Orange Prize Giveaway #8: The Little Friend

The Little Friend by Donna TarttGIVEAWAY CLOSED

Up for grabs: The Little Friend by Donna Tartt

Orange Connection: Short List, 2003

Your activity: The Little Friend is narrated by a high-spirited 12-year-old girl named Harriet. Do you like it when narrators are children? Who are some of your favorite child narrators (or favorite books narrated by a child)? Let’s discuss in the comments below.

Reminders: Orange July giveaways are open to all Orange July participants (you must be signed up through this Mr. Linky page), is open to anyone around the world, and you can win more than one giveaway. You’re welcome to participate in any giveaway activities without being entered into the drawing; just let me know in your comments. Giveaway closes at 9pm Eastern. Have fun!

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pragya
    Jul 14, 2012 @ 18:56:54

    I do like that! One of the books I can remember liking is Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close.

    Reply

  2. Rachel
    Jul 14, 2012 @ 18:59:21

    Wow, that was a really hard question, considering that I read a lot of YA and children’s lit and I STILL had to sift through my library to remember any books about children (not teens) and narrated in the first person. There aren’t many! I THINK Fever 1793, by Anderson; and Mockingbird, by Erskine were first person, and I loved them. Daddy-Long-Legs, by Webster started out with the narrator as a child, and it was adorable. Part of my problem is that I don’t always remember whether books are first person or semi-omniscient. But I think I learned something from this exercise–first person narratives of children are rare much, much rarer than first person narratives of adults/teens. 🙂 Or were you not thinking of first person necessarily?

    Reply

  3. The Ramblings of a Demented Mind
    Jul 14, 2012 @ 19:50:34

    My favourite is the five year old Jack, who is the narrator of Room.

    Reply

  4. Srivalli
    Jul 14, 2012 @ 20:08:02

    I like Jim Hawkins from Treasure Island who takes on a jolly good adventure with Fifty men on a dead man’s chest and yo ho ho and a bottle o rum! I also like Huckleberry Finn who narrates his own adventures in Adventures of Huckleberry Finn.

    Reply

  5. tinavaldes
    Jul 14, 2012 @ 21:04:54

    My favorite child narrator is Jack – from Emma Donoghue’s “Room”. I loved him!!!!

    Reply

  6. Ifi Williams
    Jul 14, 2012 @ 21:45:24

    For me it simply has to be Christopher Boone from “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time” by Mark Haddon.

    This book was so alive with sympathetic insight into Christopher’s world of Asperger’s Syndrome. My nephew has Asperger’s so it made me see him in a whole new light.

    8 years on and I still remember it vividly. Great book.

    Please include me in this drawing.

    Reply

  7. Peggy
    Jul 14, 2012 @ 22:10:12

    I don’t feel all that drawn to child narrators, but when I read one, I’m not unhappy. My poor brain isn’t really working, so all I can remember is Henry James’s *What Maisie Knew*, an early effort at a child narrator, and not a brilliantly successful one.
    I don’t have a copy of *The Little Friend*, so please include me in this drawing no matter what I just said!
    (I did like *Dog* too, Ifi.)

    Reply

  8. Linda Snyder Koons
    Jul 14, 2012 @ 22:13:56

    Well, for me there’s no contest—Jean Louise Finch, better known as “Scout”, in To Kill a Mockingbird will always be my favorite child narrator (although, of course she is no longer a child when telling the story, it’s the child’s viewpoint in retrospect).

    Reply

  9. Pogue
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 00:22:50

    I love Flava de Luce from The Sweetness at The Bottom of the Pie. Margret from Are You There God, its Me Margret.

    Reply

  10. Beth Parks Aronson
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 00:36:54

    In no particular order, Flava de Luce, the narrator of Elegance of the Hedgehog, the narrator of Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, and the narrator of to Kill a Mockingbird.

    Reply

  11. Patricia
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 01:01:09

    Oooh Good question. I think one of my all-time favourite child narrators is Harriet from The Little Friend. Please don’t include me in this draw — I already own a well-loved copy.

    Reply

  12. Amy
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 01:29:56

    I can think of a few books narrated by young characters that are great. In “To Kill a Mockingbird” by Harper Lee, 6-year old Scout Finch is a terrific narrator and the young Jack in “Room” by Emma Donoghue is fantastic, too. Another child narrator I loved was Kate Meaney in “What Was Lost” by Catherine O’Flynn. Kate, unfortunately,is only in the early part of the novel but she shouldn’t be missed. I adored 15-year old Alice narrator of Alice Bliss by Laura Harrington. And finally, Christopher Boone, the teenage narrator of “A Curious Incident of a Dog in the Night” is amazing!

    Reply

  13. rainpebble/belva
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 04:24:44

    I do tend to enjoy child narrators but then books done in the first person don’t set me off as they occasionally do to some. And I have to go along with Linda & Amy. Scout of To Kill a Mockingbird is probably the best ever.
    Thank you for putting me in your lottery.

    Reply

  14. neer
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 08:29:23

    I like narrations by children only if it is done well. Kidnapped by R.L. Stevenson is a great favourite. To Kill a Mocking Bird and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time are also brilliant. Another one that I like particularly is Amitav Ghosh’s The Shadow Lines. Though written when the narrator has grown up, it does capture his chidhood perspective very well. Similar is a short story: Ismat Chugtai’s Lihaaf (The Quilt).

    Thanks for the giveaway. I have heard a lot about this author and would love to read one of her works.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

