Orange Prize Giveaway #7: The Lieutenant

The LieutenantGIVEAWAY CLOSED

Up for grabs: The Lieutenant by Kate Grenville

Orange Connection: Not an Orange book, though Kate Grenville is no stranger to the Orange Prize!

Your activity: The Lieutenant is the second book in the Colonial Trilogy. Do you like to read books in a series? If so, what are some of your favorite series? Tell us in the comments below!

Reminders: Orange July giveaways are open to all Orange July participants (you must be signed up through this Mr. Linky page), is open to anyone around the world, and you can win more than one giveaway. You’re welcome to participate in any giveaway activities without being entered into the drawing; just let me know in your comments. Giveaway closes at 9pm Eastern. Have fun!

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Ramblings of a Demented Mind
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 18:14:46

    Yes, I like to read books in a series and my favourite so far is the Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larson!

    Reply

  2. Laurel
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 18:34:43

    A series which will always remain near and dear to my heart is the Earthsea Trilogy by Ursula LeGuin. She is still, at 82, so smart and thoughtful. Earthsea is a lovely place to experience her imagination.

    Reply

  3. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 18:40:59

    I do like to read books in a series, but it depends on how ling the series becomes. I was reading Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time” series, but after book 7 – enough 🙂

    Reply

  4. Srivalli
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 19:14:49

    I like Ruth Rendell’s Inspector Wexford series, Sue Grafton’s Alphabet Series and Harlan Coben’s Myron Bolitar Series.

    Reply

  5. Pogue
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 20:33:46

    It depends on the author. There are many that I start to read and wish that the book was a stand alone. It seems that the author is just trying to hop on a money wagon and after the first book or two the characters get lost, and the writing becomes poor. There are some authors who can hold their own in writing a series, and they are the ones I return to time and agian. Right now my favorite is Flava DeLuce.

    Please do not enter me in the drawing.

    Reply

  6. Donna Allenbaugh
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 20:41:21

    I really enjoyed the Outlander series and also Peter Robinson’s Inspector Banks series among other good British police procedurals..

    Reply

  7. raidergirl3
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 20:58:52

    Too hard of a question! I read a lot of series, many are mysteries. The Number One Ladies Detective Agency (though it is hardly a mystery series), Tana French’s Dublin Murder Squad, and Kate Atkinson’s Jackson Brodie series are three of my favs.
    For more police procedurals, I look to Andrea Camilleri’s series in Sicily, and Arnaldur Indridason’s Icelandic series.
    Non police type: Outlander by Diana Gabaldron and Earth Children by Jean Auel were great reads.

    Reply

  8. Pragya
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 21:34:38

    I am not too fond of series. I am not at all patient at waiting.

    Reply

  9. nomadreader
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 22:04:18

    I’m a huge fan of series, but it seems there are so few non-mystery series out there, so most of my favorites are mystery series. I adore Linda Fairstein’s Alex Cooper series, Alafair Burke’s Samantha Kincaid series, and Laurie R. King’s Kate Martinelli series.

    Reply

  10. Peggy
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 22:19:06

    I’ve read decades of mystery and science fiction series through the decades. My all-time favorites, though, are Anthony Powell’s *Dance to the Music of Time*, Winston Graham’s *Poldark Saga*, Dorothy Dunnett’s *Chonicles of Lymond*, and (if five books constitute a series), Paul Scott’s *Raj Quartet* plus *Staying On.*
    (Please don’t enter me in the drawing for *The Lieutenant*, Jill.)

    Reply

  11. Patricia
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 22:30:01

    I’m not much of a series girl unless it’s a guilty pleasure. Or there are zombies. (How very unOrange, I know)

    Reply

  12. Misha
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 23:44:35

    I love “A Song of Ice and Fire” series by George R.R. Martin and Tana French’s series.

    Reply

  13. Heather Holt
    Jul 13, 2012 @ 01:37:20

    Oh dear, that’s a tough question! I’ve always read lots of science fiction, fantasy and crime novels so I have lots of series on the go. On an Orange theme I think my favourite would have to be Hilary Mantel’s Wolf Hall trilogy. I thought the first two books were amazing and I can’t wait for her to write the third. Otherwise Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series is a favourite as well as E. F. Benson’s Mapp and Lucia books, C. J. Sansom’s Matthew Shardlake books and Louise Penny’s Inspector Gamache series.

    Reply

  14. JoV
    Jul 13, 2012 @ 03:20:31

    Yes I do love to read books in series, only if they are really really good! I read Stieg Larsson’s Millenium Trilogy, No. 1 Lady Detective Agency, and in Grenville’s case I read The Secret River and Sarah Thornhill, and I love both sooo..much. This is the only one I haven’t read in the series!! Thanks for hosting the giveaway. 🙂

    Reply

  15. rainpebble/belva
    Jul 13, 2012 @ 06:33:31

    I don’t read a lot of book series. I have to love them to be able to do that. My favorite is the ‘Outlander’ series and I read it every 3 or 4 years. I do enjoy Kate Grenville so I would probably enjoy this one.

    Reply

  16. neer
    Jul 13, 2012 @ 08:29:27

    I prefer books in a series that can also be read as stand-alones. Thanks for the giveaway.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

