Orange Prize Giveaway #12: Tides of War

Tides of War by Stella Tillyard

GIVEAWAY CLOSED

Up for grabs: Tides of War by Stella Tillyard

Orange Connection: Long List, 2012

Your activity: Only 12 more days left in July! In the comments below, tell us about your Orange July experience so far: what books you’ve read, what books you hope to finish before July 31, your favorite Orange July books – whatever you want to tell us!

Reminders: Orange July giveaways are open to all Orange July participants (you must be signed up through this Mr. Linky page), is open to anyone around the world, and you can win more than one giveaway. You’re welcome to participate in any giveaway activities without being entered into the drawing; just let me know in your comments. Giveaway closes at 9pm Eastern. Have fun!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 18:52:36

    I have read Septembers in Shiraz, Half of a Yellow Sun, Song of Achilles, and Translation of the Bones. My favorite was HoaYS, but SoA was pretty darn good too. I was hoping to get through Blood of Flowers (because there’s a Middle Eastern theme going on in Reading Globally at LibraryThing) but I might not have time anymore. 😦

    Reply

  2. Kim
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 19:48:15

    In Australia, it’s the National Year of Reading, so in keeping with reading Aussie authors, I started Orange July with “The Household Guide to Dying”, which was a quirky, delightful read. Last night I veered off into “The Night Circus”, while not an Australian novel, I’ve heard good things about it, but hubby had other ideas and distracted me with conversation while I was trying to read, so I’m not quite as into it, as yet, as I’d hoped. I may go back to an Australian author and read Shirley Hazzard’s “The Great Fire”, one that I didn’t successfully finish in January. Other then that there are so many others beckoning from Mount TBR, The White Woman on the Green Bicycle, The Voyage of the Narwhal, The Mistress of Spices and Brick Lane to name but a few. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 20:03:25

    I have read Home and am currently reading Purple Hibiscus. I started There But For The, but I just couldn’t finish it. I thought I would be reading more, but vacation and life got in the way: as always. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Ally@ Snow Feathers
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 20:11:17

    I just got back from Paris, so I haven’t done much reading, but I am halfway through Bel Canto, which I am sure I will finish this weekend, since I do feel the need to catch up on some reading 🙂

    Reply

  5. Dee Ingram
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 20:19:07

    I’ve read Scottsboro and The White Woman on the Green Bicycle. I was also planning to read The Septembers of Shiraz and Poppy Shakespeare but am not convinced that I will. I did also read a collection of short stories by an Orange nominated author, Sister Ships by Jane London.

    Reply

  6. The Ramblings of a Demented Mind
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 20:22:45

    I finished reading Bel Canto. Loved it! So now I’m reading State of Wonder.

    Reply

  7. Donna Allenbaugh
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 20:59:44

    I finished The Sealed Letter and am now part way into The Gathering. I might get to Alias Grace by the end of the month.

    Reply

  8. Phoeeb
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 21:31:58

    Sad to say that I have not finished any Orange Book as of yet…Still reading “The Voluptuous Delights of PB & Jam” and will also read “Case Histories.”

    Reply

  9. Peggy
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 21:52:30

    So far I’ve read *Half of a Yellow Sun*, and I completely agree that it’s a prize winner! I have *Larry’s Party* on Mt. Bookpile, but *Our Mutual Friend* is taking a lot of time, especially since I don’t read it every day. On the other hand, I’ve read more Oranges already this year than I did last, so I’m feeling very happy!

    Reply

  10. rainpebble/belva
    Jul 19, 2012 @ 22:16:03

    I combined the Re-Read Challenge with Orange July this year and am really enjoying reading these again. The books I chose and have read thus far are:
    Five Quarters of the Orange by Joanne Harris (4*)
    Black and Blue by Anna Quindlen (4*)
    The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd (5*)
    The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger (5*)
    Gilead by Marilynne Robinson (5*)
    The Night Watch by Sarah Waters (4*)
    The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters (4 1/2*)
    Gilgamesh by Joan London (4 1/2*)
    The Siege by Helen Dunmore (4 1/2*)
    The Betrayal by Helen Dunmore (5*)
    The books that I hope to complete by month’s end are:
    Home
    Purple Hibiscus
    Half of a Yellow Sun
    Digging to America and
    Ladder of Years.
    And Dee, I loved London’s Gilgamesh so much even the second time around that I am going to have to try to find her book of shorts. Thanks for the rec.

    And thank you Jill for putting me in the lottery for today’s book, Tides of War. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Valli
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 04:57:29

    I am reading The Tiger’s Wife now. I am planning to read Small Island next.

    Reply

  12. Bonnie
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 06:09:45

    I’ve read The Septembers of Shiraz and I’m presently reading When I Lived in Modern Times by Linda Grant which, so far, is excellent.

    Reply

  13. Judy
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 08:25:21

    I am not feeling quite so bad now because I have just finished “The Grief of Others”. I have read seven of this year’s longlist, but hope to read “State of Wonder” before the month is finished!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

