Orange Prize Giveaway #11: The Invisible Ones

The Invisible Ones

GIVEAWAY CLOSED

Up for grabs: The Invisible Ones by Stef Penney

Orange Connection: Not an Orange book, but Stef Penney is no stranger to the Orange Prize!

Your activity: The Invisible Ones is a detective story (and a darn good one!). Do you like detective stories? Who are some of your favorite fictional detectives? Tell us in the comments below.

Reminders: Orange July giveaways are open to all Orange July participants (you must be signed up through this Mr. Linky page), is open to anyone around the world, and you can win more than one giveaway. You’re welcome to participate in any giveaway activities without being entered into the drawing; just let me know in your comments. Giveaway closes at 9pm Eastern. Have fun!

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 19:10:45

    Number one would have to be Precious Ramotswe from The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith.
    I quite like The Honourable Miss Phryne Fisher, from Kerry Greenwood’s series of Phryne Fisher detective novels.
    Marcus Didius Falco in a series of novels by Lindsey Davis.
    Stephanie Plum novels by Janet Evanovich.
    At a stretch at calling her a detective Lisbeth Salander. I guess she could be considered a private investigator in the Millennium Trilogy by by Stieg Larsson.
    Last but by no means least Miss Marple would be one of my all time favourites.
    I tend to like my crime fiction heavily dosed with quite a bit of humour. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 20:30:56

    I am not a big fan of detective novels mainly because I don’t like reading about gory murders or serial killers. If I know a book doesn’t have blood and guts, I’ll give it a try.

    Reply

  3. The Ramblings of a Demented Mind
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 20:38:46

    I LOVE detective novels! Specially Sherlock Holmes!!!

    Reply

  4. rainpebble/belva
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 20:48:12

    I do rather enjoy the non-violent detective stories, especially Miss Marple, Maisie Dobbs; that type. For a time I enjoyed The Stephanie Plum series. Most of the characters cracked me up. And the Phryne Fischer mysteries are a hoot.
    Thank you for entering me in today’s lottery for The Invisible Ones.

    Reply

  5. Srivalli
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 21:02:12

    I love detective stories. My favourite detectives are Hercule Poirot, Sherlock Holmes, Kinsey Millhone of Sue Grafton’s Alphabet series and Inspector Wexford.

    Reply

  6. Peggy
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 21:04:29

    Don’t enter me for *Invisible Ones*, please, Jill, but I am a long, long, long-time reader of detective fiction moving from Nancy Drew to Sherlock Holmes, and on deep into the genre. I love the Golden Age women, Sayers, Marsh, and Christie (Allingham not so much). I love the Silver Age men, Hammett, Raymond Chandler, and Rex Stout. I’ll see Kim’s Marcus Didius Falco and raise her a Gordianus the Finder. I’m pretty much through with the cozies, but I’m still devoted to Ruth Rendell, P.D. James, Elizabeth George and Deborah Crombie. My latest love is C.J. Sansom with his Matthew Shardlake series. So now I’ll stop.

    Reply

  7. Donna Allenbaugh
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 21:13:15

    I mainly like British & Scandinavian detective novels featuring such people as Maisie Dobbs, Richard Jury, Lisbeth Salander, Hercule Poirot, Kurt Wallander, etc.

    Reply

  8. Phoebe
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 21:29:34

    Love murder murders…grew up devouring Miss Marple and Hercule Poirot…moved on to Stephanie Plum like many others. Right now though…despite not being a detective, I am infatuated with Gabriel Allon…Israeli spy and art restorer featured in Daniel Silva’s books.

    Reply

  9. Linda
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 22:06:38

    I have always loved detective fiction, starting with Nancy Drew and Trixie Belden. I got the complete Sherlock Holmes stories for Christmas when I was about eleven, and still love them. About that time I also discovered the husband and wife amateur sleuths, Mr. and Mrs. North, and I have spent a lifetime collecting books by their creators, Frances and Richard Lockridge (something like 85 at last count). My modern favorite, though, has to be Spenser (no first name) created by the late Robert B. Parker.

    Reply

  10. Patricia
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 22:43:02

    I have always liked a good mystery too — Nancy Drew being one of my first loves. My young girls and I currently like the new Nancy Drew books and also Nancy Clancy’s detective story. For adults, I read fewer detective stories. Louise Penny’s Inspector Gamache mysteries.

    Reply

  11. Dee Ingram
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 23:01:28

    There are quite a few that I could mention but my favourite will always be Ian Rankin’s Rebus.

    Reply

  12. Nicki
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 23:18:07

    Miss Marple and Sherlock Holmes for me. I did also read one of Boris Akunin’s Fandorin novels and enjoyed it so much that I’ve added more to my TBR pile. Like some others here I too dislike any detective stories involving blood, guts and violence.

    Reply

  13. Pogue
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 23:47:41

    I love some of the more old school one. Sam Spade, Charlie Chan, Nick and Nora Charles and Trixi Belden.

    Reply

  14. Helen
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 00:11:56

    I also enjoy a good detective story, and enjoy a range, from cosy to blood and guts (but not gratuitous violence) to noir. Favourites include Kinsey Milhone, Masie Dobbs, Hercule Poirot, Kurt Wallander, Jackson Brodie, Inspector Wexford, Anna Pigeon, Adam Dalgliesh, Marcus Didius Falco, Philip Marlowe, and more… But my all time favourite would have to be Donna Leon’s Commissario Guido Brunetti.

    Reply

  15. neer
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 00:19:45

    I love detective fiction. My favourite detective is Raymond Chandler’s Philip Marlowe. I am also very fond of Paul Drake, friend of Perry Mason, in the books by Erle Stanley Gardner. Also Agatha Christie’s Hercule Poirot, Tommy, and Tuppence. Then there are Inspector Macdonald in the books by E.C.R Lorac and Dr. Gervase Fell in the books by J.D. Carr. Inspector Appleby by Michael Innes is also a favourite especially because of his compassionate views. Amongst Indian detectives, I like Byomkesh Bakshi and the relatively new, Vish Puri. Fatty from the Five Findouter series by Enid Blyton is a childhood favourite.

    Thanks for the giveaway.

    Reply

  16. AnneDC
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 01:29:44

    I never think of myself as a very big reader of detective stories and I’ve missed a lot of classics, but I do enjoy them. I consumed Nancy Drew mysteries as a child (and also another series my mother had featuring Beverly Gray, which I’ve never seen in print since). Current favorites would have to be Jackson Brodie and Inspector Gamache, also Matthew Shardlake. I enjoy Scandinavian detective/crime series as well.

    Reply

  17. Pragya
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 02:49:15

    Love detective stories – Sherlock Holmes and Lady Ramotswe in The No.1 Ladies Detective Agency Series.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

