Orange Prize Giveaway #18: The Bean Trees

The Bean TreesGIVEAWAY CLOSED

Up for grabs: The Bean Trees by Barbara Kingsolver

Orange Connection: Not an Orange book, but Barbara Kingsolver is no stranger to the Orange Prize!

Your activity: Every time I read, my basset hound Emma joins the fun, curling up next to me on the recliner or bed. Do you have any pets? Do they hang out with you when you read? Let’s hear about your furry, feathered and scaly friends in the comments below!

Reminders: Orange July giveaways are open to all Orange July participants (you must be signed up through this Mr. Linky page), is open to anyone around the world, and you can win more than one giveaway. You’re welcome to participate in any giveaway activities without being entered into the drawing; just let me know in your comments. Giveaway closes at 9pm Eastern. Have fun!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jayme@Beachreader
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 19:25:02

    My cat, Molly, is a distraction when I read. She doesn’t like the fact that I am not paying her any attention when my nose is in a book, so she rubs her face on the corners, paws the back cover, and meows loudly. The only time I get any peace from her when I’m reading is if I’m reading outside. It’s to hot for my princess 🙂

    Reply

  2. Nirmala
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 19:32:42

    I have one feline named Nickz who joins me when I read.

    Reply

  3. Linda Snyder Koons
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 19:39:08

    Sometimes my sweet Sheltie, Callie, will jump into my lap and settle in while I’m reading in my recliner. But then someone always opens the refrigerator, or the phone rings, and down she goes! The Bean Trees is a terrific read…don’t enter me in this drawing, Jill. I already have the book.

    Reply

  4. Phoebe
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 20:07:20

    We have one pup now, Rupert, our non-barking ever, Australian Shepherd/Golden Retriever mix. I used to read on our Cleopatra chair at the end of the sectional but Rupert claims that as his seat now so we just snuggle together in that space when I want to read.

    Reply

  5. Valli
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 20:11:04

    I don’t have any pets now. But growing up we had lots of pets. A black and white cat, called Buntie was a special pet. He would play with newspapers and books. Everytime we pick up something to read, he would sit on the book.

    Reply

  6. Patricia
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 23:18:47

    No pets at the moment… but I do have 3 bookloving kids. One who loves to hide mama’s books… one who loves turning pages in rapid succession on mama’s e-reader… and one who likes to shut mama’s books and sign “all done!”

    Reply

  7. AnneDC
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 23:19:34

    Our Westie puppy, Albus, likes to curl up on or near my feet for a nap if I’m reading. Or, if I happen to be sitting in HIS chair, he’ll try to nudge me aside. If I don’t sit in his chair, he doesn’t usually interfere with my reading.

    Don’t enter me please, I already have this wonderful book.

    Reply

  8. Peggy
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 00:58:01

    Ah — May, the black lab-ish 53 pounder, would love nothing more than to be a lap dog while I read, but I’ve discouraged her. In the winter our tortoiseshell Chibby will snooze on me, and if he’s in the house, Tully, the gray-white guy cat will lie on me any time!
    Please don’t enter me for this one either, Jill, but the winner is in for a treat!

    Reply

  9. neer
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 01:28:36

    We had a pom once, Scampy. When he came to us, he was so tiny that he’d snuggle in my father’s slippers. After we lost him (comparatively early), I cannot think of having anybody else.

    Reply

  10. nomadreader
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 02:34:00

    I don’t have a pet, but I have been known to snuggle my Care Bear while reading from time to time!

    Reply

  11. Beth Parks Aronson
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 09:16:17

    The dog (Beulah Snortlysnortface Bulldog) usually hangs out in the same room. 3 cats are indifferent, but Fiona (named for the character in Len Deighton’s books, not so much for who she was but cause I liked the name) has to be between me and the book/kindle. Audiobooks are the one way to get around this problem.

    Reply

  12. Gnoe
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 16:38:11

    Oh I’d love to win this book and cuddle up with my two cat women 😉 We’ve had Juno for 16 years now and she loves to hug. Nina on the other hand, is a 14 year old tuxedo that we got from the shelter 10 months ago. She had been living there for 1.5 years and had a traumatic life before that 😦 So she’s a shy grrl. Can’t pick her up, only pet her when she is relaxed in one of her sleeping spots (which tend to be high up) and alas, will not come and sit on our laps. Except… when we’re sitting in the bed reading!!! No kidding! Have you ever heard of a better reason to go to bed early with a book? 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

