Orange Prize Giveaway #6: Painter of Silence

GIVEAWAY CLOSED

Up for grabs: Painter of Silence by Georgina Harding

Orange Connection: Short List, 2012

Your activity: Of course, we all love the Orange Prize for Fiction! But there are many other wonderful literary prizes out there. What other prizes and book lists do you follow? Tell us in the comments below.

Reminders: Orange July giveaways are open to all Orange July participants (you must be signed up through this Mr. Linky page), is open to anyone around the world, and you can win more than one giveaway. You’re welcome to participate in any giveaway activities without being entered into the drawing; just let me know in your comments. Giveaway closes at 9pm Eastern. Have fun!

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 19:15:36

    Right now, I’m trying to read the Nobel Prize winners, the 1001 books you must read before you die, Pulitzer Prize, Christy Award, Newbery Award, Printz Award, Hugo, Nebula, and World Fantasy Award. And maybe the Booker, too. I don’t think I’ll ever get through all the books from those awards, but it’s fun having so many choices. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Laura
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 19:16:33

    The Booker Prize was the first one to catch my attention and, as with the Orange Prize, I’ve managed to read all of the winners. I tried following the Pulitzer for a while, but I didn’t stick with it. The Booker and Orange are my two favorites.

    Reply

  3. Beth Parks Aronson
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 19:22:55

    I follow the Booker (love them usually) and the Pulitzer (much more mixed) and am slowly working my way through the 1001 books list.

    Reply

  4. sagustocox
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 19:45:04

    I’m not an officially participant, but I love seeing who wins the Pulitzer in Poetry and fiction.

    Reply

  5. Ally@ Snow Feathers
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 19:49:59

    Definitely the Booker prize, although I am not a huge fan of other prizes. My favorite books didn’t win any, so besides The Orange prize, which helps me discover great female writers, I am not into too many prizes…

    Reply

  6. Judy
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 19:52:45

    I read the Bookers as well as the Orange Prizes, and I like to keep up with the IMPAC Dublin Literary Award as well.

    Reply

  7. tinavaldes
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 19:59:57

    The Orange is my first and favorite prize!! I have read only a few Bookers that were also Oranges so my goal is to read a few more of those…

    Reply

  8. Jenny Colvin (@readingenvy)
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 20:04:18

    I found my favorite poet by reading the Dylan Thomas Prize long list one year, and now I’m hooked on award lists. I also voted in the Hugo Awards for the first time! I keep track of the Nebula, the Locus, the Booker, the National Book Award, and the Pulitzer. As you can imagine my to-read list may never be conquered.

    Reply

  9. The Ramblings of a Demented Mind
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 20:40:18

    I follow The Booker and The Pulitzer as well!

    Reply

  10. Donna Allenbaugh
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 20:47:28

    I follow (loosely) quite a few: Booker, Whitbread, Commonwealth, Giller, 1001 Books, Scotiabank, IMPAC Dublin, Pulitzer, L.A. Times, and of course Orange.

    Reply

  11. Cait
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 20:52:53

    I have followed the Booker for about four years now, and I also look for titles that have been nominated for the Giller Prize.

    Reply

  12. Peggy
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 20:54:06

    Like Donna, I follow the Booker, Costa, National Book Award, Hugo, Nebula, and Edgar – but not particularly carefully. I’m consumed by Orangeness, but I do also envy Jenny her vote for the Hugo.
    Again, don’t enter me for *Painter of Silence*, please.

    Reply

  13. Helen
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 20:54:55

    The Orange Prize is my favourite by far, but I also follow the Booker and the Miles Franklin awards.

    Reply

  14. Her Royal Orangeness
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 20:56:31

    I’m not entering the giveaway because I’m not participating in Orange July (but the chance of winning this book makes me wish I was!). But I had to answer this question because I’m a serious prize list follower – Orange, Booker, John Llewellyn Rhys, Costa-Whitbread, Scotiabank Giller, Pulitzer, Hugo, Nebula, Lambda. Check out some of these prizes, peoples…..amazing books! (No wonder my TBR is so ridiculously long!)

    Reply

  15. Nicki
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 21:08:52

    I mainly follow the Booker prize but I do like to keep my eye on the Nobel prizewinners too. I can’t say that I follow the other awards but I do use them as benchmarks of a novel’s quality when I’m browsing for new authors to read.

    Reply

  16. raidergirl3
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 21:20:22

    I like the Giller and the Booker. But lists intrigue me, and i will browse other prize lists for ideas, like the Pulitzer, Newbery, and some mystery prizes too.

    Reply

  17. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 21:29:44

    I am trying to read the Pulitzer Prize winners for fiction. I will read the Pulitzer winner for nonfiction if it interests me. I also like to particpate in the tournamnet of books to see if I can figure out who could win the Pulitzer. I also read the Newbery award winner and of course the Orange.

    Reply

  18. Phoebe
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 21:42:54

    I follow a number of prize winners, namely Pulitzer, Booker, Nobel and Hugo.

    Reply

  19. Patricia
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 22:23:57

    I’ve already read The Painter of Silence and really enjoyed it, so no need to enter me today…

    I follow the Booker prize (and eagerly await the release of the Booker’s dozen) and at least have a good look at the Giller prize longlist and the IMPAC Dublin shortlist (I do read the winners, but not the whole list.) I’m a bit of a lit prize addict!

    Reply

  20. Bonnie
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 22:29:27

    I read from the Booker, National Book Award, Pulitzer, Costa and more recently the Giller and the Governor’s General Award. I’m also reading the books I own that we’re written by Nobel Prize winners.

    Reply

  21. Misha
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 22:48:29

    I follow the Booker, Pulitzer and Costa Awards.

    Reply

  22. pburt
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 23:17:34

    I follow the Booker and Giller prize, also the Pulitzer and dabble in some of the others.

    Reply

  23. Ifi Williams
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 23:38:22

    Yes, please do enter me.

    I love foreign lit in translation so I follow the The Independent Foreign Fiction Prize and also the Best Translated Book Award (BTBA) which is an annual literature award organized by Three Percent at the University of Rochester.

    Reply

  24. Linda
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 23:50:23

    “Following” may be an exaggeration, but I do pay some attention to the Pen/Faulkner award, given to a living American author each year. Although it distresses me to see how often Philip Roth wins it, I have discovered some very good books there. Women seem to be slighter better represented on its lists than on some other prize lists (excluding the Orange, of course!) too. Ann Patchett, Kate Christensen and Annie Proulx have all won it, and last year’s winner was Deborah Eisenberg.

    Reply

  25. Dee Ingram
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 02:25:16

    I only follow the Orange and Man Booker prizes but reading these comments has made me want to pay attention to the others.

    Reply

  26. Becca
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 05:11:38

    Hmm…mostly I follow Pulitzer, Booker, Hugo, Nebula, and Tiptree. And the Eisner Awards, for comic books.

    Reply

  27. Trackback: Giller awards | Kiboexpedition
  28. Lisa
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 08:27:00

    I know the book giveaway is closed but I still wanted to leave a comment!!

    I look at all kinds of book awards, most of the ones listed above. After the Orange award the Booker would be the next one that I seriously take note of. However Booker winners seem to be love or hate it with me so it’s a bit of a lucky dip. For a few years I was heavily into Young Adult books and the Printz award led me to a number of great YA books.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

