Orange Prize Giveaway #9: Half-Blood Blues

Half-Blood Blues

GIVEAWAY CLOSED

Up for grabs: Half-Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan

Orange Connection: Short List, 2012

Your activity: Jazz is the musical theme of Half-Blood Blues. What type of music do you enjoy listening to? From county to classical, let’s read about your musical tastes in the comments below!

Reminders: Orange July giveaways are open to all Orange July participants (you must be signed up through this Mr. Linky page), is open to anyone around the world, and you can win more than one giveaway. You’re welcome to participate in any giveaway activities without being entered into the drawing; just let me know in your comments. Giveaway closes at 9pm Eastern. Have fun!

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Ramblings of a Demented Mind
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 18:53:40

    I enjoy listening to Jazz… 🙂

    Reply

  2. Ifi Williams
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 19:29:48

    Wow, you are on a roll here.

    I love like jazzy female vocal stylists like Madeleine Peyroux and Melody Gardot.
    Also the tropical funk and dreamy grooves of Latin music.Cuban rhumbas and Brazilian sambas. But then on the other extreme I love the good old disco tunes of the 70” as well.

    Do enter me for this giveaway please.

    Reply

  3. Kim
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 19:51:47

    I enjoy listening to a wide range of music. I’m currently really enjoying the recent Aussie indie rock bands that are about. Indie rock, derived from “independent”, describes the small and relatively low-budget labels on which it is released and the do-it-yourself attitude of the bands and artists involved. There is some great new stuff about, much the same I imagine as when Jazz first originated. I still have a soft spot for Aussie 80s bands but really there is so much great stuff from all genres.
    Heard great things about this novel, please enter me 🙂

    Reply

  4. misha1989
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 20:02:05

    This might sound weird but I love renaissance and medieval court music – my favorite band in this genre is “Vox Vulgaris”.

    I would love to win this book!

    Misha

    mishamary AT gmail DOT com

    Reply

  5. tinavaldes
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 20:09:55

    I love all types of music, but it depends on my mood what I choose for listening at the time.

    Ex:
    Need to be happy? 80’s
    Need to stay awake while driving? Upbeat, dance
    Need to chill? New age, classical, standards, etc.
    Feeling groovy? Jazz
    Want to sing? Musical soundtracks, “new” jazz – Michael Buble, etc.

    Fun! Don’t enter me for give away Jill! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Donna Allenbaugh
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 21:06:48

    I, also like almost all kinds of music with folk music predominating, i.e. Alison Krauss is a favorite, Williams above mentioned Madeleine Peyroux as a jazz singer and she is great, not well known I think. Please enter me in the drawing

    Reply

  7. Beth Parks Aronson
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 21:59:58

    Love classic jazz, blues, rock, and obscure singer-songwriter (used to live near a great place in Decatur, GA to go hear new artists). I like classical, but rarely listen to it.
    Please enter me for the drawing (should I have been saying this each time?)

    Reply

  8. Linda Snyder Koons
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 22:33:05

    We listen to a very wide variety of music in our house, from Bachman Turner Overdrive to Bach’s Goldberg Variations, from Chicago to Shugie Otis, from John Fogerty to Jessye Norman. We really love some of the recent “odd” pairings that have produced such wonderful performances…Alison Krauss with Robert Plante, Emmy Lou Harris with Mark Knopfler. And has anyone seen Jerry Lee Lewis’s “Last Man Standing” concert from a few years ago. Incredible stuff. Top discovery just lately, though, is Hugh Laurie’s “Let Them Talk” . The CD is fine, fine, fine, but the televised performance was beyond wonderful. DVD, sadly, is not available in the U.S., but those over the pond may be able to get it.

    Reply

  9. Bonnie
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 23:08:44

    Our music listening runs the gamut. From country (especially Sugarland and Lady Antebellum) to pop (especially Adele; can’t wait for a new album) to classic rock (Bob Seeger is a special favorite) to classical (particularly Mozart) and folk (Allison Krauss—wow!).

    Reply

  10. Patricia
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 23:35:09

    My taste in music really depends on my mood. I can listen to the same song on repeat for weeks on end if it really speaks to me and go back and forth between decades. Right now I’m stuck on Jack Johnson and Dashboard Confessional.

    Reply

  11. Phoebe
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 00:06:41

    My tastes run the full gamut from acoustics to classical to indie to classic rock to blues. All depends on my mood.

    Reply

  12. Amy
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 00:10:52

    I love music and listen to classic rock especially Van Morrison, Fleetwood Mac, Eric Clapton, Steely Dan and many others. I also enjoy classical music when I’m reading, especially Bach, Beethoven, Mahler, Chopin, Mozart, Verdi, Liszt and Tchaikovsky. I also listen to some jazz and blues.

    I’ve read some great things about Half-Blood Blues!

    Reply

  13. Pogue
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 01:26:00

    The CDs that I have on rotation right now are Navajo war chants, Zelda Skyward Sword soundtrack, Best of The Eagles, LAMFAO, k.d lang, Godsmack, and Moby.

    Reply

  14. Peggy
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 03:13:02

    I enjoy jazz and the American standards, especially when sung by Sarah Vaughan, but I’m first and always a lover of classical music, especially piano and chamber music. Oh. And I’m thrilled that Dead Can Dance are bringing out a new album! Don’t enter me for this drawing, please, Jill.

    Reply

  15. pburt
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 03:47:38

    We are a pretty eclectic household and listen to Classic Rock, indie rock, swing, jazz, and classical.

    Reply

  16. rainpebble/belva
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 03:57:43

    I listen to most genres of music. Not too crazy about most country but other than that I enjoy most. My favorite genres are blues and jazz. I love Ella Fitzgerald, Norah Jones, Diana Krall, Amy Winehouse, Adele, the Beatles, the Doors, Eric Clapton, George Benson, Leon Russell etc. And I can listen to sax music all night. I prefer more of the older music to the newer hip hop type and am not too much into standard pop music. It bores me.
    Thank you for entering me into the book lottery.

    Reply

  17. BonnieWrites
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 06:55:53

    I’m a country girl at heart, but do love a good Sinatra song every now and then!

    Reply

  18. neer
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 10:04:51

    I enjoy old Hindi films music and ghazals as well as Hindustani Classical.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

