication is via emails. I write ‘old fashioned’ emails though, as if they were almost letters, with ‘proper’ spelling and grammar – none of this short cut nonsense for me! 😉

    Reply

  13. Barbara Atkins Carlucci
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 21:58:02

    I’m afraid I dash off an email or facebook rather than writing a letter. However, I still write thank you notes…I think they mean so much more when you take the time to hand write them.

    Reply

  14. tinavaldes
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 22:48:57

    I love getting letters but I am so much better at staying in contact with folks using text & email. I really do miss handwritten correspondence though!!

    Reply

  15. Pogue
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 22:50:09

    I was never much of a letter writer. I am even less of an e-mailer. I do love to get a letter. I am more of a package sender. I will mail boxes of reagional items off to people who cannot get what they want where they live.

    Reply

  16. Phoebe
    Jul 05, 2012 @ 23:16:54

    I don’t write letters…more hand-written notes on blank cards. I tend to use email, facebook or text for quick messages. I do still keep a journal and that is definitely not electronic…handwritten there.

    Reply

  17. raidergirl3
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 00:16:11

    I write reference letters for students, still on the computer though. Hard letters to write though, and often with very little time notice. Everything else is email or messages on FB.

    Don’t enter me in the contest – loved the book though!

    Reply

  18. AnneDC
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 00:54:10

    I write few letters now–thank you notes and sometimes Christmas cards are the exception. I used to write long letters to friends and family and I do miss both sending and receiving them. I also used to have long, letter-like email correspondences with a few close friends, but we all seem to have gotten too busy.

    Reply

  19. Gnoe
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 02:12:53

    Yes I occasionally write letters, but mostly postcards. I fill every blanc spot with text though, so it much resembles a Real Letter. I even mail cards to total strangers… Have you heard of postcrossing.com?

    On the other hand I very much like sending short text messages of the phone (sometimes within games) to have a day to day contact with my friends and family.

    Love Orange July and love the giveaway! I hope to finish my current read soon so I can start an OP book (probably White Teeth).

    Reply

  20. Pragya
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 02:30:31

    I adore letters!! I have got penpals, we write to each other. I love getting snail mails. 🙂

    Reply

  21. Bonnie
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 03:21:01

    I really don’t write letters anymore; text messages, e mails or an actual phone call are my usual modes of communication with friends and family.

    Reply

  22. Lisa
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 03:51:50

    I hardly ever write personal letters anymore (business letters – yes). The closest thing to a letter other than emails would be what I write for someone in a card for special occasions. I often thought that I would write a letter for myself for milestone moments like weddings, births etc but I graduated a few years back and didn’t even think about it at the time lol.

    Reply

  23. rainpebble/belva
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 06:22:21

    I continue to write letters to a couple of ‘best’ friends that I have communicated with all through the years. And I still write letters to most family members. But for the most part it is just dashing off messages on F/B or emailing notes & letters. I would like to get back into the habit of sending the occasional card ‘just because’, but just never seem to get around to it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

