Orange Prize Giveaway #17: The Dancers Dancing

The Dancers Dancing by Eilis Ni DhuibhneGIVEAWAY CLOSED

Up for grabs: The Dancers Dancing by Éilís Ní Dhuibhne

Orange Connection: Short List, 2000

Your activity: What’s your favorite way to procure books? Do you borrow them from your local library? Buy them from a bookstore? Swap books on Bookmooch or Paperbackswap? Tell us in the comments below.

Reminders: Orange July giveaways are open to all Orange July participants (you must be signed up through this Mr. Linky page), is open to anyone around the world, and you can win more than one giveaway. You’re welcome to participate in any giveaway activities without being entered into the drawing; just let me know in your comments. Giveaway closes at 9pm Eastern. Have fun!

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Iris
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 18:44:18

    My favourite way to buy books would be to buy them in a bookstore. Yet I usually end up buying online because the selection of English books over here isn’t all that great. I do love my library too though (which surprisingly has more new English titles than the local bookstores). I used my library a lot for reading (part of) this year’s longlist.

    Reply

  2. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 18:56:05

    I do a little of everything; library, on-line, and local bookstore. But my favorite way to get books is from my mom. Both my mom and I are avid readers, so when I’ve finished reading 6 or 7 books I box them up and send them to her (she lives across the country) and she send hers to me. It’s always interesting to see what she has been reading. When I finish reading the books from her I donate them to my local library for their yearly book sale. My mom brings the books from me to her local knitting group where they have a book shelf of used books that they share.

    Reply

  3. Phoebe
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 19:13:59

    Like Jayme, I procure books in several ways…mostly sharing among friends. But I support my local library, mostly independent bookstore, and when I want a quick and easy immediate fix download onto my Kindle (with an extra copy to my iPad).

    Reply

  4. Kim
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 19:25:18

    We have a lovely local Australian bookstore called Dymocks, that I love browsing in, but I tend to buy more secondhand books. Twice a year in my city there is a 3 day bookfair for a local non-profit organisation called Lifeline. Lifeline provides access to crisis support, suicide prevention and mental health support services. On their website they say “Somewhere in Australia there is a new call to Lifeline every minute.”
    I often donate books towards the bookfair and they have a huge number of donated books. Going to the bookfair itself is like being let loose in a lollyshop- I don’t need to ring the crisis support service because going to the bookfair and coming away with my loot of secondhand books helps my sense of mental wellbeing 🙂
    Also, once a month I go to the local bookcrossing.com group meet-up and the group has a fun little chat and exchanges books.

    Reply

  5. Beth Parks Aronson
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 19:51:23

    Libraries end up costing me too much in late fees (not because I haven’t read the books, but because I forget to take them back over and over), so I definitely need to own books (and then I free them). Favorite sources: my library sale shelf (which has nearly everything I could want–someone around here reads great stuff and then donates), Paperbackswap and bookmooch (former has more of what I want, so I have about 100 credits on bookmooch and none on PBS), Audible for audiobooks, and my Kindle for reading in the dark and on the go. I’m an addict. It has been 3 days since I acquired a new book. But I don’t really want to get clean,… I love bookcrossing and get some books that way too, but the ratio of releases to catches is pretty high for me there.

    Reply

  6. tinavaldes
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 19:53:46

    Yes! Yes! Yes!

    All three… I love books and use all appropriate methods to get my hands on them! 🙂

    Reply

  7. Ally@ Snow Feathers
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 20:14:31

    I haven’t written books from the library in decades… I buy whatever I want, or I swap books with a few friends 🙂

    Reply

  8. Peggy
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 20:37:18

    I love to pick up physical books in a bookstore, new or used. BUT. Most of what I get I get from Paperbackswap or Amazon Marketplace. They’ve changed my life!
    (Jill, please DO enter me in the *Dancers* drawing!)

    Reply

  9. The Ramblings of a Demented Mind
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 20:48:47

    I believe in having my own library. So I never borrow from library, cos then I’ll have to let go of those lovely books! 😀

    Reply

  10. Patricia
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 21:33:57

    Like many of you I have a wee book ‘problem’. I also work in a library and am an avid e-reader. Basically, I acquire books any way I can: buy them, borrow them, rescue them, get given them, download them — I’m not picky as long as I have about 5 on the go at any given time… and, may I say, today’s giveaway has been on my TBR for a long time 😉

    Reply

  11. Donna Allenbaugh
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 21:34:02

    I almost exclusively use the library since I am on a very limited budget and also don’t have much room. It is a great resource and if I want to read a book again I just check it out again. Of course I can’t mark in the books but that is what Library Thing is for. Ha!

    Reply

  12. Helen
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 22:03:18

    I hardly ever buy new books, but apart from that I obtain them from a multitude of places. Most come via either BookMooch or BookCrossing swaps and virtual book boxes. I get some from my sister, some from friends, and also borrow occasionally from the library. Then if I’m in town I’ll haunt the Op Shops (Thrift Stores) to see what treasures I can find.

    Reply

  13. Becca
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 22:20:23

    I’m a huge library user, and the library book sale is definitely my favorite place to get books, followed by BookMooch. Amazon or the brick-and-mortar bookstore are my last resort 🙂

    Reply

  14. nomadreader
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 22:26:24

    I’m an e-reader, so my two favorite sources are Edelweiss (for the best, new releases) and Amazon. The library definitely helps supplement my meager book budget too!

    Reply

  15. Jane
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 22:41:34

    I love book stores — both new and used. When I was young in Cleveland and NYC, I bought almost all my books cheap from sidewalk stands and holes in the wall. When a huge Barnes & Noble opened in Sarasota, that was my place for gift books, but I bought most of my own at a wonderful remainder store called Main Books that unfortunately burned down a few years ago (all those books up in smoke!). Now I usually go the Amazon or Awesome Books route — it’s just so easy to find what I want.

    Reply

  16. Valli
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 23:24:46

    I usually borrow books from the library. And I buy books that both me and my dad would enjoy. After reading I give it to my dad, he loves reading and rereading books.

    Reply

  17. AnneDC
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 23:35:09

    I visit my library (which is a five minute walk from home) at least once a week and always check out more books than I can possibly read in three weeks. I think almost half of the books I’ve read this year are library books. If I really love a library book, I will eventually pick up my own copy somewhere, but the others I feel virtuous about returning.

    I also love used book stores and friends-of-the-library sales, and the remainder section of my favorite independent bookstore, and the instant gratification of Amazon Prime. But what makes me happiest, and also the most guilty, is a brand-new just-released hardcover edition of a book I’ve been anticipating.

    Reply

  18. Judy
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 08:21:45

    Most of the books I read come from the library. But because I work there, late fees aren’t a problem! However, I buy lots of books from second hand bookshops, library sales and op shops.

    Reply

  19. neer
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 08:47:11

    I frequent libraries and also buy books from Used Book Stores, Book Sales etc. I also download them from sites likes manybooks, projectgutenberg etc.

    Thanks for the giveaway.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

