Orange Prize Giveaway #14: Gillespie and I

Gillespie and I by Jane Harris

GIVEAWAY CLOSED

Up for grabs: Gillespie and I by Jane Harris

Orange Connection: Long List, 2012

Your activity: For me, the Orange Prize judges missed by not naming Gillespie and I to the short list. Have you ever read a book that you thought should have made the long list, or should have been added to the short list, or maybe should have won? Tell us in the comments below!

Reminders: Orange July giveaways are open to all Orange July participants (you must be signed up through this Mr. Linky page), is open to anyone around the world, and you can win more than one giveaway. You’re welcome to participate in any giveaway activities without being entered into the drawing; just let me know in your comments. Giveaway closes at 9pm Eastern. Have fun!

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Iris
    Jul 21, 2012 @ 18:22:46

    I agree with you that I would have liked Gillespie and I to have made it to the shortlist. Really, it was one of the books which I felt so certain would make it. Another one from this year’s list was Island of Wings, which though I could see might not carry the wider appeal that Gillespie and I certainly does, I felt was such an accomplished book and thus despite knowing it had little chance of making it, I was fervently hoping would be shortlisted.

    Could I be entered (if that is a satisfactory answer). I loaned Gillespie and I from the library but would really love to have my own copy.

    Reply

  2. Kim
    Jul 21, 2012 @ 18:30:54

    I’m not sure that I’m that well read but some I’ve loved and haven’t appeared on the list.
    Foal’s Bread by Gillian Mears
    The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Annie Barrows
    People of the book by Geraldine Brooks
    The women in black by Madeleine St. John
    The butterfly man by Heather Rose
    I’m sure there are others but that’s from the top of my head 🙂

    Reply

  3. Heather Holt
    Jul 21, 2012 @ 19:06:18

    I read Gilead by Marilynne Robinson this month and thought it was amazing – I’m astounded that it only made the longlist that year. I thought it was much better than Zadie Smith’s On Beauty which was the winner.

    I already own a copy of Gillespie so please don’t enter me the draw.

    Reply

  4. Ally@ Snow Feathers
    Jul 21, 2012 @ 19:59:17

    I haven’t read Gillespie and I (but I hope I will :)) but I think that Winterson’s The Powerbook and Written on the Body should have deserved more attention.

    Reply

  5. JoV
    Jul 21, 2012 @ 20:06:10

    People tend to forget what’s on the longlist rather than the shortlist. I think I have read this one and would really like to read it. I thought Linda Grant’s “We had it so good” should deserve more attention.

    Please enter me for the draw. Thanks.

    Reply

  6. Helen
    Jul 21, 2012 @ 21:22:39

    I’m with Heather in thinking that Gilead should definitely have made it past the longlist. I’ve heard so much about Gillespie and I, and would dearly love to read it.

    Reply

  7. Peggy
    Jul 21, 2012 @ 21:43:14

    I very much agree with giving Gilead more attention. I think Anne-Marie MacDonald’s Fall on Your Knees should have been short-listed at the very least. Although I’m in the minority, I would have given Jaimy Gordon’s The Lord of Misrule a lot more attention. I thought it was a better book than either The Song of Achilles or Gillespie and I although I enjoyed both of them greatly.
    Please leave me out of the drawing again, Jill!

    Reply

  8. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jul 21, 2012 @ 22:36:04

    I also agree that Gilead should have been at least short-listed. I just finished Purple Hibiscus and I can’t believe that it didn’t win in 2004.

    Reply

  9. Frances
    Jul 21, 2012 @ 22:44:07

    I think The Night Circus should have won. It was one of my favorite reads of 2011, one that I could not stop thinking of for weeks after reading it.

    Reply

  10. Jenny Colvin (@readingenvy)
    Jul 21, 2012 @ 23:08:09

    I’m surprised that Sue Monk Kidd and Jeannette Winterson haven’t moved off the long list more often.

    Reply

  11. Patricia
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 00:01:54

    2011 was a fabulous longlist — I was lucky enough to have time to read them all. Jamrach’s Menagerie (which later got a Booker nod) was far and away my favourite read, though both The Invisible Bridge and Swamplandia! were close behind — none of which were shortlisted. (I must add, I loved all of the shortlisted books except one.)

    Gillespie and I already live together — no need to enter me today.

    Reply

  12. The Ramblings of a Demented Mind
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 00:07:20

    I think The Glass Room by Simon Mawer should have won The Booker in 2009!

    Reply

  13. Linda Snyder Koons
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 03:48:58

    Marilynne Robinson has been shortchanged more than once, in my opinion. Housekeeping wasn’t even nominated, and I think it should have been. It was a wonderful read. And Gilead…absolutely should have made it to the short list. I haven’t read all the nominees, by any means, so can’t comment on whether it was “better” than the winner. But it was awfully good. At least she won for Home. I’m really looking forward to Gillespie and I.

    Reply

  14. Donna Allenbaugh
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 05:33:00

    The Tenderness of Wolves by Stef Penney I thought was better than Digging to America by Anne Tyler and should have made the short list in 2007.

    Reply

  15. Phoebe
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 05:56:36

    I am with Kim on one of her choices, “People of the Book.” And I will always be partial to “The Keep.”

    Reply

  16. neer
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 08:53:48

    Well, haven’t read much so cannot really comment. But this book seems fascinating (I’ve just googled its details) and I am really eager to read it.

    Thanks for the giveaway.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

