Orange Prize Giveaway #5: Larry’s Party

Larry's Party by Carol ShieldsGIVEAWAY CLOSED

Up for grabs: Larry’s Party by Carol Shields

Orange Connection: Winner, 1998

Your activity: Carol Shields was a very successful Canadian writer, gathering up many accolades from around the world. Who are some of your favorite Canadian authors (male or female, alive or dead)? Tell us in the comments below!

Reminders: Orange July giveaways are open to all Orange July participants (you must be signed up through this Mr. Linky page), is open to anyone around the world, and you can win more than one giveaway. You’re welcome to participate in any giveaway activities without being entered into the drawing; just let me know in your comments. Giveaway closes at 9pm Eastern. Have fun!

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 18:56:34

    Margaret Atwood is my favorite Canadian writer. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Beth Parks Aronson
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 18:58:44

    I have this book, so don’t enter me in the contest today. I love Margaret Atwood (reading Alias Grace right now) and discovered Anne Michaels through Fugitive Pieces recently. I can’t wait to read more of her work.

    Reply

  3. Ally@ Snow Feathers
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 19:17:55

    Oh, definitely Atwood and her “The handmaid’s tale” and “The edible woman”.

    Reply

  4. Misha
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 19:22:42

    Margaret Atwood and Elizabeth Hay 🙂

    Reply

  5. Genny Tunbridge
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 19:28:57

    Carol Shields and Margaret Atwood would be my top two. Count me out of the copy of Larry’s Party, as I already have one.

    Reply

  6. Helen
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 19:34:46

    My definite favourite would be Alice Munro. 🙂

    Reply

  7. raidergirl3
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 19:48:59

    Great question!
    LM Montgomery, Carol Shields, Douglas Coupland, Bernice Morgan, Robert Munsch, Rohinton MIstry, Bill Richardson, Lori Lansens, Louise Penny, Stuart McLean, Linwood Barclay…

    I’ve already got the book here to read, so dont’ enter me.

    Reply

  8. Ifi Williams
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 20:09:46

    I would love a copy of this book.

    As far as Canadian authors go, I’ve only read Margaret Atwood and Kathleen Winter’s (Annabel). Great descriptive prose!

    Reply

  9. Nancy Quinn (@nancyquinn)
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 20:25:25

    Loved and own The Stone Diaries (so down’t enter me.) But in answer to your question: Alice Munro.

    Reply

  10. Nicki
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 21:15:45

    Margaret Atwood is my favourite Canadian author. However, I’m sorry to say that I think she’s also the *only* Canadian author whose books I’ve read. Quite possibly it’s time for me to branch out a little.

    Reply

  11. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 22:14:20

    I’d have to say L. M. Montgomery. I grew up reading all of the Anne of Green Gables books. And of course Atwood though I have only read The Penelopiad.

    Reply

  12. The Ramblings of a Demented Mind
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 22:18:53

    Yann Martel for sure! I loved Life of Pi and his web project What is Stephen Harper Reading? (http://www.whatisstephenharperreading.ca/)! Now I’m looking forward to read Beatrice and Virgil!

    Reply

  13. Becca
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 22:27:06

    Thomas King! I need to read more of his books, but I adored Green Grass, Running Water.

    Reply

  14. Patricia
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 23:58:49

    Wayne Johnston, Michael Ondaatje and Timothy Findley. I also really liked Moira Young’s debut, Blood Red Road.

    Reply

  15. Amy
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 00:48:32

    A terrific giveaway and a great question! There are many Canadian authors I like including Lucy Maude Montgomery, author of the wonderful Anne of Green Gables series, Saul Bellow, Douglas Coupland, Alice Munro, Cathy Marie Buchanan and her great book, “The Day the Falls Stood Still” and Camilla Gibb.

    Aimala127(at)gmail(dot)com

    Reply

  16. swright
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 01:13:07

    Being a transplant to Canada: I’d have to say Margaret Atwood and Alice Munro, but I really enjoyed Carol Shields’s Stone Diaries. I haven’t read Larry’s Party. Check a Munro book http://www.thecuecard.com/node/712

    Reply

  17. rainpebble/belva
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 03:20:58

    Hmmm, favorite Canadian authors…..I would have to say first and foremost Lucy M. Montgomery. Then Thomas B.Costain, Helen Humphrys, Anne Michaels, Carol Shields, Robert W.Service, (I have a brother who knows most of his works by heart), Michael Ondaatje, Farley Mowat, Rohinton Mistry, L.R. Wright, Margaret Laurence, and I can’t leave out Leonard Cohen although he writes music & lyrics……..love, love, love him. So, so many. Makes me think that we should set aside a week or month for Canadian reads on L.T.
    Please do not enter me in the lottery for Larry’s Party as I have the book and it is a real goody. Whoever does win is in for a great read. Thank you Jill.

    Reply

  18. Peggy
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 04:11:52

    Robertson Davies and the Margarets – Atwood and Laurence – are at the top of my list, but also Rohinton Mistry and .Helen Humphreys. I haven’t read Carol Shields yet, but I do own a copy of *Larry’s Party*, so don’t enter me in the drawing. Good luck to the rest of you!!

    Reply

  19. pburt
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 05:12:01

    Mary Lawson. Crow Lake is wonderful and The Other Side of the Bridge is just plain marvelous.

    Reply

  20. Phoebe
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 05:27:27

    In no particular order, I enjoy Carol Shields, Margaret Atwood! Saul Bellow and Yann Martel. Almost forgot Emma Donoghue too!

    Reply

  21. Lisa
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 06:18:20

    Margaret Atwood immediately springs to mind and I keep meaning to read more of her books – I have about half of her catalogue on my shelves. Also Anne of Green Gables – the entire series – is so special to me that I re-read every few years.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

