Orange Prize Giveaway #10: A Concise Chinese-English Dictionary for Lovers

A Concise Chinese-English Dictionary for Lovers

GIVEAWAY CLOSED

Up for grabs: A Concise Chinese-English Dictionary for Lovers by Xiaolu Guo

Orange Connection: Short List, 2012

Your activity: How many languages do you speak/read? Tell us in the comments below about your linguistic talents!

Reminders: Orange July giveaways are open to all Orange July participants (you must be signed up through this Mr. Linky page), is open to anyone around the world, and you can win more than one giveaway. You’re welcome to participate in any giveaway activities without being entered into the drawing; just let me know in your comments. Giveaway closes at 9pm Eastern. Have fun!

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 18:58:36

    Ah! Languages are my bane! I have wanted to learn a foreign language all my life! (My dad knows soooo many, and I’d always wanted to be like him). I tried 2 years of Russian in college, and can still speak a little, but never got very good. While I was dating an Israeli, I made a good attempt to learn Hebrew, but only learned the alphabet and a few words. When I was dating an Italian I made an attempt at his language–this time mainly by listening rather than reading–which was less efficient than reading–I don’t think I learned anything useful. Now, I’m dating a Peruvian, and I want to learn Spanish (a very useful language in the US!), but I am a little chicken at my previous failures. 😦

    Reply

  2. Kim
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 19:09:50

    English, Aussie Strine, and school girl French. My school girl French is pretty much useless for anything, reading or otherwise, and no one can read Aussie Strine. So I’m stuck with English, and yes, I even struggle with that from time to time 😉
    As for the giveaway “Icon ardlywait.” 🙂

    Reply

  3. Jenny Colvin (@readingenvy)
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 19:10:02

    I used to speak enough Spanish to be the required “Spanish speaker” at my summer job, but alas I have lost much of it. Every now and then i try to learn Scottish Gaelic, just for fun. I never get very far.

    Reply

  4. Ifi Williams
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 20:47:48

    English is my first language. As my mother is German we learnt and spoke German at home.That would be my second strongest. Then as an adult I moved to Luxembourg where I picked up my French and now that I have been living I Spain for the past 8 years, Spanish is my daily language (although I speak english at home (phew)). HOWEVER I only read in english.

    Reply

  5. Phoebe
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 20:48:18

    Way back when I was in high school I could converse in Italian. I can still read Italian, Latin and I also know Hebrew.

    Reply

  6. nomadreader
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 21:28:40

    Although I’ve taken French, Spanish and German, I don’t really consider myself a speaker of any of them, but when I visit countries speaking those languages, I can get by!

    Reply

  7. Helen
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 21:35:04

    Ashamed to say only English I’m afraid, although like Kim a bit of Aussie Strine sneaks in occasionally… While at school I studied French and German, and my German was passable for a while, but living in such a linguistically isolated part of the world we don’t get to use it, so it drops out of the brain cells. Also did a year of Italian at night school in my twenties, but with the same result. A real shame… I admire (and yes, I admit also envy) those who are bi- or multi-lingual for the enriching experiences they are able to access.

    Reply

  8. Peggy
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 21:47:44

    Oh dear. I speak English with a Southern accent. My school French had me able to read successfully 40+ years ago. A couple of semesters of German in college and a fling with Koine Greek (also 40+ years ago) have left we with about 5 words each. Latin, I could easily revive, but somehow in retirement it hasn’t been a priority.
    I love language study, so who knows what might still call me?

    Reply

  9. Srivalli
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 21:58:54

    I have always been fascinated with languages. I know four languages quite well- English, Telugu, Tamil and Hindi. Telugu is my mother tongue. I grew up in Tamil Nadu, a state in India where people speak Tamil. I learnt Hindi by watching Hindi movies and television. I learnt English in school like many Indians. I know a little bit of French and a little bit of Japanese. I made several attempts at learning various languages including Spanish, German and Italian but I am very impatient and lazy so I know a bunch of words in these languages.
    If you are interested in learning any Indian languages, you can check our website http://Www.languagereef.com where we teach 14 Indian languages. My sister also writes many language learning blogs about her experiences in learning Spanish, Italian, Japanese.

    Reply

  10. Donna Allenbaugh
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 22:04:31

    I had 4 years of Spanish in high school, many years ago, and my father could speak it, but that is about it.

    Reply

  11. Beth Parks Aronson
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 22:39:51

    Wish I could say more. I had French in HS and can still deal with it ok. Learned some Japanese when I lived there 6 months but haven’t kept it up. Know a smattering of Hebrew–between what my 4 year old knows from school and what I know from 8 years of services and reading Torah there. But French is the only thing I can really count, and even that is lame at this point.

    Reply

  12. Becca
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 22:58:31

    I took Latin in high school and still read it fairly well. I also took three semesters of Spanish recently but I wouldn’t call myself a “speaker.” I’ll need to have reading competence in at least one modern European language for grad school (art history), so I’m hoping to take French or German soon and do better than I did in Spanish!

    Reply

  13. The Ramblings of a Demented Mind
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 23:22:10

    I speak both Sinhala and English. But I know a little bit of Tamil and Japanese too!

    Reply

  14. Patricia
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 23:49:35

    Just English, I’m afraid. With a bit of baby signing thrown in.

    Reply

  15. Bonnie
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 00:09:06

    Although I had three years of high school German and could possibly derive some meaning from text in that language, it would be an ugly and long process with little pleasure. So it has to be English I’m afraid.

    Reply

  16. Amy
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 00:36:16

    I can only claim to speak, read and understand English. I took French in highschool and for a semester in college. I love the language and was able to read it well but as for understanding spoken French and being able to speak it, I was terrible at it!
    I want to learn Latin one day and always wish my highschool offered it. I have a Latin dictionary I read frequently, too.

    Thank you for this giveaway!

    Reply

  17. Pragya
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 00:44:45

    Hindi and English. 🙂 Also learned to speak and read Sanskrit but don’t remember much of it now.

    Reply

  18. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 01:59:30

    English only I’m afraid. I did take French in HS and Hebrew in college, but that was many years ago. I have picked up a little Spanish from my students who have immigrated here, but only enough to make them laugh.

    Reply

  19. JoV
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 04:44:09

    I speak, read and write English, Mandarin Chinese and Malay (a language that commonly used in Malaysia and Indonesia). In addition to that I speak two Chinese dialects, Cantonese and Fujian fluently. I tried to learn basic French in free language class in postgraduate MBA, without much success so I can only read road signs and guess what is on the menu in French!

    Reply

  20. pburt
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 07:27:58

    I did not do well in my language classes so I am stuck with English. My mother’s graduate adviser (the wonderful Marvin Mudrick) told her she had to learn french because one should only read Collette in the original.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

