Orange Prize Giveaway #16: The Forgotten Waltz

GIVEAWAY CLOSED


The Forgotten Waltz
Up for grabs: The Forgotten Waltz by Anne Enright

Orange Connection: Short List, 2012

Your activity: Anne Enright was born in Dublin, and still lives and works in Ireland. Do you have any favorite writers from Ireland (male or female, alive or dead)? Tell us about your Irish favorites in the comments below.

Reminders: Orange July giveaways are open to all Orange July participants (you must be signed up through this Mr. Linky page), is open to anyone around the world, and you can win more than one giveaway. You’re welcome to participate in any giveaway activities without being entered into the drawing; just let me know in your comments. Giveaway closes at 9pm Eastern. Have fun!

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helen
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 19:26:46

    My favourite is definitely Colm Toibin. Anne Enright also gets a gurnsey, as well as Flann O’Brien and Sebastian Barry.

    Reply

  2. Ally@ Snow Feathers
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 20:01:49

    Well, I used to hate Joyce for being forced to read Ulysses back in college, so I’ll go with Samuel Beckett, whose plays I love 🙂

    Reply

  3. The Ramblings of a Demented Mind
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 20:19:36

    This is going to sound baaaaaad! But I’ve not read books by Irish authors! :-/

    Reply

  4. Patricia
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 20:36:50

    Colm Toibin, William Trevor, Anne Enright, Samuel Beckett and when I’m in the mood for something lighter Marian Keyes and Maeve Binchy.

    Reply

  5. Tina Valdes
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 21:03:45

    I have very little experience with Irish authors too. The only one I can recollect is Maeve Binchy. She is a recent “find” for me and I very much enjoyed “The Evening Class.”

    Reply

  6. Peggy
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 22:11:41

    The two Joyces: Joyce Cary and James Joyce both rate high. I am also just discovering Colm Toibin, and I like Kate O’Brien a lot. I’m pretty sure that I’ve forgotten somebody wonderful, but that will do for now.
    Please don’t enter me in *The Forgotten Waltz* drawing, Jill. I wouldn’t have been sad if it had won Orange this year.

    Reply

  7. Valli
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 22:19:57

    Oscar Wilde and G B Shaw are my favourite Irish authors.

    Reply

  8. Prashansa
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 23:13:10

    Frank O’Connor!

    Reply

  9. Vasilly
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 00:17:06

    I haven’t read many Irish writers but I do love the short story “Foster” by Claire Keegan. I would have to say that she’s my favorite Irish writer. I just wish that more of her work was available in the United States. Roddy Doyle is also a new favorite.

    Reply

  10. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 00:35:42

    I’ve read a few Irish writers, but I really like Maeve Binchey and Patrick Taylor

    Reply

  11. Donna Allenbaugh
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 00:59:32

    I just finished Anne Enright’s book The Gathering, and it was very good.

    Reply

  12. Bonnie
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 06:07:21

    William Trevor and Colm Toibin are my favorite Irish writers right now. That could change as I have two by Sebastian Barry on my shelf.

    Reply

  13. Ifi Williams
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 06:14:06

    I’m ashamed to say I’ve only read Emma Donoghue and this book by Anne Enright. I wouldn’t say either was a fave author.!! I am right now reading “This Is How” by M.J Hyland who was born in London to Irish parents. Does that count???
    I am LOVING this book and will be reading her other two books ASAP.

    Please do not enter me as I have read this book.

    Reply

  14. neer
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 08:27:59

    Besides Enright, I have read W.B. Yeats, G.B. Shaw, J. M. Synge, John Banville, James Joyce, Maeve Binchy. However my favoutites are Liam O’ Flaherty (whose story the Sniper is imprinted on my mind), Oscar Wilde, and YA author Sarah Rees Brennen. Recently I read John Boyne’s The Boy in the Striped Pajamas too and found him to be a good writer too.

    Thanks for the giveaway. I am enjoying these questions.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

