Decision July 2011: What to read for Orange July

Orange July is less than a week away, and I still have to make some decisions on what I plan on reading. During Orange January, I was so busy planning the event that I didn’t get much reading done. This will not be the case for Orange July with 18 Orange books waiting on my shelves.

Orange July 2011 books to read

The Choices

Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Scottsboro by Ellen Feldman

The Concise Chinese-English Dictionary for Lovers by Xiaolu Guo

The Clothes on Their Backs by Linda Grant

When I Lived in Modern Times by Linda Grant

The Mammoth Cheese by Sheri Holman

The Invention of Everything Else by Samantha Hunt

What I Loved by Siri Hustvedt

Great House by Nicole Krauss

Black Water Rising by Attica Locke

The Magician’s Assistant by Ann Patchett

Swamplandia! by Karen Russell

Afterwards by Karen Seiffert

Larry’s Party by Carol Shields

The Secret Lives of Baba Segi’s Wives by Lola Shoneyin

Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld

The Earth Hums in B Flat by Mari Strachan

The Personal History of Rachel Dupree by Ann Weisgarber

The Definites

I will start Orange July with Swamplandia! and Great House. I usually read 4-5 books a month, so that leaves me a few choices to make. What do you suggest I read? Please leave your comment in the space below – and thanks for your help!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. char
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 20:06:44

    Purple Hibiscus is a lovely and short book, so you could fit it in easily 🙂

    Reply

  2. Terri
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 21:31:27

    I loved Purple Hibiscus, The Mammoth Cheese, The Earth Hums in B Flat, The Invention of Everything Else and The Magician’s Assistant. I wasn’t wild about Larry’s Party, What I Loved or Great House. So there’s my two cents! Enjoy your reading.

    Reply

  3. Laura
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 23:02:36

    Add my vote for Purple Hibiscus! I haven’t read all the books on your list but of the 7 I have read, it’s my fave. I also enjoyed The Earth Hums in B Flat. Black Water Rising is an unusual Orange nominee in that it’s a suspense/crime/thriller, but I read it last July and found it a good fit for summer reading.

    I didn’t care much for What I Loved or Concise Chinese….

    I’d like to see what you think of Swamplandia! as I’m still on the fence about reading it !!

    Reply

  4. Aths
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 23:33:42

    I also have Black Water Rising and Baba Segi’s Wives to read next month for Orange July! I was just putting up my list together yesterday and will post about it sometime this week. Thanks for hosting!

    I haven’t read any of the above, but if I had to choose, it would be Purple Hibiscus, The Magician’s Assistant, and The Secret Lives of Baba Segi’s Wives. Can’t wait to see what you eventually choose!

    Reply

  5. Terri
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 00:53:37

    And Purple Hibiscus shoots into the lead! :o)

    Reply

  6. Wendy
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 06:21:37

    HA! Your pile looks a lot like mine: tottering! LOL!

    I have to add to everyone else’s recommendation for Purple Hibiscus…terrific read. I have Scotsboro in my stacks too…so many good books!!

    Reply

  7. sawcat
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 10:31:21

    I’ve only read Swamplandia! from your list, and I didn’t much care for the story myself. But if you read The Magician’s Assistant, I’d love to know what you think of it.

    Reply

  8. mrstreme
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 19:42:54

    Thanks everyone for your comments. Definitely looks like I need to nudge Purple Hibiscus up the “must read” pile. =)

    Reply

  9. Linda
    Jun 29, 2011 @ 09:00:03

    Yup, yup, Purple Hibiscus. The only other one of your stack that I’ve read was Scottsboro, and I was a little disappointed in it.

    Reply

  10. Misha
    Jun 29, 2011 @ 22:12:37

    Great House by Nicole Krauss and The Magician’s Assistant by Ann Patchett ! I love both the authors.

    Reply

  11. Ally
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 02:54:15

    I loved “The Concise Chinese – English Dictionary…” Here are a few of my thoughts 🙂
    http://snow-feathers.blogspot.com/2010/11/call-me-z.html

    Reply

Leave a comment

Watch me lose weight!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods