Orange Prize Giveaway #19: Foreign Bodies

Foreign Bodies

GIVEAWAY CLOSED

Up for grabs: Foreign Bodies by Cynthia Ozick

Orange Connection: Short List, 2012

Your activity: You’re throwing a dinner party, and you can invite two authors (male or female, and still alive). Who would you invite? Tell us in the comments below.

Reminders: Orange July giveaways are open to all Orange July participants (you must be signed up through this Mr. Linky page), is open to anyone around the world, and you can win more than one giveaway. You’re welcome to participate in any giveaway activities without being entered into the drawing; just let me know in your comments. Giveaway closes at 9pm Eastern. Have fun!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. snowfeathers
    Jul 27, 2012 @ 18:15:30

    Definitely Jeanette Winterson, and since I met Coelho last year, I would go with Haruki Murakami… I wonder what I would serve, since Jeanette is a vegetarian, but I am not sure about Murakami 🙂

    Reply

  2. Phoebe
    Jul 27, 2012 @ 18:16:23

    I would ask Chuck Palahniuk and Barbara Kingsolver, which would result in a very entertaining dinner. However, I would truly lke to invite so many more!

    Reply

  3. Helen
    Jul 27, 2012 @ 18:30:59

    I’d also definitely ask Jeanette Winterson; she was the first one to immediately come to mind, no question. The second is harder – do we want controversy at the dinner table, do we want a fun time, do we want scintilating intellectual conversation, or do we want something else altogether? I’ll go with a combination of fun and the intellectual, and invite Sarah Waters along too. I gather they’re friends, so we should all have a wonderfully enjoyable evening… 🙂

    Reply

  4. Jayme
    Jul 27, 2012 @ 19:30:00

    I’m all about fun and laughter at a dinner party. I would have Tina Fey and Joan Rivers (she did write a book years ago).

    Reply

  5. Valli
    Jul 27, 2012 @ 19:31:38

    I would invite Ruth Rendell and Harlan Coben two of my favourite writers.

    Reply

  6. Beth Parks Aronson
    Jul 27, 2012 @ 19:53:47

    Salman Rushdie, both because I love his writing and because I have heard that he is a very decent guy. And Anne Michaels, because I absolutely loved Fugitive Pieces and it involved such a wide range of knowledge–geology to poetry! If she can’t come, her compatriot Margaret Atwood is another favorite of mine!

    Reply

  7. Peggy
    Jul 27, 2012 @ 21:18:44

    I’d invite Rose Tremaine and Richard Powers and we’d all have a wonderful time! Again, I don’t need to be entered in this drawing. Good luck, everybody!

    Reply

  8. The Ramblings of a Demented Mind
    Jul 27, 2012 @ 21:32:36

    I’d invite Ian McEwan and Haruki Murakami.

    Reply

  9. tinavaldes
    Jul 28, 2012 @ 01:59:28

    For a totally fun evening, I would invite two of my guilty pleasure authors…

    Jennifer Weiner for her biting chick lit humor and Stephen King for his horrific sense of the macabre!

    How’s that for a wild combo, Jill?? 🙂

    Reply

  10. neer
    Jul 28, 2012 @ 08:53:20

    I’d love to invite Kazuo Ishiguro and Vikram Seth.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

